We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Superb Hotel and a Superb Holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Catullo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Catullo
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Superb Hotel and a Superb Holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My Partner and I stayed at Hotel Catullo, in Room 507, from July 19 to 26, 2014. Our windows overlooked a very busy square, with a side view of the lake. However, there was barely any noise from the square, thanks to the efficiency of the double glazing, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep every night. The adjustable air-conditioning worked perfectly throughout our stay, which further ensured our overall comfort and enjoyment.

Our room was spacious and well-appointed; the en-suite bathroom was more than big enough and well-stocked with soaps, shampoos and frequently changed towels. There were a bidet, hair-drier, shower and bath, all of which worked well and were used every day. Plenty of hot water at all times and the maid who looked after the room did a splendid job.

The bed was large and VERY comfortable; other furniture included a couple of nice chairs, a television with at least three English stations and a large table set into the wall. There were a mini-bar and a strong safe for money and other valuables. No extra charge was made for the safe and the mini-bar was free!!

The dining-room was spacious and well laid out. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choices and, if you wished, an omelette cooked to order while you waited. Tea and/or coffee were brought to your table and there were refills if desired. The Dinner menu offerred a choice of three starters, main-courses and puddings and there were help yourself salad tables, rolls with cheese and various oils, vinegars and condiments. The dining-room staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The quality of food was EXCELLENT throughout our stay and included fish from the lake as well as other local dishes. On one evening, we were served Turbot and it was utterly delicious. The Chef and his team are very talented indeed and we enjoyed every meal.

Fabio, our Host, certainly knows about wine and we asked him to choose for us from an extensive list. We only wanted to sample the red and white wines from the immediate locality and he recommended some superb and not particularly expensive wines, which we really enjoyed. These wines came from vineyards which have such a small output that most, if not all, is consumed locally.

The Reception area, lounge, gardens and lakeside bar were all well tended and we made some use of all of these. Aurelio, the Lakeside Bar Manager, is very good at his job and is an extremely pleasant young man.

Special mention must be made of Fabio, who is in charge of the hotel and is an excellent host. Fabio works at every level, which is probably why his staff are so good. I am sure that we all respect a leader who leads by example and doesn't just give orders. Fabio works on Reception, serves in the Dining-Room, collects and delivers supplies to the hotel, works in the grounds and generally identifies with every aspect of running Hotel Catullo. I would be prepared to bet that there is nothing that he doesn't know about his hotel. He is a quiet but extremely courteous and perceptive man, who makes every guest feel special. Small wonder, then, that he enjoys so much repeat business. On the Friday of our stay, Fabio organised a free boat trip around the Peninsular with complimentary Prosecco. This trip was one of the highlights of our stay and one of the biggest laughs. We could only admire the skill of the skippers, who had obviously spent their lives on Lake Garda, and Aurelio surprised us by his acrobatic antics on the prow of one of the two launches.

Sirmione is a great base from which to go to Desenzano, Breschia and Milan and we visited all of these using the efficient ferry and 'bus services. We had a great holiday and would recommend Hotel Catullo to anyone seeking a holiday in Sirmione.

Denis and Theresa from Bromley, Greater London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    101
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
127
363
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel last week and were blown away by the hospitality, friendliness and helpfulness of all staff .
When we arrived we were very tired and somewhat stressed by the drive from San Marino. To get to the hotel,you are required to drive through the tiny narrow streets shared by many many people. It's like playing dodgems and not for the faint hearted. Thankfully our host Fabio offered to park our car for the duration of the stay and retrieved it for our departure.
Our room was overlooking the square for the first night but was changed to a lake view for the remainder of the stay at no extra cost. It was large and comfortable with everything working well.
This in our experience is unusual.
The location of the hotel is perfect. Right by the lake and right in the centre of the old town. It was handy to everything.
Breakfast in the classical dining room was excellent by Italian standards. They had the best kiwi fruit we have ever tasted and we come from New Zealand!
We had one evening meal at the hotel which was standard Italian and very good. Fabio was in the dining room as our host.
We loved Sirmeone, hotel catullo and lake Garda.
Definately recommended and one we will return to.

Room Tip: Try for a lake view but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

It has been said in another review but this is a good 3* hotel with 5* service. A quirky hotel which is perhaps a little dated but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had a side view of the lake which we really liked as our little balcony overlooked a buzzy, not noisy, little square. Loved the free trip around the lake with lots of complimentary prosecco. Air con was efficient and bed was very comfortable. Linen and towels changed frequently.

The location was excellent - right in the heart of the old town but very peaceful inside and in the garden. We made use of the free bike hire.

Would definitely return but don't go if you don't like cats and fogs. There are a few of them wandering around! All well behaved though especially Phoebe the collie. Wish I could have put her in my suitcase.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are bigger and not much more expensive. Think they are still a bit dated though and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaysla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Have said it all before but always feel the need to write a review on our return to the UK - even after our fifth consecutive visit! We are always sad to leave the hotel which is lovely and, more importantly, Fabio and his team, are superb hosts whose attention to detail and the way they look after us is amazing.

Thank you all for making us feel so welcome, as ever, for all your kindness and a special mention of the wine tour we went on organised by Fabio and Elena. This was a great experience - the tour was run by a lady called Chiara who took us of to a local Tortellini factory so we could see how pasta is made which was really interesting, a picturesque mediaeval village called Borghetto and then onto the Vinery where we sampled generous helpings of local wines to the extent that it was wine 'drinking' rather than wine tasting!

It goes without saying that we'll be returning again to what is our favourite hotel and it can't be soon enough!

For anybody looking at arranging a holiday in Sirmione, look no further than the Catullo - it's the perfect choice and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We discovered them both fifteen years ago and have returned every year since. There is so much to see and do in this area, in Sirmione itself, around the Lake and beyond to Verona and Venice. This classic hotel has a lovely garden by the lakeside and you will find that it's a quiet shady place in which to relax at any time. Much has been written about Fabio the Catullo's owner and his staff, they really are quite outstanding and we endorse every word. Coming here each year is going to be a difficult habit to break I don't think we're going to even try!
.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Catullo for a week in June and certainly agree with all the complimentary things written by previous reviewers. We will certainly be returning. The staff do everything to ensure that guests have a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just returned from a week stay at the Catullo. The hotel is fantastic! Fabio has created a fabulous team of staff who cannot do enough for you, whether it's an extra pillow to arranging trips or plotting a cycle route nothing is too much trouble! A special mention for the barman Aurelio who was awesome. We have stayed in hotels all around the world and the Catullo takes some beating! The service and food are excellent and the setting right on the lake and in the historic centre of town it is just perfect!

We hired a boat for half day and stopped at Torri del Benaco for lunch, we arrived in style and moored the boat right outside a restaurant on the lake.

This hotel is amazing and we will most definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 902Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#13 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#2 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catullo

Property: Hotel Catullo
Address: Piazza Flaminia 7, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Catullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catullo Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Catullo Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing