We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Italian, we loved it.”
Review of Hotel Catullo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Catullo
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and it certainly lived up to all the praise. We will most definately go back. We are not fans of boutique hotels but prefer hotels with character so Hotel Catullo certainly fitted the bill, a little retro, kitch and oh so Italian. Brilliant. Breakfasts were simple not much choice but we always managed to eat our fill. Lunches ,3 courses, could be eaten in the resteraunt or a simpler can be eaten on the terrace overlooking the lake. Whether inside or out the tables are laid with damask clothes and napkins. Evening meals are in the resteraunt. Good Italian food but then 50% of the guests were Italian, which says a lot about this hotel.

If you don't like cats and dogs then you will not like this hotel as Fabio, the owner lets his pet animals roam around the hotel and gardens . (Only one small criticism , they need to be more diligent in making sure the garden is kept clean from what the pets leave behind as some days we had to move because of unpleasant smells but a small trade off for seeing well fed , cared for cats and dog).

One last thing, would highly recommend the winery trip organised by the hotel as you get to see some beautiful countryside, historic villages and are accompanied to the winery by a very knowledgable regional food and wine expert-oh and the free motor cruiser trip is a blast.

Room Tip: Didn't pay for lake view so allocated side room whith a balcony overlooking a charming piazza pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BeverleySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was the 2nd hotel of our stay in lake garda Italy which was by far the best of the two.On arriving at the hotel we were told we had been upgraded.which was very nice. Our room was on the 3rd floor right outside the lift.The room was eccellent very spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden and lake.The restaurant was very nice and we had our own table each day.There was a menu sheet on the table each day and if we did not like something we were given an alternative.So all in all we enjoyed our stay here.and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Our forth year and another great stay, the perfect place for us and Fabio and his staff are the icing on the cake. We will be back next year
You can pick holes in any place yes it is dated in parts but you will not find a more welcoming and relaxing place to stay in the perfect position

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ian622013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Back at the Catullo in June after an absence of some years and delighted to find Fabio and Staff in continuing excellent form. Nice room, wonderful service in both Restaurant and lakeside bar. Thoroughly enjoyed the free trip round the peninsula which we missed last time due to weather.
The food quality at dinner remained very good tho perhaps down a tad from our previous visit. The choice of local wines excellent at reasonable prices,. We will be delighted however to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank williford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I have recently returned home from this hotel, Sat 26th July 2014, and we cannot wait to return. On speaking to some of the guests at the start of our weeks holiday it soon became clear that many of them were regular visitors to Sirmione and Hotel Catullo in particular and the reasons for this soon became apparent.
We were booked into Room 303 which had a balcony overlooking a square and gave a lovely lake view. The morning sunshine was delightful and by mid-afternoon the sun was round the front of the hotel leaving the balcony comfortable.The room also had a free mini bar and safe which is highly unusual and lovely air conditioning.
I cannot praise the staff in this hotel highly enough as their friendly, helpful attitude was exemplary with no exceptions.
The hotel has a superb location with lovely lakeside gardens giving fantastic views across the lake itself. The gardens are nicely laid giving both sunshine and shade if required but with plenty of seating for everyone to indulge in their delights.
The hotel offers a number of activities during the week for guests to partake but the Friday night boat trip was absolutely amazing. Aurelio hosted our boat and he had all of us (around 18 people) in stitches of laughter with his antics and dare devil attitude, it was brilliant. In real life Aurelio runs the hotels lakeside bar.
The food offered in the hotel was lovely. Breakfast was buffet style with a member off staff on hand to cook omellettes, boil eggs etc if required. Dinner was excellent every night with a nice varied menu.
Fabio must be congratulated for his knowledge, attitude, commitment and leadership qualities within his hotel where he excelled as the Host and, like all other members of staff, he attended his guests admirably without exception making them all feel very welcome.
We loved our first visit to Lake Garda and hopefully will be able to return in 2015, to Sirmione and of course to reacquaint ourselves with the Hotel Catullo.

Room Tip: Room 303 had both lake and street views from a nice balcony for two,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My Partner and I stayed at Hotel Catullo, in Room 507, from July 19 to 26, 2014. Our windows overlooked a very busy square, with a side view of the lake. However, there was barely any noise from the square, thanks to the efficiency of the double glazing, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep every night. The adjustable air-conditioning worked perfectly throughout our stay, which further ensured our overall comfort and enjoyment.

Our room was spacious and well-appointed; the en-suite bathroom was more than big enough and well-stocked with soaps, shampoos and frequently changed towels. There were a bidet, hair-drier, shower and bath, all of which worked well and were used every day. Plenty of hot water at all times and the maid who looked after the room did a splendid job.

The bed was large and VERY comfortable; other furniture included a couple of nice chairs, a television with at least three English stations and a large table set into the wall. There were a mini-bar and a strong safe for money and other valuables. No extra charge was made for the safe and the mini-bar was free!!

The dining-room was spacious and well laid out. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choices and, if you wished, an omelette cooked to order while you waited. Tea and/or coffee were brought to your table and there were refills if desired. The Dinner menu offerred a choice of three starters, main-courses and puddings and there were help yourself salad tables, rolls with cheese and various oils, vinegars and condiments. The dining-room staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The quality of food was EXCELLENT throughout our stay and included fish from the lake as well as other local dishes. On one evening, we were served Turbot and it was utterly delicious. The Chef and his team are very talented indeed and we enjoyed every meal.

Fabio, our Host, certainly knows about wine and we asked him to choose for us from an extensive list. We only wanted to sample the red and white wines from the immediate locality and he recommended some superb and not particularly expensive wines, which we really enjoyed. These wines came from vineyards which have such a small output that most, if not all, is consumed locally.

The Reception area, lounge, gardens and lakeside bar were all well tended and we made some use of all of these. Aurelio, the Lakeside Bar Manager, is very good at his job and is an extremely pleasant young man.

Special mention must be made of Fabio, who is in charge of the hotel and is an excellent host. Fabio works at every level, which is probably why his staff are so good. I am sure that we all respect a leader who leads by example and doesn't just give orders. Fabio works on Reception, serves in the Dining-Room, collects and delivers supplies to the hotel, works in the grounds and generally identifies with every aspect of running Hotel Catullo. I would be prepared to bet that there is nothing that he doesn't know about his hotel. He is a quiet but extremely courteous and perceptive man, who makes every guest feel special. Small wonder, then, that he enjoys so much repeat business. On the Friday of our stay, Fabio organised a free boat trip around the Peninsular with complimentary Prosecco. This trip was one of the highlights of our stay and one of the biggest laughs. We could only admire the skill of the skippers, who had obviously spent their lives on Lake Garda, and Aurelio surprised us by his acrobatic antics on the prow of one of the two launches.

Sirmione is a great base from which to go to Desenzano, Breschia and Milan and we visited all of these using the efficient ferry and 'bus services. We had a great holiday and would recommend Hotel Catullo to anyone seeking a holiday in Sirmione.

Denis and Theresa from Bromley, Greater London.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel last week and were blown away by the hospitality, friendliness and helpfulness of all staff .
When we arrived we were very tired and somewhat stressed by the drive from San Marino. To get to the hotel,you are required to drive through the tiny narrow streets shared by many many people. It's like playing dodgems and not for the faint hearted. Thankfully our host Fabio offered to park our car for the duration of the stay and retrieved it for our departure.
Our room was overlooking the square for the first night but was changed to a lake view for the remainder of the stay at no extra cost. It was large and comfortable with everything working well.
This in our experience is unusual.
The location of the hotel is perfect. Right by the lake and right in the centre of the old town. It was handy to everything.
Breakfast in the classical dining room was excellent by Italian standards. They had the best kiwi fruit we have ever tasted and we come from New Zealand!
We had one evening meal at the hotel which was standard Italian and very good. Fabio was in the dining room as our host.
We loved Sirmeone, hotel catullo and lake Garda.
Definately recommended and one we will return to.

Room Tip: Try for a lake view but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#17 of 67 in Sirmione
1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
463 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#3 of 67 in Sirmione
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catullo

Address: Piazza Flaminia 7, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: £108 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Catullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catullo Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Catullo Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing