We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 4 Star hotel”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is not a 4 Star hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have just got back from a wonderful stay in Sirmione, Italy. We booked the 4 Star saver hotel deal through Thomson Lakes & Mountains. There was a chance of staying in one of four hotels, one being the Du Park.
Minutes after walking trough the glass entrance doors with the 4 stars at eye level I formed the opinion I was not standing in a 4 Star Hotel.
Don't get me wrong this is not a bad hotel and at 3 star would cause me to give it a higher rating. These are my reasons for not doing so.
First the rooms, I understand that Italian rooms are more classical than British ones but the rooms were basic with very cramped bathrooms and very hard beds. There was a mini bar in the rooms with a use and pay tariff that was expensive. Rooms did have air conditioning but the temp was set and could not be adjusted other than contacting reception. There was a safe deposit box in the room that you could use for a deposit of 30 Euro. If you wanted a towel for the pool you had to pay a deposit of 25 Euro per towel.
The food was average at best but never bad. On the first night I had 3 thin slices of meat and 3 croquet potatoes on a small plate for my main course. To be fair the pasta was good and we were offered free wine and water with our meal every night, but you was told that you could not take the wine out into the bar. I suspect that the unused wine was recycled over to the next night. You also was asked to order your evening meal at breakfast.
The staff were very good though and attentive.
The location is also a fair way from the centre of Sirmione. It is a good brisk 30 minute walk away and not onto the lake. Facilities other than a outside pool are non existent.
So to sum up this hotel may have been in the past a 4 Star, but no more in my opinion it is 3 star at best for all the above reasons. Thomson should not list this hotel as a 4 Star as it is misleading customers especially when they market it along side the hotel Caesius Thermae Spa in Bardolino.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaManager, Direttore at Hotel du Parc, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we will make the best out of it. Sincerely, Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    189
    71
    20
    4
See reviews for
120
268
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a two week holiday, the weather was great. This caused a problem as the air conditioning was not turned on and even though may guests ask for it to be turned on and so did our rep ,it did not happen. There was no other option ,we had to sleep with the bedroom door open,as this opened into the room it meant that in the night we had to be careful not to walk into it. Also as the balconies are very close together the if your neighbours were smoking it all came into the room.
The room was on the small side and was very tired and in dire need of a make over. The safe was a small old fashion key safe so you had to carry the key with you. There were no tea making facilities.
On the positive side the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean.
I did not think our room was anywhere near 4 star.
.


.

Room Tip: As for a room have have been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The suggestion that this is in Sirmione is a figment of marketing, the only way to the old town is by free hotel shuttle or bike hire, the shuttle however is too early return for dinner.
The rooms we has wre excellect (above bar an reception) which enabled wi-fi in our rooms, otherwise you need to be in the receprtion only. No such thing as a room with a lake view.
make sure you keep the tickets for bar bills etc, we were hiddiously overpriced before protest, then this carried on a week after we arrived home!!

Room Tip: We had a room over the bar & pool, really pleasant, tapped into the receptoion wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fygiynklklhijol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A decent hotel but not the best of locations. We found it too far from the centre of Sirmione. We arrived Saturday just after lunchtime to find our room was not ready, although the two couples in front of us and the couple behind us got theirs no problem. We had to wait another 45 mins before ours was ready which was a bit off and not the best of starts to our holiday. The reception staff didn't seem to think this was a problem, it was! The room was clean and kept that way by the friendly maid service. The food was good with an adequate choice and the restaurant staff were very welcoming. We, like other reviewers, didn't like not being able to pay for bar drinks which were overpriced, and found the service there very slow. The barman, Fernando was very friendly and tries his best but has to do table service and sometimes forgets that there are other customers waiting whilst he chats when away from the bar. This led to many guests going out of the hotel for drinks. The pool is a nice size and for sun worshipers there were plenty of sunbeds. There is wifi for those that cant live without it, but only in the reception area. Overall it was a good hotel with many good staff but I think we might try somewhere else next time we go to Lake Garda.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a lake view when booking with your tour company, it can only be seen ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just back from this hotel (Sat 28/9) we were the last English visitors via Thomson this season. The hotel is not in Sirmione itself, its in Colombare where there are few bars and shops. The hotel does advertise a shuttle bus, its a people carrier for 6. It does a few trips in the morning and a few trips back starting at 4p.m. and this really isn't sufficient. It's a good 30 minute walk into Sirmione. I have rated this as a 3 which is average, as I felt it didn't live up to the four stars.
The restaurant however is very good, it's the best part really. You are shown to a table on your first night and then it's yours for both breakfast and evening meal each night. Breakfast is buffet style, dinner is waiter service-you chose your menu at breakfast. The inclusive bottle of wine has to be drunk at the table and can't be taken into the lounge, not that we ever had any left, but it appears that this was causing a problem by other guests and the hotel began to put little notes on all the tables requesting it not to be taken in. Curiously enough, the German guests all took theirs in and nothing was said.
The pool towels require a deposit of 25 euros each, that's 50 euros for a couple, I pity anyone with a couple of kids having to fork out 100 euros. Not what I expected of a four star hotel. The key to the room safe required 30 euros. All of these have to be paid in cash. My husband commented that we were all contributing to a nice little earner on the weekly interest on all the cash and I can't help but feel that he is right.
The "piano bar" doesn't exist, it's a shabby place at the top of the building where you are meant to enjoy the view. What view???
Wi fi is free but I couldn't pick this up without sitting in reception, seems like a lot of others couldn't either.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor where doors opened to a patio area, but it is not safe - the cleaner l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 575Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent the first 2 weeks in September here and had a lovely time.
We paid extra for a lake view but on arrival were disappointed with the standard and the view was too far away to appreciate. However, after complaining we were moved to a refurbished superior room overlooking the pool, which was much nicer.
All of the staff were extfemely friendly & helpful. The food was superb, with a great menu.
Everywhere was immaculately clean. We were really impressed.
It is a good 30 minute walk into Sirmione, but very pleasant walking alongside the lake.
We loved it and hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room. It is worth it. Also opt for a higher room. We were on the second floor, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndylooWitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in Hotel Du Parc spotless rooms .Food was excellent and always a great choice. Our rep was excellent and all the places were very enjoyble. It would be nice if there was more music in the hotel.Did not like the way you could not pay for your drinks as you got them as everybody has cash or cards on them. Would return to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
752 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
1,054 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 67 in Sirmione
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Property: Hotel du Parc
Address: Via Salvo d'Acquisto 26, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#29 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Sirmione, in a quiet position, just 2 km from the historic center. 93 rooms - Economy, Classic, Superior, Junior Suite and Suite - with Balcony/terrace, Bath room with shower or bath tub, Air conditioning/Heating, TV lcd, Sky, Safe and Minibar, Wi-Fi. At guest's disposal, Bar, Outdoor Terrace for lunch, Indoor Restaurant for dinner, Fitness corner, Live music once a week, Free shuttle service to/from the historic center. Free outdoor parking and garage (upon availability). Ideal destination for leisure and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Sirmione
Hotel Parc Sirmione
Hotel Du Parc Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing