We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Italian Delight”
Review of Hotel Marconi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marconi
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We first visited The Hotel Marconi 10 years ago and have been coming ever since. If you like a genuine family welcome then this is the place for you. The hotel is family run by the Fabulous Visani family and it shows. Sirmione is popular and attracts many visitors but The Marconi is an oasis of calm with a stunning location - right on the lake. It enjoys it's own jetty and frontage and you can sit with a glass of Apero Spritzer (Apero and prosecco) watching the sun slowly sink.
Carlo Visani or Amira greet you on arrival , so the best thing to do is wander out on the front and take in the view. Order a drink and chill out. The drinks always come with Olives, crisps and plate of Poalo Visanis' homemade pizza. Try and book a front room with a lake view. The rooms are simple and extremely clean and the view is EVERTHING. ! If you want gold taps and flashy decor don't come ! It's Italian simplicity at its best.
The food is all home cooked by Paolo and is magnificent and proper Italian Fayre. No burgers and schnitzels here ! Anna Visani is always there to make sure everything is ship shape and ensures a very high standard. Eleanor waits at table with a delicious smile and is a delight. So when you look at the menu each day and maybe 'hum and ha ' whether you fancy what's on offer - trust the chef because it will be delicious ! They also do requests with a little warning. We love having melon and prosciutto for lunch - washed down with a bottle of local Lugana white wine. You only have to stagger to the sun bed to snooze it all off !
If you do read the 6 negative reviews about the Marconi don't let that deter you because all the other reviews like mine have had a wonderful experience. But it's horses for courses - if you want hot tubs, clashing domes and sniffy waiters then the Marconi is not for you. This is a proper Italian hotel. I am sitting here in the rain, contemplating my journey home on Monday but even in the rain it's heaven. Siesta time ! One last thing, if you are bringing your car then you are allowed to bring it into Sirmione itself but don't be frightened. You check in at the castle entrance, and pick up a ticket and are allowed through with your hotel booking . There is a small traffic light system and you have to ease your way through pedestrians but they are all quite used to it and move out of the way. Great car park at Marconi. All part of the adventure ! Great fun. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Book early and try and get a front room with a lake view. Top floor is my favourite but I have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebellapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a Hotel we found on Tripadvisor and we are so glad we did, A small family run Hotel
where the Family and staff are friendly and attentive you could not ask for more
The hotel is spotless the rooms are well looked after with clean towels every day and bed linen changed at least three times in the ten days we stayed.
The food was excellent the smell of fresh baking every morning was a delight .
The hotel is situated in the old town and near all the amenities absolutely perfect.
If you want a hotel on Lake Garda that also backs on to the Lake we could not recommend this hotel more

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suntoshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

#6 of a 16 day Euro Roadtrip goping between bard and Venice. One night only. So imagine a completely pedestrianised walled town with narrow streets in high season where even navigating a child buggy through the hoards of people is a challenge! Then picture a couple of Brits in an open top car trying to drive through all the people at 2mph as people press themselves up against the walls to get out of our way! It was hilarious in a deeply embarrassing kind of way and we were relieved to finally arrive at the haven of Marconi which is just perfect! Great warm welcome by Mama Vasanti, fabulous dinner and breakfast. |A lovely enchanting town to walk around, swim in the lake and the daunting thought of having to drive through the crowds again to get out! Let the hotel know you are driving and they tell the police your name so they let you drive in.

Room Tip: We emailed ahead and asked for a lake/partial lake view and they were ablew to accommodate which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is a jewel; the staff are friendly and attentive, the food is great and the location is tremendous - lakeside, in the old town but sufficiently set back from the street that it is an oasis of calm even when Sirmione is at its busiest. A great place to stay and explore the lake by ferry.
Thanks to the Visani family for an ideal holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peedeejax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The owners and the staff make you feel a bit like part of the famiglia Visani. Lovely, lovely place to stay. Having dinner at the hotel is a must. We love the setting, away from the crowd. Very peaceful location with a beach on its own. We will certainly go back to Hotel Marconi without hesitation as it is a special place.

Room Tip: Room with side view of the sea was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Before booking the Hotel, I read very good reviews about the hotel. after my visit, I can say that the good reviews are really right. The staff is faboulas, and willing to help in any matter. the Food is good, the hotel and rooms are very clean. The family running the hotel are so kind. A perfect place to stay in Sirmione.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FadiHaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is my second visit to the Hotel Marconi and on both my visits I have spent 2-3 weeks travelling round Italy. This hotel has been the cheapest on both visits, despite sirmione being touristy and quite expensive. The breakfast is great-good variety and friendly lady with the dark hair! The reason I have returned is for the fantastic location (in the centre of the old town) with amazing views and a peaceful terrace to sunbathe and swim in the lake. After a busy couple of weeks touring, this is the pace to relax and do nothing. The reception staff are very helpful and serve drinks with nibbles throughout the day. Even as a solo traveller I have a room with the lake view (in the annexe) and they have made it very clear what my room will be like and what view I will have over email when booking. Lovely little hotel and a very relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#11 of 67 in Sirmione
489 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
801 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Catullo
Hotel Catullo
#2 of 67 in Sirmione
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marconi

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 51, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#2 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: £79 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marconi 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marconi Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Marconi Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing