We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel; Great Location”
Review of Hotel Marconi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marconi
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
271 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; Great Location”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel was great overall -- location was outstanding; breakfast was the very best; the people could not have been nicer. Our only complaint was the noise level within the hotel; not very good soundproofing. We knew what the people in the next room were up to -- good, bad, or indifferent. The hotel is in the heart of the old city. You have to be registered at one of the island hotels in order to even drive onto the island. It's a bit dicey driving through the narrow streets but, once at the hotel, you never have to move your car. The shopping is great in the city, plenty of good food, and everyone spoke English. The noise issue was the only thing preventing us from giving the five stars; we didn't get much sleep because of our neighbors.

Room Tip: We had a partial lake view and wish we had gone with a full lake view -- would have been worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    133
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
131
428
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just loved our three days at Hotel Marconi. A beautiful lake side hotel with a very welcoming staff and family. We enjoyed our balcony and the view of the lake. The breakfast and dinner if you chose to stay in were excellent. We felt very much at home and would love to return if we ever get the opportunity. The location is excellent inside the old walls and not far from some Roman ruins. It was the highlight of our recent trip to Europe.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We had a room with two balcony in the annex building, no elevator in this building but for 90 euro Breakfast included with a view on the lake can't complain. I would totally come back especially the staff at the reception was super simpatico. They give you lots of towels, also this hotel is really well centered in Sirmione.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Marconi is a "must stay" when visiting Lake Garda. From the moment you arrive on property, you are warmly greeted by the first member of the Visani Family, son Carlo. he is most gracious and throughout your stay, does everything to ensure a pleasurable experience. His father makes wonderful pastries which not only provide a wonderful aroma each morning, but provide a delicious addition to the large and varied buffet breakfast. The hotel has a beautiful location right on the water and wine on the terrace in the evening while watching the sun set on the water is a must.
Carlos's mother is everywhere ensuring that the wonderful meals are perfect (which they are!). All in all, this place can't be beat. We stayed three days and it wasn't enough.
Thank you Visani Family for making our stay in Sirmione so wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankCarolR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Marconi. The Family Visani are fabulous hosts - friendly and attentive. The rooms are lovely and they are spotless. The breakfasts are to die for. This lovely little hotel was a haven of peace and relaxation in the historic centre of Sirmione. This part of Sirmione is a walled town with narrow streets and it was an adventure to drive to the hotel where on-site parking is free. The location is wonderful, the hotel is lovely, but it is the wonderful family who run this hotel that make staying here a must when visiting Lake Garda.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room will a full lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We first visited The Hotel Marconi 10 years ago and have been coming ever since. If you like a genuine family welcome then this is the place for you. The hotel is family run by the Fabulous Visani family and it shows. Sirmione is popular and attracts many visitors but The Marconi is an oasis of calm with a stunning location - right on the lake. It enjoys it's own jetty and frontage and you can sit with a glass of Apero Spritzer (Apero and prosecco) watching the sun slowly sink.
Carlo Visani or Amira greet you on arrival , so the best thing to do is wander out on the front and take in the view. Order a drink and chill out. The drinks always come with Olives, crisps and plate of Poalo Visanis' homemade pizza. Try and book a front room with a lake view. The rooms are simple and extremely clean and the view is EVERTHING. ! If you want gold taps and flashy decor don't come ! It's Italian simplicity at its best.
The food is all home cooked by Paolo and is magnificent and proper Italian Fayre. No burgers and schnitzels here ! Anna Visani is always there to make sure everything is ship shape and ensures a very high standard. Eleanor waits at table with a delicious smile and is a delight. So when you look at the menu each day and maybe 'hum and ha ' whether you fancy what's on offer - trust the chef because it will be delicious ! They also do requests with a little warning. We love having melon and prosciutto for lunch - washed down with a bottle of local Lugana white wine. You only have to stagger to the sun bed to snooze it all off !
If you do read the 6 negative reviews about the Marconi don't let that deter you because all the other reviews like mine have had a wonderful experience. But it's horses for courses - if you want hot tubs, clashing domes and sniffy waiters then the Marconi is not for you. This is a proper Italian hotel. I am sitting here in the rain, contemplating my journey home on Monday but even in the rain it's heaven. Siesta time ! One last thing, if you are bringing your car then you are allowed to bring it into Sirmione itself but don't be frightened. You check in at the castle entrance, and pick up a ticket and are allowed through with your hotel booking . There is a small traffic light system and you have to ease your way through pedestrians but they are all quite used to it and move out of the way. Great car park at Marconi. All part of the adventure ! Great fun. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Book early and try and get a front room with a lake view. Top floor is my favourite but I have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebellapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a Hotel we found on Tripadvisor and we are so glad we did, A small family run Hotel
where the Family and staff are friendly and attentive you could not ask for more
The hotel is spotless the rooms are well looked after with clean towels every day and bed linen changed at least three times in the ten days we stayed.
The food was excellent the smell of fresh baking every morning was a delight .
The hotel is situated in the old town and near all the amenities absolutely perfect.
If you want a hotel on Lake Garda that also backs on to the Lake we could not recommend this hotel more

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntoshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 68 in Sirmione
616 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 68 in Sirmione
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 68 in Sirmione
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 68 in Sirmione
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#7 of 68 in Sirmione
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marconi

Property: Hotel Marconi
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 51, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#2 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marconi 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marconi Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Marconi Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing