We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in Sirmione”
Review of Hotel Marconi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marconi
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our stay at Hotel Marconi was the first leg of our honeymoon and what a great start to our holiday.

This was the first time that either of us had been to Lake Garda and really couldn't have chosen a better place to kick off our honeymoon. Sirmione was a beautiful town. On arrival, we couldn't believe how busy the place was so be prepared if arriving in the afternoon to work your way through the many tourists visiting for the day. This was in total contrast to Sirmione in the evening where we almost had the place to ourselves.

The hotel itself was pretty easy to find. We were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception who showed us to our room. We were lucky to get a room with a full lake view which was absolutely gorgeous, particularly when the sun was setting. The room was quite spacious and very comfortable and clean. We didn't spend too long in the grounds of the hotel as we travelled in October but can imagine that in summertime, sitting outside relaxing with a nice Aperol Spritz aside the lake would be so peaceful.

We decided to eat out in town on the first night of our stay but were slightly disappointed by the quality of food so opted to eat in the hotel on the second night. Having enquired about the menu for the evening, the guy at reception talked us through the menu but also said with enough notice were happy to provide alternative dishes. We chose the food on offer and were delighted with the quality of the food, the service from the staff and overall dining experience so would strongly recommend that you eat in here at least once. Breakfast was also superb. There is more on offer here than you could imagine and if you have a sweet tooth, be prepared for a lengthy breakfast which you might need to walk off later!

In terms of location, the hotel is perfectly situated as it is just off the main street to make it a small walk away from the main shops and restaurants but still quiet enough to think you are the only hotel in the place. We sat outside on our balcony and couldn't believe how peaceful it was.

This is a family run hotel which has traditional decor and reminds me of how hotels used to be. The service from the staff is fantastic and you are made to feel so at home here. It's the little things that make this such as a "good morning" from reception as you walk down the stairs of the welcome plant with a "Welcome" sign on it in your room. There was also a lovely parting gift for us as we checked out which was a nice touch.

Overall, if you are looking to stay in Sirmione then do choose this hotel. Do trust the good reviews on Trip Advisor. They are all true. You will not be disappointed.

Thank you for a wonderful stay Hotel Marconi.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a lake view - it's worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m1ster_wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marconi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I have just stayed two nights at this lovely hotel in Sirmione. The room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the lake, and there was a charming terrace with direct access to the lake. I swam four times in our two-night stay and the water was quite comfortable for late October, perhaps because of the nearby thermal spring. The staff were hospitable and very friendly, even giving us a cake as a departure present. We very much hope to go back.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view of the lake - it is worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The room was clean with vintage furnishings. The price was a little high considering there was no free breakfast. The location was in a perfect spot, close to the main square and very near the shopping area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel Marconi has to be one of our favourite hotel experiences in awhile.
We chose the hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and I just want to echo the same words of praise that others have made previously.

The hotel is perfectly situated within the heart of Sirmione's centro historico, and it is directly on the lake which made our little balcony such a lovely treat. The sunset was so beautiful and romantic. ( we took the lakeview room )

Our room was very clean and tidy, bed was comfortable and it was simply furnished.

As mentioned previously the family running this hotel are really to be commended for their down home kindness and their attention to our every need. We really appreciated that they never had to ask us for our room number when we picked up our key, and they were quick to obtain railway and bus tickets for our side trip to Venice, so as to not have us standing on line in the busy train station.
We enjoyed a lovely nightcap of coffee, grappa and little baked goodies before bed, served in the relaxing lounge area.
They even sent us home with a lovely almond torte/biscuit that we shared with family back home.

The breakfast has been well described in other reviews here and we agree heartily. We also appreciated the cappuccino made for each of us each morning.

In terms of the noise that has been mentioned, for the four days that we stayed there we only experienced one early evening when a group of young adults took the room next door. Their noise level was very disturbing and I was worried about the coming night. However luckily for us they went somewhere else and partied til dawn so they were only arriving back to the room as we were waking up! So, I think that there are possibilities for noise disturbance but aside from this brief period we experienced, we found the hotel incredibly quiet. No street noise of any kind, which we were grateful for.

I would add here a comment about transportation since I didn't see too much written about it before. We did not have a vehicle and we were able to take a train from Bern Switzerland, thru Milan and on to De Senzano train station . It was not necessary to go to Verona, and we found the local bus service perfect. You can catch the Verona bus right outside the door of the train station and you will be deposited at the entry to the centro historico in about 15 minutes.
Additionally we were able to take the train to Venice return for about 55 Euros. It is 1.5 hours and we found it an easy way to get into and out of Venice. ( Which was insanely busy even in October). It is possible to use public transport to get around the Garda region without even needing a taxi, which were plentiful in any case.

We were happy to return to the relative peace and more economical town of Sirmione

Walking around Sirmione's coastline on the peninsula, touring the amazing Roman Ruins and enjoying the lovely little shops and restaurants was a perfect getaway for us. We hope to return one day and can completely recommend Hotel Marconi to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heartofagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Charming Hotel right on the lake in gorgeous Sirmione! Sirmione is the most beautiful town on all Lago Di Garda and this small hotel is right in the middle of the old town and has a lovely wharf where you can lye on a sun lounge and relax, you can dangle your feet in the lake while having breakfast if you wish. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and all the reception staff speak excellent english. The rooms are clean tidy and mine was very quiet as well.
The food was exceptional-definitely the best breakfast we had in 4 weeks traveling around Switzerland and Italy.I counted 20 home made biscuits and cakes on the breakfast buffet.Dinner was great too.
Did I mention it is also the best value for money in Sirmione!

Room Tip: I had a single room which was great value and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel was great overall -- location was outstanding; breakfast was the very best; the people could not have been nicer. Our only complaint was the noise level within the hotel; not very good soundproofing. We knew what the people in the next room were up to -- good, bad, or indifferent. The hotel is in the heart of the old city. You have to be registered at one of the island hotels in order to even drive onto the island. It's a bit dicey driving through the narrow streets but, once at the hotel, you never have to move your car. The shopping is great in the city, plenty of good food, and everyone spoke English. The noise issue was the only thing preventing us from giving the five stars; we didn't get much sleep because of our neighbors.

Room Tip: We had a partial lake view and wish we had gone with a full lake view -- would have been worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just loved our three days at Hotel Marconi. A beautiful lake side hotel with a very welcoming staff and family. We enjoyed our balcony and the view of the lake. The breakfast and dinner if you chose to stay in were excellent. We felt very much at home and would love to return if we ever get the opportunity. The location is excellent inside the old walls and not far from some Roman ruins. It was the highlight of our recent trip to Europe.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
1,070 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 67 in Sirmione
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catullo
Hotel Catullo
#2 of 67 in Sirmione
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marconi

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 51, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#2 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marconi 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marconi Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Marconi Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing