We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and would happily return. The hotel is modern, has a lovely roof terrace with pool which has views of the Lake (across a road from the lake) lots of communal seating and areas which provide shade. Was also very impressed that almost every room has a balcony or terrace of its own.
The staff were always friendly and very accommodating, providing us with maps, info and even printed our boarding passes off for us when we asked.
The location is great as it's close to a supermarket for snacks and drinks, a short walk to some very nice restaurants and bars in Lugana but only a 35/40 min walk to Sirmione's historic centre and 10 mins in the car from the motorway if you want to visit Verona, Venice or Milan.
Small improvements such as fresh fruit juice & fresh fruit salad at the breakfast buffet would make breakfast very much more enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HGlasgow198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    55
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very nice weekend at Sirmione e Garda Lake. the hotel is big and very new. Swimming pool on the top, goos services and breakfast. It's not in the centrum of sirmione but it's very easy with a bicicle arrive in the centrum. Bicicle are given free by Hotel.
On ly problem , our room was under the swimming pool that was starting at 8 o clok and finishing at 10 o 'clock in the avond. The room was also separeted by a door with other room ( not toally confortable). probabily they were family rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were four adults sharing a quad room with a balcony which faced the lake so we had a great view even though the lake is across the road. We had no issues with traffic noise. The hotel is in a good location, next to a supermarket for important wine and beer supplies! The prices in the bar are reasonable so it makes a perfect stop for a nightcap. There are several bars and restaurants in walking distance and it a pleasant one hour stroll into Sirmione old town (about 8 euros for a taxi back).

There is plenty of on site car parking and the pool area is well served with loungers, chairs and table and whilst the pool isn't of Olympic proportions it is more than adequate.

The motorway is very close by and thus makes trips in to Verona and Venice very easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Reasonable walk to center of town (at southern end of peninsula) for restaurants and basic shops, but need to drive to get to "old town" of sirmione. Decent size room for family of 4, modern design. As mentioned by others, pool images on web are deceiving...it's smaller than you think, and on the day we were there, very buggy. Included breakfast is good, and staff was usually helpful. Though on a main road, not very noisy. Hotel is about 800 meters from public beach with free access and option to rent chairs and umbrellas, as well as paddle boats. (Loved the slides on the boats!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneKnightOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Arena, is in a great location overlooking Lake Garda at the South Eastern end of the Sirmione peninsular, in the Colombare area - about a 35-40 minute wlk along the lake to Sirmione itself. Handy parking at the hotel itself. Most parking in Sir

Smallish rooms, but comfortable, good breakfast. The rooftop pool is wonderful.

Lots of great restaurants in Sirmione and Colombare, a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattat320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

The pictures of the hotel that you will see on booking web-sites are misleading: The hotel is situated on a main road, very noisy all the time.

The information we got from a booking web-site were also misleading, because we got a room with no balcony, small window, in the attic. It looked more like a service room than a guest room.

We could not open the window overnight because of the traffic noise. We asked for a double bed, but we got two loosely joined beds, so the sleeping was not very comfortable.
The staff speaks poor English, we asked for additional hangers and they could not understand us, so I had to draw a picture. There was only one English channel on the TV.

The internet is expensive, and is sold by 15 minute intervals, which is very inconvenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hier0nimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

After looking at a lot of hotels in Sirmione my boyfriend and I decided on this one, which unfortunately we were disappointed with.
The hotel itself was lovely, although I agree with some of the other reviews about the pool images being a bit misleading. We didn't realize there was a main road between the hotel and the lake - the hotel over the other side of the road seemed a lot more appealing.
Location wasn't great, but we took advantage of the free hotel hire bikes and did a bit of exploring, the only problem with that is it you want to stop anywhere for lunch you need to find somewhere to lock up your bikes!

I'm sure we will go back to Lake Garda, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamwal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.0 mi away
Yachting Hotel Mistral
Yachting Hotel Mistral
#38 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#26 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#53 of 69 in Sirmione
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#15 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiorella
Hotel Fiorella
#12 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: Via Verona 90, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Arena Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing