We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family”
Review of The Garda Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Garda Village
1 review
“Family”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Quite happy over all. We stayed in the Caravans near reception, they were the 6 berth caravans. This was better due to the hundreds of teenagers stating at top of park. In fairness, they were well behaved and didn't bother anyone. It was very quite there in regards to other families, would have liked to see more children there for our 4 year to play with. Over all, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlowea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    135
    104
    50
    48
See reviews for
257
42
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This was our first visit to Italy and we thoroughly recommend the Garda Village. We were a party of four adults and two very small children and our two Comfort Bungalows suited us perfectly. The Village is clean and well maintained, the service and staff excellent and the bungalows are well equipped to a high standard. The only things missing were a kettle and an iron! The restaurant is in a lovely location right by the lake and served a choice of very good food. THere is a good range of facilities and, in spite of a number of visiting students, it was quiet all of the time.The staff keep a very careful eye to ensure everyone has a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happygranny097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Went last week to Garda village, remember it from a few years ago was really good. Now looking really tired and in need of a makeover. Kids enjoyed it, good location by the lake and for sirmione

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grahamtp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

great place for a family vacation. we took a bilo bungalow which is 2 rooms - living room with a bunk bed and kitchen and a bedroom with a double bed and ensuite bathroom. ample storage, well stocked kitchen with utensils, plates etc.

As other reviews say, the walls are thin... we could hear the couple next door in heat!

swimming pool wasnt open which was a shame as it was 27 deg but they were to start it from 25th April.

place can be better maintained, the lawns were unkept, the mini golf and children's playground are not in a great shape.

just note one thing thoug - if u dont have a car, dont go here. no connectivity and its 4-6 kms from Sirmione and Desenzano.

Room Tip: Gardaland is 15 mins away and great for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank iscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This place is basically a holiday park. The self-catering accommodation was clean and reasonably well supplied in terms of kitchen utensils etc. The cooking facilities were limited to a four ring gas hob - there was no oven or microwave so that did limit what could be cooked. Overall though, we felt that the garda village was good value for money.

Facilties on site are good. For UK visitors it's worth warning that access to the swimming pool is governed by loads of rules; no inflatables or toys, you must wear a swimming cap, you must have flip flops etc. This could be a bit restrictive for children/ teenagers. Also, we didn't have swim caps and the on-site shop didn't stock them so we had to drive out to a shopping mall to track some down.

The worst thing about the garda village was the noise levels. During our stay, huge groups of teenagers - possibly school or college parties stayed in the park too. They were massively inconsiderate and really noisy (and busloads of them kept arriving). Our caravan was fairly close to the bar area. Loud music was blaring from this area for much of the evening (along with chanting teenagers). For us, this wasn't a problem but if you wanted to sleep, there was no way of escaping from the noise. I could see that if you had young children or even if you wanted to make an early start this could be really annoying.

The park was located outside Sirmione, quite a distance from public transport links and a good 30 minute walk from Sirmione. I can't say much about this as we hired a car but without a vehicle it might be difficult to get out and about. It was however, really easy to find.

All in all, I'd recommend this place to couples and families with older children/ teenagers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minoueleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Our family of four (children ages 5 and 8) stayed a week at the Garda Village Sept 2010 in a standard bungalow. The lake area is absolutely beautiful and well worth the trip. Garda Village is a sprawling community and is very much self-contained. So much so, that it is literally isolated from the surrounding area, which turns out to be a serious detriment unless you have a car. Luckily we did, and the surrounding area is not to be missed.

The amenities of the hotel are pretty much bare minimum, with a do-it-yourself cleaning and linen service. When it got cool one evening, we grabbed a blanket from the closet of linens and warmed up, only to be awoken in the night feeling like we were wrapped in sandpaper. The blanked had obviously not been cleaned and apparently used as a throw on the lakeside beach! This was quickly sorted with friendly tri-lingual hotel staff in the morning. I asked that they send the staff round to strip and remake the bed as it was full of sand from one of their blankets. When we returned from our day out, we came back to a pile of clean linen and blanket in a chair on the porch! Not exactly top line service considering they supplied a dirty blanket in the first place.

The beds are about the cheapest quality beds you can buy and if you are at all sensitive to mattress quality, you'll want to avoid. Walls are thin, and hopefully our spasticly coughing old man next door has recovered by now. Dry wall is also crumbly and will flake and gather in piles on the floor. Rooms were clean upon arrival and you must clean them yourself prior to departure. Internet available for a pretty high fee, but available in only a couple hot spots, all of which are not near the rooms. The compound was enjoyable and quiet for our first 3 days, then a group of about 300 German high school students ascended and were generally similar to a loud, techno-listening, hormonal ant infestation, but that's probably just our luck. Staff were friendly and the small grocery has a pretty good stock and great prices for a tourist area. I'd advise going to IL Leone' shopping center 10 minutes away and stocking up on snacks and drinks for the family if you don't want to eat out every meal. It's a large American-style mall with a huge Iper (grocery, etc) store. Took the kids to Gardaland as well, and while it was pretty expensive, it is very large and of high entertainment value for both kids and adults!

In summary, it was very affordable, but we regret saving a couple hundred Euro and sacrificing quality. I'd advise spending a little more and enjoy your holiday in a well suited, properly maintained hotel. We constantly clean house at home, I don't want to do it on holiday! Also, DO NOT miss seeing Verona and Venice while you are so close!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heckengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

this hotel accommodation turned to be unfortunate since rooms were too small for a family of 4 as advertised on internet. Upon arrival reception employee was 'doing a favor to talk to you' and looked that you have just entered a 'camp' and not just a happy family that travelled a long distance to have a week's holiday. Nevermind when we decided to dare ask for change of room to another empty room. The same employee on 19th of August 2010 replied ' this room is reserved for GOOD customers only'. Even if that is the case you don't say this to customers that pay your salary. Other than that this is the first and the last time we visit this place, the weather was too hot, even weather forecast was wrong.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AvraamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sirmione hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmione
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
5.5 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#30 of 67 in Sirmione
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garda Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garda Village

Property: The Garda Village
Address: Via Coorti Romane 47, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garda Village 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, PitchUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Garda Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garda Village Hotel Sirmione
The Garda Village Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing