We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding family run hotel, perfect place to stay”
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rosa
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Rosa for 6 nights in mid July whilst travelling around Northern Italy. Sirmione is a short distance (10 mins by taxi) from Desenzano, which is on the main train line between Venice and Milan. The trip coincided with a particularly hot spell of weather, with temperatures in the mid to high 30's every day.

The hotel is located at the lower and quieter end of the Sirmione peninsula. It's a 20-30 minute walk on a good foot/cycle path to the walled town and approx 5-10 minute walk to the local shops and restaurants in Colombare. The walk to the old town was made difficult by the hot weather even at 10:30pm! However push bikes are available free from the hotel which we made use of and there are plenty of bike racks to park them. The bikes were really useful but quite old, however the hotel advised us they were soon to be replaced with new ones. Alternative, there is regular bus service which passes the hotel and goes to the old town for 2 Euros.

There are a couple of good restaurants directly opposite the hotel and several more plus a good supermarket in Colombare. A very pleasant local grassed beach and small marina are directly across the road from the hotel.

The hotel had all the facilities we needed for the stay except perhaps for a pool. The reception had detailed local information and provided us with discount cards for local attractions and the Lake Garda ferries. They were also happy to make reservations at the local restaurants which saved queuing and ensured the best tables. Wi-Fi internet access was available free throughout the hotel. We made use of the small, but well stocked, bar and lovely outside terrace both during the day and late into the night.

The breakfast buffet was lovely and offered a wide selection of hot and cold items which were restocked frequently. Various freshly made coffees were also offered and were probably the best we found in all the hotels on our trip.

We had a room on the second floor which had a balcony and a lovely view of Lake Garda. The room was comfortable and was an adequate size, although we found the bathroom to be quite small and had red plastic fittings that could do with being modernised! Due to the weather we were extremely grateful of the air conditioning and used the room safe provided. The hotel advised us that they are intending to install aircon in the reception area over the winter months and are obviously continually looking to improve the hotel.

Like the rest of the hotel and grounds, the room was well maintained and immaculately clean throughout our stay.

The hotel is run and staffed by a lovely family who made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our luggage was taken to our room as we were given a welcome drink on the terrace. Here we had chance to relax and chat about the hotel and area. The service throughout the hotel was exceptional and far better than we have experienced in many 5* establishments.

The kind and friendly family who run the hotel could not be faulted. Their service and attention to detail really make the place. In particular the greeting on arrival and the bar service with drink recommendations and nibbles we thought were superb. We even received a gift upon departure! Considering the room cost this hotel is tremendous value for money.

Overall we thought the hotel was fantastic and we really enjoyed our stay. We would not hesitate to return or to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

My wife, her sister and husband and I stayed at the Villa Rosa in late July 2010. We arrived late afternoon and were greeted with a very friendly welcome from Patrizia along with free drinks which were much appreciated after a long day. Patrizia and her sister Laura provided us with a wealth of information on Lago Di Garda, where to eat and what to see. The facilities were first rate, with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The breakfasts were extremely generous with a choice of hot food, cereals, breads and coffee. We loved the Lago Di Garda area and travelled the circumference of the lake twice!! On departing, we where pleasantly surprised to received a lovely gift, which we didn’t expect but was much appreciated. Our stay in Sirmione was truly a memorable one which was only enhanced by the fantastic services which Patricia, Laura and their family provided. I strongly recommend this B&B and I know I'll be returning as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

What can I add that hasn't already been said by many listed here. I've just returned from a week at Villa Rosa with my family. We had a great time. The hotel is well located and is in good condition. If you're looking for big-hotel facilities, then look elsewhere (and get your wallet out as Sirmione isn't cheap), but if you're looking for a good room, shower, aircon, wifi and nice breakfast, don't hesitate. The family really make you feel welcome and go out of their way to ensure you're looked after. It was perfect. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or to pass on their contact details.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed in Villa Rosa for 1 week in June. Following a warm welcome we were brought to our room where the air conditioning was explained to us and a welcome drink of our choice was offered which was a lovely touch. Although the bedroom was not huge, it was perfectly adequate. We had a wonderful balcony which had beautiful views of the lake and mountains and which got the sun in the mornings up until about 2.30pm (room 305). The bathroom was a reasonable size and the shower was excellent & very powerful. The TV in the room was very very small which made watching some of the world cup football a bit difficult but at any other time would not really cause a problem!!

The breakfast buffet had pretty much everything you could want - cereal, fruit, yogurts, pastries, bread rolls, toast, eggs, bacon, sausages - and they were always happy to provide more if things were running out.

There is a small but nice outdoor seated area where you can have a few drinks from the bar and there are also sun lounges available which I made use of. The free wifi was also very useful as we could easily research our trips on our iphone at no cost to us.

I found it quite difficult to decide if I was happy with the location or not! It is a good 20 minute walk to the old town of Sirmione which is fine at times once the right footwear is chosen! We ended up driving down to the old town 3 evenings for dinner but walked a few times for lunch. I'd recommend eating locally to the hotel rather than going to the old town every evening. There is a very nice Trattoria & a good Pizzeria across the road and more restaurants in the newer town of Sirmione which is only a 5 minute walk.

When we checked out of the hotel the manager gave us a lovely bottle of whiskey for us to think of Italy when at home in the cold in Ireland. This was completely unexpected but once again a lovely personal touch. My guess is that they gave us this gift as we stayed for a full week while others may only stay for a couple of nights.

Overall, the big plus for this hotel is the excellent customer service and kind and friendly nature of the family who run the hotel. I would certainly recommend this hotel to a friend and my husband and I could see ourselves returning in the futute.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rathkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Unfortunately we were only in Sirmione for one night, but we couldn't have stayed at a better hotel. The service was excellent and everyone was very helpful. We were able to use the internet in the lobby and it was a nice place to sit and hang out. Breakfast was also excellent! The only pitfall is the distance to the castle (about 1 mile), however, Villa Rosa will provide you with bikes if you don't mind the ride. We did it and it was great! Another helpful detail, the manager spoke French, German, English and Italian of course, all fluently!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeMC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

If you want to spend a few days in the area, this is absolutely the best place to stay. We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in June, and it was fantastic. The hotel was recently renovated, and the lobby and room were immaculate.
The location was perfect for us, next to the walking path to the old town. It's a beautiful walk, and we couldn't get enough of it. The owners treated us like family, they helped us with the itinerary every day, and we're glad that we followed their suggestions.
On my wife’s birthday, Francesca made for us a dinner reservation at a very nice restaurant nearby. Since she made the reservation, we got the best seat in the house, on the terrace overlooking the lake. When we came back to the hotel, there was a bottle of Champagne in an ice bucket waiting for us in the room. This is what I meant by being treated like part of the family.
We will definitely come back to Villa Rosa next time we visit Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotal Villa Rosa, which is situated a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the main part of Sirmione, a wonderful and quaint town on Lake Garda.
From our arrival to departure, the extremely hard working and diligent owners, Patricia and Laura, aided by their familes, could not try harder to make our stay (we have a 2 month old baby) enjoyable. Their service, at breakfast, reception and in general was that of a 5 star hotel. Rooms are very plesant and ultra clean, and the hotel offers tremendous value in our opinion. We would thoroughly recommend this small hotel, which is 100% more impressive that their website (which we're told is under reconstruction).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulieWalnuts6W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' Serena Hotel
Ca' Serena Hotel
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clodia
Hotel Clodia
#32 of 67 in Sirmione
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#11 of 67 in Sirmione
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Lido
Astoria Lido
#43 of 67 in Sirmione
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marolda Hotel
Marolda Hotel
#37 of 67 in Sirmione
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 4, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
#8 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: £92 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Villa Rosa Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing