We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe how welcoming the staff were.”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I can't believe how welcoming the staff were.”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We had requested good rooms as one of the party was 60 and the trip was to celebrate that. The rooms were very good sized with a large bed and a large balcony. The Bathroom was also huge. There was air conditioning but the only drawback was there was not a kettle or fridge but these were minor irritations only.
The food was superb, breakfast always a choice of eggs, fruit and pastry, meat, cheese and cereal. The evening meal was always four courses, chosen at breakfast.
The staff were very friendly and helpfull, always ready to help and cheerfull.
A plus was that our next door neighbor was Micheal Schummacher, who turned up in his private helicopter.

Room Tip: we asked for a good room because of a family celebration
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulacdip, responsabile at Hotel Du Lac, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
The Fumagalli family and all the staff of the Hotel Du Lac in Sirmione, would like to thank all their valued customers for their very kind and generous reviews.We appreciate all your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    40
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
127
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cartmel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We came across this lovely family run hotel by chance and what a gem it is. Perfectly situated, a leisurely 20 minute stroll from busy Sirmione centre or a 7minute cycle on one of the hotel's free bicyles. With its own stretch of pebble beach and private jetty allowing you to swim in the beautiful warm lake or alternatively use the 25ft swimming pool with jacuzi. The hotel is spottlessly clean throughout and our room although it didnt have a view from the balcony was cool because of this and the air conditioning, a must in 38 degrees. The staff couldnt do enough for us and the owner Rafaella is coeliac and so all meals are available gluten free and are delicious and the menu varied. I have asked her to write a recipe book! Most of the residents were repeat customers over 25 years of German , Italian and French origin and of course the guests from Inghams so there was a real continental feel. We loved it and cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view front room and you get a big balcony as well. Its extra and my mum and dad had o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathryn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulacdip, responsabile at Hotel Du Lac, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
The Fumagalli family and all the staff of the Hotel Du Lac in Sirmione, would like to thank all their valued customers for their very kind and generous reviews. We appreciate all you r wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiryat ono, israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This must be the very best run hotel we have known over many years. The bedrooms are more than comfortable, and similarly to the public areas, they are spotlessly clean and well maintained. Meals are excellent and plentiful, with a choice of home cooking superbly presented.
The staff cannot do enough to make ones stay pleasant. No wonder that they have so many guests coming for return visits

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dudi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The Hotel Du Lac on Lake Garda was beautiful with it's own private beach, the owners were very helpful to me and my friend. The staff were all very friendly and coudn't do enough for you. Lake Garda is lovely and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This was about our tenth visit and we took two friends, having recommended others in the past - all of whom have enjoyed the great hospitality. Same family-ownership for over 50 years, with three generations presently occupied in day to day running. Exceptional service and beautifully cooked local dishes. The staff couldn't be more obliging and perfect ambience. for relaxation. Easy access to ferries to visit other parts of the lake. Bus service to Verona. This hotel has our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baileys85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergamo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We did have a memorable vacation staying for 4 days at this hotel.Right on the lake with a private beach and well appointed swimming pool with nice jacuzzi.About 10 minutes walk to Sirmione.
The rooms were spotless we really didn't ahve anything to complain,with a nice balcony to enjoy Lake Garda view ,very good food .I hope I can return there for another vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

An absolutely lovely hotel.
Spotlessly clean and the staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The food was home cooked and plentiful. Whilst there were not lots of choices nobody would ever be hungry.
The pool was nice with a jacuzzi like I have never seen before and the chairs and loungers on the lakeside beach were very comfortable.
The only downside to this hotel for us was that a member of our party is unable to walk long distances. The hotel is situated about 10-15 minutes walk from the village and is between the bus stops so we used taxis to get about. Which is not ideal.
I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daddymoonmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#28 of 68 in Sirmione
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#10 of 68 in Sirmione
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Paul
Hotel La Paul
#50 of 68 in Sirmione
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#30 of 68 in Sirmione
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#17 of 68 in Sirmione
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saviola
Hotel Saviola
#40 of 68 in Sirmione
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Via Venticinque Aprile 60, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#16 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing