We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel degli Oleandri
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and myself stayed here for one night at the start of our Italian holiday. The hotel is really well situated within the old town of beautiful Sirmione. The hotel was quiet, and the bedroom was very clean. The breakfast was very good, lots of food. There are lots of restaurants nearby so plenty of choice for eating. It is very easy to get to the hotel by public bus. Wifi in the hotel was unreliable, but, would not let this deter from staying in the hotel. The very central location is the biggest bonus here.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the hotel face the street, but, are still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairmi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlottaCichello, Proprietario at Hotel degli Oleandri, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your review. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We want to inform you that we are improving the wifi in the hotel, in order to have it also in the rooms.
Unfortunately Internet line is not good at all in Sirmione, but we may have found a solution, we are working on that! Please come back next year, it will be better.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    64
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I and 2 friends spent 2 nights at this hotel on the 29th and 30th of August 2013. It was superbly located and had everything one would need to be comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Breakfasts had a wide variety to suit everyone's needs. We are visitors from South Africa and this pleasant hotel fitted well into our budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of entrance of the hotel are better as there is less noise. We were lucky enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigetta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Pleasant three star, clean and in a brilliant location. Air conditioning very good which was needed as an average day was 32 degrees Celsius. Literally two minutes from the beach. Most of the staff very helpful although waiter in the breakfast room could have been more helpful as he watched me balance a crutch and coffeecup! There is a lift but only for one side of the building so if stairs are a problem check ahead of time so the hotel can put you on the accessible side of the building. The views from the sun terrace are fabulous. All three of us would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMcCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Unfortunately the weather was not good and the hotel was cold. Although there was a radiator in the room, it was not working and despite adding a blanket to our bed, we were still cold. No reason was provided as to why they had turned off the heating despite the cold weather.
The hotel does have some positives such as overall good level of cleanliness and a nice breakfast buffet. However the room was very basic with sad, well-worn furniture and very little comfort. There were 2 hard chairs in the room on which it was impossible to sit and read, write postcards or in anyway relax. The hotel has no lounge, garden, terrace or anywhere else to sit so basically you just go back there to sleep.
The blind in our room did not work and when I pointed this out to the reception, they just said that they were already aware of this. They also refused to take the credit card which I had used for the reservation. Their explanation was that they had to accept it on Booking.com as that was a condition for being listed on the site, but in reality they wouldn't take it.
We were there for 2 nights which was just about OK but I was very glad not to be staying there longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlottaCichello, Proprietario at Hotel degli Oleandri, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are very sorry that your experience in our hotel was disappointing. we didn't turn off the heating, it worked, there were a controller in your room, to raise the temperature. If you had asked about it we would have been very pleased to explain that you could change the temperature in your room in order to feel better.
We have two living rooms where you could stay and a terrace at the end of the corridor of your floor, if you had asked about it we would have been very pleased to show it
Sometimes when we check-in it's not possible to list all the services, or all the place in the hotel where you can stay if the weather is not good. We usually think that if a guest has a problem or a request, and if the guest communicate the needs, we could try to do our best to make your stay more comfortable.
We thank you for the positiveness you find in our hotel , it doesn't seem so in the other review you left on booking.com... I think that if you are able to express what you need you would be extremely surprised to discover how people can satisfy you. If you don't say nothing, it's very difficult for us to help you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a great time at Hotel degli Oleandri. The staff were always lovely, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the location couldn't have been better. We'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_wing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molde
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I noticed on arrival that this hotel was very clean. From reception to bedroom to balcony - all spotless. The staff always seem to be cleaning something & are quick to greet you as you pass them in the corridor or stairs.

Sirmione is a walled town on a small peninsular. Unless you venture out of the town by boat or taxi/hire car, you are pretty dependent on local shops and restaurants for all your needs. Don't expect any supermarkets because there are none. Neither are there laundries. Which brings me to the point where I have to have a little niggle at this hotel - they did not offer laundry facilities so you could wash your clothes. Ended up just throwing clothes away because the nearest facility was several Km away. Another little niggle which I find surprisingly common in hotels on my travels - there was no Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. If you wanted to use the Wi-Fi it was strictly only available in the reception area. I didn't want to use it for social networking but arranging the rest of our holiday/travels so being in public was not the best arrangement for entering credit card details etc. However, they did let us print travel tickets at no cost. Only a minor niggle, really but annoying nonetheless.

Breakfast was adequate and once you get used to having to sit where they put you and then having to use the same table every time, enjoyable. The owner soon gets to know your little preferences for breakfast (such as which tea you like and how you like it) and this personal touch is nice to receive. I have to say that on first meeting her I wasn't made to feel that welcome - but she warmed to us after a couple of days and us to her. The hotel does serve lunch and dinner. However, we didn't try this as you have to book in advance & then they give you just half an hour window in which to turn up. Much easier to eat when you want to especially if you are going on a little visit.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here but if the management or owners are reading this, they could perhaps try to be a bit more customer focused and remember that although running a tight ship is good from the management perspective, it can impact negatively on the customer.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full, ask to pick the best room. There's quite a difference in size & v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EngelskRikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were clean and attractive. The staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast had a good variety of different kinds of foods.The location was centric because it was next to the castle and the beach. However, we felt that Sirmione was overpriced in general and after spending a couple of days we were ready to explore other places. Beware that the other towns, especially in the northern part of the lake are far away by boat so it is not very convenient to take day trips to these towns, The other downside of the hotel is that we could hear the noise from the other rooms.

Room Tip: We could hear the noise from the other rooms. I am not sure what room is less noise, but you can ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pirringui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#11 of 68 in Sirmione
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flaminia Hotel
Flaminia Hotel
#21 of 68 in Sirmione
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corte Regina
Corte Regina
#9 of 68 in Sirmione
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 68 in Sirmione
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 68 in Sirmione
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ca' Serena Hotel
Ca' Serena Hotel
#13 of 68 in Sirmione
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel degli Oleandri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel degli Oleandri

Property: Hotel degli Oleandri
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 31, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel degli Oleandri 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel degli Oleandri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Oleandri Hotel
Hotel Degli Oleandri Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing