We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful b&b & good food at Sunset RistoBar”

Santa Veronica Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Maggiore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Veronica Guest House
Ranked #44 of 51 Lake Maggiore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at St. Veronica Guest House 2 nights: is a villa with a garden, 2 steps from the lake and mountain views (from far away you can see the Monte Rosa with snow even in summer); the rooms are very large, well furnished and clean, even the bathroom, which is private but outside the room, good breakfast.
Luca, the owner, is very kind and friendly, also operates the Sunset Ristobar, lakefront to enjoy the sunset: here you can enjoy delicious dishes such as ham, salami, cheese, with bread and We stayed at St. Veronica Guest House 2 nights is a villa with a garden, a stone's throw from the lake and mountain views (from far away to see the Mount Rose snow even in summer), the rooms are large, well furnished and clean even the bathroom is private but outside the room, good breakfast. Luke The owner is very kind and friendly, also operates the Sunset Ristobar lakefront to enjoy the sunset, where you can enjoy delicious dishes such as ham, salami, cheese, with bread and excellent wine cellar for an aperitif, or dishes with fishlake and other dishes the house for dinner, all was really good and tasty.
Excellent ratio quality / price. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vilmer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Santa Veronica Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

My husband, 6-year-old daughter and I happened upon this beautiful guest house after three weeks of hard travel in Italy and the outback of Morocco. We were tired, dusty, and hungry. The owner of the Santa Veronica, Luca, welcomed us and smoothed all our ruffled feathers. We spent three days there, and rejuvenated and grew fat and happy, and never wanted to leave.

The guesthouse is a beautifully restored and updated Italian villa set in an elegant garden, with views of Lago Maggiore and the Alps in the distance. Each room is enormous, clean, inviting, and well furnished. The bathrooms are immaculate, the water strong and hot, the fixtures brand new and gleaming, and the towels thick and plush. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms can be made nice and dark for una siesta.

The village of Calde is absolutely miniature, consisting of a garden and park with playground equipment, a central square, a small protected marina, and a few houses and businesses. There's no grocery store, but there is a truck that comes daily and sells meats, cheese, and veggies from the side. There are three bar/restaurants, all facing the water.

Luca, the guesthouse's owner, also owns the wine bar right on the water. Such a delightful place! There are tables inside and out, and a sheltered second area outside as well, and each place has its own charm. The locals definitely congregate here, as well as Swiss tourists from the nearby border and the lucky few others who find this hidden delight as they pass through some of the world's most beautiful landscape. The food is innovative and fresh, the wine selection incredible (and if you don't know what to order, you can rely on Luca, whose taste is pitch perfect), and the furniture comfortable. People stand at the wine bar between courses, snacking on munchies, gossiping, sharing jokes, even when they don't share any languages. We felt immediately welcome and comfortable there, although our Italian hasn't progressed much past Prego!

Luca is fluent in English, having worked in the United States for many years. He can make good recommendations about what to see in the area, and will adore your children, who can play along the marina, and in the beautiful parks in easy walking distance, while you relax at the wine bar and watch the sun set reflecting into the glorious lake as it dips behind the Alps.

Our family travels, a lot, and we are comfortable in many different kinds of places. But even the most picky and discriminating traveler will love this place.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank Caprietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tgdshht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Wilco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pokahontas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: heel geschikt voor rustige vakantie / weekendje weg
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vakantieganger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Da preferire le stanze lontane dal bagno comune a causa delle porte rumorose che sono sbattute conti...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essebi983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Maggiore hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel Del Pesce
Hotel Del Pesce
#3 of 3 in Luino
56 reviews
5.2 mi away
Camin Hotel Luino
Camin Hotel Luino
#2 of 3 in Luino
106 reviews
3.1 mi away
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
#3 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
196 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Camin Colmegna
1.8 mi away
Glicine
Glicine
#1 of 1 in Porto Valtravaglia
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Veronica Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Veronica Guest House

Address: via Monfalcone, 7 | Calde di Castelveccana, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Maggiore
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing