We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property”
Review of Locanda Nelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Nelia
Ranked #6 of 13 Baveno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great attention to detail in our room which was spacious and comfortable. Our host was excellent and helpful. Close to beach and ferry. If you are driving and using a GPS be careful not to attempt to drive right to the hotel - the street is restricted to local residents and very narrow. We suggest parking on the main street near the main piazza and getting directions from the hotel about where to park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph_6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Locanda Nelia for a week in mid-September - and I find myself struggling (for once!) to actually write anything different or original when compared to previous reviewers!

All I can say is: STAY THERE - YOU WON'T REGRET IT FOR ONE MOMENT!

Baveno itself is a lovely little town on Maggiore's shore - and Locanda Nelia is a real gem of a B&B. Overlooking the piazza alongside the town hall, staying there gives you the best of all worlds. You're only about 100 yards from the boat station, making it simplicity itself to get around the Lake. Likewise, the bus stop is only 50 yards away, making it easy to get around easily and cheaply by road, too. The B&B is quiet even though it's so close to a major road, so you're assured some peaceful nights after long sightseeing days.

We stayed in the 'Metallo' room: and it simply cannot be faulted. Lovely room, comfortable bed, views of the lake, spotless and modern bathroom.....

It's been said elsewhere that Barbara is a gem: believe it! Effervescent personality; helpful; friendly - just what every traveller needs.

Locanda Nelia is a real family business - between them the family have been running it since the 1960's and they make for a very impressive team. They own the rather brilliant Ristorante Posta on the ground floor of the same building - and the high standards they apply to the accommodation feeds through into the restaurant also. Excellent food at reasonable prices (for this part of Italy) and a relaxed and informal mood prevails - a great place to wind down at the end of the day.

Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat........

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This B&B is in the centre of Baveno (itself a beaufiful town) and very close to the Lake. But it´s very quiet at the same time. Our room (Camera Terra) was clean and very nice. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondrej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a 6 night stay in Baveno having chosen to stay at Locanda Nelia based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Our lovely room (Metallo) had a view of the lake, was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Barbara was friendly and helpful and the food at the Ristorante Posta below the hotel was wonderful. I am very happy to recommend Locanda Nelia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

From the time we drove into the town of Baveno, we knew we had selected the correct spot for us. An easy trip north from Malpensa Airport, Lake Maggiore is a beautiful alpine area. The road thru B runs along the side of the lake. Locanda Nelia is located on one side of the small central square (drop off parking only) in front of the town hall (building with 3 flags on it). The 5 room B&B is located atop the Posta Restaurant and is owned by the same wonderful family. Barbara, the effervescent hostess, will greet you and make you feel fully at home. Her English is near perfect and she can answer almost any question for you. The office has limited hours so pre-arrange an arrival time.

Our room is Terra, located on the 3rd floor, easy walk up from the back street. Parking is limited and often involves some patience. we were always able to park in back of the town hall in a small square where the grocery store is located... Note: many of the spaces are reserved for the grocery store. Ask Barbara.

The room is large with a king/queen bed and a double futon couch, a small table and 2 chairs, a large wardrobe and one 3 drawer dresser, all a la IKEA. The bathroom is large with a decent shower, only, all with good water pressure and plenty of hot water.

On the 2nd floor there is a breakfast room/kitchenette with a number of chairs and tables, a vending machine, a small college style fridge, a dishwasher and sink, plus microwave. it is open at all times.

After a 4+ hour drive around the lake we cannot think of another town we would rather stay in. The boat dock is a 2 minute walk away and there are a number of restaurants locally, plus the grocery shop with an excellent deli.

The Posta Restaurant is excellent. Tonight will be our 4th dinner there. Barbara is there nightly... Closed Thursdays. FYI, they do not have pizza.
Last night we had a beef dinner for 2 with sweet balsamic sauce---DON'T MISS IT.
Their house white is an excellent slightly effervescent wine--we loved it. even good with the beef. can't vouch for the house red but i am sure it is excellent too.

We would not miss a chance to stay here again... GO BARBARA!!!

Room Tip: i think the 2 rooms on 3 are the largest. we did not see the 3 rooms on 2. This is an excellent p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Locanda Nelia is a beautifully run, clean and modern room inn with everything thoughtfully considered. It is above the restaurant La Poste, owned by the same family and worth a trip to Baveno. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We loved Terra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2200mainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just spent four days at Locanda Nelia and have only great comments to give. Let's start with Barbara, the owner, who immediately made us feel very welcome and was extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Our romm (Terra) was brilliant: nice decoration, very clean, comfy bed, lots of space and storing and great views on the Piazza. The breakfast, although simple, was absolutely fine. The B&B is located in a Baveno which is a great position to explore the lake and the surroundings. Finally I would also very warmly recomment La Posta (owned by the same family), the restaurant located underneath the B&B which provided excellent food at very reasonnable prices and again with a fantastic welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baveno hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Il Feriolo
Il Feriolo
#1 of 1 in Feriolo
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
481 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Residence Dei Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Nelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Nelia

Address: Via Venticinque Aprile 2, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baveno
Price Range: £60 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Nelia is the perfect starting point for a romantic escape on Lake Maggiore. Our Guest House is located in the principal square of Baveno, 50 mt far from the Lake. 5 different rooms named Metallo, Acqua, Fuoco, Terra, Aria in an ancient building, each with private bathroom and a lot of conforts such as air condition, LCD sat tv, safe box, hairdryer, Internet connection (LAN), small lake view. Locanda Nelia is near the train station of Baveno, exit of the Motorway A26 is 1 km far, Malpensa Airport is 40 minutes by car or by shuttle bus. Visit us! You will feel like at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Nelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Nelia Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing