We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! An amazing dinner.”
Review of Ristorante Amelie

Ristorante Amelie
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Dear Guests,the starting idea of this restaurant embodies one of the themes from the popular movie Amelie (Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain) directed by Jean Pierre Jeunet in 2001, that is to keep a curious eye on the world and take pleasure in the simple things ... we tried to carry this idea through in the meals, offering a mixture of flavors, fragrances and also feelings to free the spirit ... and ...fly ...The restaurant Amelie is a place where you can taste good food and learn small tricks for your own well-being . The first of which being a return to simplicity, that to Paolo (Chef Patron) and Miky (Naturopath) means in first place to live according to the pace of the seasons. This simple and primary secret is translated in the seasonal menu based on the ingredients that Nature offers us only in their own season. For this reason the courses will vary according to season availability.Amelie wants to make people aware that we are what we eat.Paolo, who is rational, calculating and practical and Miky, who is instinctive, ethereal and sentimental , want to share their views so that you can share yourselves with many more people the pleasures of good eating and well-being on your own and with others.That's why for example we use pure oils, essences of flowers and leaves, and fruits and berries in the environment and in the food.At the end of the meal, if you want you can learn more about our choice of products and oils, at that time of the year, and can smell the essence used, and maybe make it your own.Paolo and Miky wish you all to have a good time.WELCOME ... in Amelie wonderland!
Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow! An amazing dinner.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The restaurant is a bit hidden from the crowd of this region, but if you discover it, you will find true taste and imaginative food.
The owners try to give an history to their restaurant and to their food, by offering you true and natural taste, that is something not so common nowadays in non-starred restaurant. They pay much attention to the associations of food with herbs from Italy (origan, thymian, roots, ...).
You will taste homemade bread that mixes different flavors (olive bread, peel potatos, thymian bread, ...) to give a feeling of the rest.
The appetizers and main dishes are very well presented, and with new mix of flavors that make you discover an other part of Italy.
In general, everything was very tasty and fresh. The services was excellent: not aggressive, just in the right time.
The chocolate mousse is to fall for it.
They offer you some mignardises at the end, that gives a nice ending.
The prices are more expensive than average (60€/p. appetizers to desserts, including drinks), but it is worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    75
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small - Personal Attention - Imaginative Fine Food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Only eight tables (reservation highly recommended) and there is one very attentive waiter and Miky who oversees all. The Chef, Paolo, came out twice to assure that all was well. It was good to know all three wanted everyone to be pleased.

There were about five appetizers, three primi di pasta, two risotto, and four segundo. Our guest and I each chose a different pasta to start and they were excellent. My wife started with the appetizer Dutch veal topside mi cuit gently cooked in vakuum, tuna mousse, red pepper jam and caper flowers. This appeared to be souve veal tonnato and was a meal in itself for my wife who does not consume mass quantities. We had never seen veal prepared this way and there was nearly as much veal, so beautifully cooked through by the souve, as the beef we had as the secundo.

And the selection of fresh breads made by them was another highlight of the meal. Each was unique. As were the beginning apertivo, not Proseco, but a preparation of their own, their own licorice after dinner drink, and the other goodies they provided at the close of the meal. The wine list was ample and our guest and good friend Senora Rosaria Bolla, proprietor of Enoteca La Cambusa in Stresa (for the last thirty years), found it to be reasonably priced with a good selection. This wonderful little restaurant is hard to find, and Rosaria provided advice for correcting this, she cannot help herself, and invited these hard working and highly skilled and proud young people to La Cambusa to share a bottle and experiences.

We see that our favorite restaurant Al Camino Lesa is a friend on Facebook with Amelie so this confirms they are good and gracious. We will return when we want another restful slow food experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than a dinner, a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After a busy day around Baveno and the islands, what better way to relax in the evening than to make by foot the trip to Amelie, in Oltrefiume? The place, situated in an enchanting village, offers a number of unique, delicate and wonderfully balanced meals. Regional food and wines, excellent service and ambiance, good prices. If going in high season you might want to call in advance, they only have a few tables. You'll surely be delighted!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Culinary Delight”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to "Amelie" for no other reason other than it is the name of our grand daughter and really had no idea what was in store. Just lovely! All sorts of little surprises were served in between courses and we enjoyed every one. We also enjoyed the ambiance; small and intimate. The staff were discreet with the right measure of attentiveness, We'd wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stunning”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

absolutely stunning gem hidden in this cute village. gorgeous food and beautiful athmorphere. the owners were serving the food and it was so personal and made the whole experience way beyond just going out for a meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bjonsdottir73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Amelie also viewed

 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 
Baveno, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Ristorante Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing