We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but watch your money disappear”
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights a little before the high season in this spectacular location. There is a lot to recommend it in terms of physical features, services, the ability to cope with breakfast for very large numbers and so on. However, given the price range, some things were just mean. Wifi for example is free for the first 2 hours only and you can't open the mini-bar without paying a €10 fee. Breakfast

Room Tip: if you get the choice ask for a lake side view. inevitably, some rooms overlook the car park or Kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iainby4sChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Grand Hotel Dino is wonderfully located right on Lake Maggiore in Baveno, Italy with a balcony view of the lake and within easy walking distance of the primary boat dock. The lobby is elegant and spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room was lovely with cloth wall coverings and a marble floor in the bathroom. It was very small,however, and the two of us couldn't walk between the bed and the wall at the same time. There were a few other annoyances: wifi was not free and, once paid for, could be used by only one device at a time; the air conditioning was not on yet for the summer so we had to keep the balcony door open for air circulation, letting in noise and mosquitoes. The property is large and hosts conventions and special events so a cozy feel is not part of the experience. Our time in the lake view bar was shared with reps from Suzuki Marine and our balcony overlooked a wedding reception in the late afternoon. It is also quite expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in April, 2014
Pro:
1. Great view
2. On the water front, right next to the ferry pier.
3. Beautiful garden and grounds. Great spa amenities.
4. Excellent breakfast buffet.
Con:
1. WiFi not free.
2. No Kleenex box.
3. Magnetic room key finicky.
4. Interior design/decoration of public areas is of a bygone era. Nostalgic.
Overall, my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkhc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel gets its charm fro it location and amazing view. When you arrive the first thing you see is the old mama, wearing all kind of jewelry sitting behing the reception's counter, she is the boss and gives orders to the whole staff. The main building is very old and the room need to be remodeled. The food served by the restaurant is very disappointing that I had to eat ouside everyday.
The main positive aspect is tyhe view, but I'm sure you could get the same view next door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonGuillermoDelSalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel has a really great location: directly on Lago Maggiore shore, in the centre of old part of Baveno, next door to the city boat station.

Initially we booked for our trip Senior Suite in Spendid Hotel, but due to some technical problems our reservation was transferred to Grand Hotel Dino, which belongs to the same local hotel chain Zacchera. The location of Dino is better, but Spendid is more quiet and calm.

Our classic style Room was wonderful and consisted of two bedrooms, a living room with big dining table and 6 chairs around it, two bathrooms decorated with marble and equipped with a Jacuzzi and a spacious terrace with stunning view on Lago Maggiore Lake and the Borromean Islands. Service in this hotel was perfect and our bathrobes and sleepers were changed almost every day.

Breakfast wasn’t a strong point of this hotel. The restaurant was divided into two premises, the smaller one served to such private guests as we were, and the bigger one was for organized groups. As result, queues near the entrance to the restaurant and in front of buffets with food were common at the breakfast time. We partially solved this problem by asking at the reception to book a table in advance. The variety of cakes at the breakfast was even more than sufficient, but choice of hot snacks could have been better.

The big benefits of Grand Hotel Dino are the large outdoor and indoor pools with two Jacuzzi bathes. But working time from 8.00 until 20.00 isn’t very convenient for early risers who wish to swim before breakfast.

A agree with those reviewers who complained about chargeable Wi Fi at the hotel. It’s really annoying to pay 5 Eur per one hour internet connection, or 20 Eur per 10 hours, especially if you stay at the hotel for a week. I consider that in our days free Wi Fi for quests is must have service in a 4 star hotel.

As I can judge, Grand Hotel Dino is under strict supervision and control by the owners. Every day you can see members of Zacchera family, who are working hard at the reception and at the territory of the hotel from early morning till late evening. I do respect such a way of doing business, and I hope that some nonessential drawbacks of this really great hotel will be fixed soon.

I would definitely recommend Grand Hotel Dino for travelers, who want to enjoy breathtaking views from their room, to explore Lago Maggiore sights, to have ability for swimming in a pool and to get excellent service at the same time.

Room Tip: It's advisable to book rooms with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Any stay at Lake Maggiore is likely to be wonderful and the view from this hotel is majestic. However it is a very large hotel which appears to cater well for corporates and events. The rooms are a bit dated. The air conditioning isn't running and our immediate neighbour decided to use their windowsill to hold the ashtray they were using! Breakfast was good but the welcome meal for our small tour party was far from "authentic Italian",

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longdistancetravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were in Italy for a wedding and decided to stay a few days in the northern Italy lakes area. We chose the Grand Hotel Dino as our base. The service was great and the hotel itself was beautiful. Lake Maggiore was amazing and we were able to visit Stresa with a short taxi ride. We would definitely return to Hotel Dino in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our room was in the first part of the hotel. Rooms smaller, but more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcraggcruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
518 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
2.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,429 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: £93 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing