We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Option in Baveno” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Best Option in Baveno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed at both the Hotel (NOT) Splendid and the Grand Dino during a recent stay. Grand Dino is a much better option...better location,. better beach, better orientation on the lake, better amenities. The quality is there and the service rated higher than Splendid. I am at a loss to explain why travelers have rated Splendid higher. They are managed by the same group so some of the features are similar...furniture, ambiance etc.

Internet was much more reliable and faster at Grand Dino. Rooms were small but nice.

Food needed improvement...the fish was a cross between a rubber tire and a rubber tire LOL

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    415
    109
    48
    15
See reviews for
220
404
27
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
186 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great hotel, large rooms, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, outstanding breakfast buffet, good value for money. But why on earth do they have this stupid WIFI charge (10 euros per night and per device). Really why not have a higher rate for the room (they are rather cheap for the category of the hotel) and free WIFI. And also, WIFI only good in lobby, in rooms very weak. Too bad because all the rest is top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beat0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Classy place. Beautiful grounds. Terrific views of lake. Clean, decent-sized rooms. Lots going on here: Weddings, tour groups, parties, etc. Good breakfasts. Nice bar area. Walking distance to town. Suggestion: Front desk staff could be a bit friendlier. I don't think I saw any of them smile even once.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view. The lake is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dleg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

It’s difficult to describe this hotel and the holiday we spent there. On the one hand it was grim and on the other okay.

The okay bit is that the hotel has a fantastic location and our room, which looked directly onto the lake, gave us a grandstand view of the scenery. Furthermore the room was air-conditioned and comfortable enough albeit a little old-fashioned in its furnishing and decor. In addition the breakfasts could be taken on a wide shady terrace, again overlooking the lake, so each day started in great comfort. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and provided lots of choice. So 10 out of 10 for bed and breakfast. I had the misfortune to be unwell for a large part of our stay and the hotel reception staff were obliging and helpful when we asked for assistance.

As to the downsides, we arrived on a hot afternoon after dragging our cases down from the station. Our reception was curt and bordered on the rude. There was an older woman sitting at the reception desk doing office work. We said good afternoon to her and without lifting her head she responded and went on with her work. Finally another receptionist dealt with us but there was no warm welcome, no asking us about our journey, no offering help with cases and no wish for us to enjoy our stay. So it all felt very functional and rather like being admitted to a hospital - but perhaps without the personal warmth.

During our stay the hotel was host to innumerable large corporate events and at least two or three weddings. These definitely took priority over the needs of private guests of the hotel. For example, breakfast for private guests was offered on successive mornings in different breakfast rooms, depending on the number and size of the corporate events on offer. We had to walk along the line of rooms to see which one we’d been allocated each day. On one occasion the breakfast room we were directed to was furnished with large circular tables each laid for 12 guests. The only smaller tables for two or four were on the terrace. We were lucky to be able to get a seat on the terrace but, had we not been, we would have been obliged to sit at a table for 12 in order to eat a breakfast. This didn't seem terribly well thought out and seemed a bit more like a student refectory rather than a four star hotel.

On the morning of our departure the discharge procedure was accomplished in a businesslike way but again without any personal engagement or warmth. We had asked reception to book us a taxi and on checking out, we reminded the receptionist of this and pointed out where we were sitting whilst waiting for the taxi. When the time of our pickup had gone past we asked the receptionist about the taxi and she asked us why we were not waiting outside the hotel for it. I was tempted to reply, 'I would have been had I been a mind reader,’ but then I remembered that she had been helpful to me when I was unwell so buttoned it. But it was somehow symptomatic of the whole operation. No joined up thinking, no warmth and no recognition that we might exercise a choice not to stay there again.

In summary I would say that whilst the hotel was comfortable enough it was more a better class bed factory than a luxury hotel. It didn't provide me, as a private guest, with a personal enough service and I certainly won't be visiting it again. Nor would I recommend any other individual travellers to do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here recently during a Go Tours walking trip. The hotel and rooms are immaculate and well-manicured. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful with just a couple of exceptions. It is worth it to upgrade to a lakeside room as the views are beautiful. When they have weddings, it appears it is a tradition to put fireworks off from the lake. There were two weddings (a Wednesday and Saturday) during our stay, and after our first night of arrival, we were quite tired but were awakened by the sudden sound of the firework shots which quickly awoke us. On Saturday night, it happened again. By then, we weren't quite as tired and enjoyed the show from our balcony.
Breakfast in the dining room comes with the room and is quite large and of good quality. They even had a fresh orange juice machine where guests place whole oranges inside to make pitchers of fresh juice. We noticed many people enjoying the on-site pool, however we didn't get to visit.
Front desk staff was generally helpful and courteous.
Ferry service to the nearby islands is located right behind the hotel as well, which makes it quite convenient and easy to transfer to the islands.
Of special note, I left some items in my safe and our tour director arranged through the hotel to have them sent to our next location within two day. The items were promptly received and everything was returned and packaged expertly by the shipping service. Even though there was a $50 charge for this, it was well worth it to have the items returned.
There were some frustrations during our stay that didn't enable me to give 5*. The first is the air-conditioning in our first 4th floor room didn't work well and our room was really warm. The front rooms also receive the afternoon sun and it didn't cool down even with A/C turned up high. Later that day, we asked to view a lake view room which had significantly better A/C and was much cooler, so we upgraded (for $35/night) to a 3rd floor room.
The bathtub/showers are high, narrow and slippery. Anyone slightly overweight (which I'm not), might have trouble fitting inside. We had to be careful getting in and out and getting under the shower head that we didn't fall.
The in-room hair dryers are pretty bad. Unless you have a hair dryer with the correct plug, you cannot take or use your home hair dryer. If you rely on a good hair dryer, be prepared to have some bad hair days if you use the hotel's unit. The power of the in-hotel hair dryers is just awful. I avoided washing my hair as much as possible.
The internet service is also frustrating. You cannot sign up for the "free" wifi until after 9-10pm the night of arrival. Even at that, guests are only given 2 hours of free internet and staying connected is spotty. If you have 2 people on 2 devices, it will go fast. Not only that, they fail to tell you that you must actually disconnect the wifi on your device. Simply closing the browser window will NOT disconnect you. I found this out the hard way. After using the two hours, there is a charge to get more wifi hours. Lastly, to get the two hours of wifi, you must complete a hotel questionnaire which if it is your first night there, you really can't adequately answer the questions. It just seemed like a tacky situation to me - free wifi if you answer our questionnaire--for a high quality hotel.
Nevertheless, it is a high quality, classy and luxury hotel. I would definitely stay here again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room for great views and a cooler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huggrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at this fine hotel. My friend and I lucked out in 2 ways. Originally we were scheduled for a different hotel on our tour but we ended up at the Dino. We also ended up with an end suite that consisted of 2 really nice rooms and a huge bathroom. Breakfast was very good but the hotel staff seemed to forget about us for the second day since we had no assigned area. Our tour director, Alberto, just took over and led us in to have breakfast while the staff rushed to set up more tables. IMHO the staff also seemed a little snooty. Nevertheless I do not hesitate to recommend the Dino.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the end rooms that to me are like a suite since we had 2 rooms and a huge bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lytnnng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The lake area here in Northern Italy is super fantastic. Lake Garda over 30 miles long is Italy's largest lake. Its shoreline of Lake Garda takes you into Lake Maggiore where the breathtaking views keep you wondering why more people dont stay in this region. The hotel itself and the grounds are well manicured and in great shape. The room we stayed in was quite comfortable and the television had multiple stations from which to chose from including stations that were in the English language. The large ballroom served as a wonderful place to have breakfast and meals and enjoy the views of the lake. The facilities within the hotel were in great condition. Great venue for a wedding or big family reunion event. The only caveat here but no biggie is internet use. You must wait until five hours after your arrival to get free access or you can pay a good fee in Euros up front and have free access immediately. The five hour system is computerized and sometimes you don't get on at the specified time...Enjoy this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony view that faces the lake! Some of the rooms on the 5th floor do not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneTraveling0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Property: Grand Hotel Dino
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing