We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great! highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife, my 1.5 years old daughter and myself were 5 nights at this wonderful hotel.
1. Great breakfast
2. Fast room service when hot water was needed
3. Bathtub was in the room, great for the daughter's shower
4. Has a tunnel connecting between the Grand Hotel Dino which offers an indoor swimming pool and a children playground
5. Great location

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kampana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Simplon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

I absolutely loved my stay at the Simplon Hotel in Baveno. Everything was perfect.

The room was gorgeous - we had a standard room but we still got a balcony, which faced the gardens. The decoration in the room was lovely and the room was spacious. The bathroom was also large and well decoarted. The room was so lovely, I can only imagine how fantastic the larger rooms with lake views are!

The food was INCREDIBLE. The best I've ever had at a hotel. We stayed half board and I'm glad we did - the range and quality of food was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious - wide range of cold meats, cheese, breads; hot choice of bacon, sausages and eggs; loads of delicious pastries. And freshly sqeezed orange juice and your choice of tea or coffee brought to your table. Extraordinary breakfast! And the dinner was truly amazing and wonderful. You start with an antipasti buffet - lots of choice and it changes every night. Lots of meats, fish and other wonderful canapes. Then you have a wonderful pasta course - you have a choice of 4 different, cooked to order dishes every night. All of them were delicious and in the 11 nights we stayed I had a different pasta every night - great variety! Then you have another choice of main courses - lots of meat or fish options - all cooked to order again. All accompanied with lovely potatoes and vegetables. Absolutely delicious! Then you can tuck in to the cheese board - lots of wonderful local cheeses. Incredible! Then you finish off the dining experience with a wonderful dessert buffet - again lots of high quality choice. The food was all thoroughly wonderful. I can't rate it high enough!

The staff were also fantastic - very helpful and efficient at reception. And the waiters in the restaurant were brilliant. They were very friendly, fun, chatty and professional. For example, they remembered what hot drinks we liked to have with brekafast and they upgraded out table to one at the front with the best views. You get the same table for your whole stay and I asked if I could have a table with a view, which I think are saved for people who pay for the more expensive rooms, but the waiters were pleased to give us one of the nicest tables - it pays to ask! I can't speak highly enough of the waiters at the Simplon - absolutely wonderful!

The hotel pool was lovely - you can use the ones at the Hotel Dino (which is connected through an art gallery tunnel). I prefer the Simplon pool though - it's nicer and not as busy as the Dino.

The location of the hotel is good - right by a supermarket where you can buy some inexpensive, but good quality wine from. The cheapest bottle of wine at the hotel is 19 euors, which isn't awful, but it certainly stacks up if you share a bottle of wine a night. It's worth buying some wine from the supermarket, and also some water.

The town of Baveno is small but it very charming. It has some good pizzerias where we often went for lunch. And the little square in the centre of the town has lots of live music events and night markets. There's also a lovely little ice cream shop on the walk from the hotel into the centre of Baveno.

The hotel is also a good base to explore the local area - it's near the ferry terminal where you can visit the 3 charming islands on Lake Maggiore. The bus to Stresa is cheap and efficient. And although we took a coach tour to Milan, other people told us that the train from Baveno to Milan was good. You can also visit Lake Como and other nearby towns and take a cable car to the top of the mountain. A perfect location for activity and relaxation.

I loved every minute of my stay in the Simplon Hotel and will deffinitely return. I might even check out some prices for next year now...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - it's quiter and has better views.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KateLondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

From the time we entered the hotel to the time we left we were treated brilliantly by the staff and made to feel welcome.
The hotel was very well maintained with lovely rooms, stayed in 152,brother in 154) the rooms were at front of hotel on a fairly busy road but heard no noise due to excellent double glazed windows,room was spacious,by modern day standards, with very comfortable bed and lovely pillows.Bathroom good with shower over bath,bidet toilet and wash hand basin,plenty of hot water and towels large and luxurious.
All areas kept very clean and tidy including bar,lounge toilets and reception.
Food to die for, breakfast help yourself buffet and dinner of 4 courses, all of excellent quality and choice.
We were on a half board package.
There seems to be plenty of car parking for those driving.
The only down side is the cost of drinks in the hotel,first night bought drinks in bar 2 x 0.4 litre beer,a tea and Fanta Orange 24.50 Euro and 0.75 litre water at dinner 4 Euro. So didn't drink in bar again in village same drinks 11 Euro.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sol1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Part of our group of bridge players spent 10 days at the Simplon this July. Whilst our courses and tournaments were hosted at Zacchera's flagship, the Grand Hotel Dino next door, some of us chose to stay at the smaller and more intimate Simplon.
At the Simplon the single rooms are real singles, so a bit on the small side, but the standard of all rooms as far as equipment, furniture, amenities and decoration are concerned is at the level of all Zacchera hotels, i.e. impressively high. That, incidentally, means, we got good value for your money. Furthermore we were treated to the superb, warm hearted, competent and caring hospitality of Signora Elena and her team at the reception. In no time, they and all the other members of the staff make you feel welcome - like a member of the family.
The Dining room with its lovely view of the pool and the park, the high quality and presentation of the breakfast buffet also deserves highest marks. When the weather turned sour on a couple of occasions, we were glad to use the subterranean passage to the Dino in form of an art gallery skillfully displaying reproductions of Van Gogh, Cézanne, Renoir, Degas, Monet, Picasso, you name them... So, we're really looking forward to next summer's bridge holidays c/o Simplon and Dino in Baveno.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niki88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were shown to our 4th floor room by a very friendly receptionist,we had a large room with a sitting area downstairs and a HUGE bedroom area upstairs-there was also ample storage space in the side of the stairs,the bathroom was lovely with a double sink,bath/shower and bidet.the room was cleaneed everyday and we even had sweets and chocolate on our pillows of an evening!! :)

The food in the restaurant was amazing lots of choice and something for everyone -the staff were nice and friendly also.

The swimming pool was well maintained with plenty of sun-loungers :)

Baveno is a lovely quite town with a few bars,restaurants and cafes

I would recommend taking a ferry to Isla Bella and Isla Pescatorie 2 very small but scenic islands

Overall i would give the hotel 100%!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor with a lake veiw!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank unicornqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We loved this hotel. We went half board and the food was great as were the staff & room.
OK it's not on the lake front but we knew that.
We couldn't fault anything.
We booked a package through Thomson. Transfers all very smooth and friendly reps.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denisA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Very nice Hotel.in a beatiful garden and swiming pool.
Food is tasty.and the staff in the reception and restaurant was very friendly and helpful.
The internet per hour is expensive, but buying the 10 hour deal makes it cheap.
Be aware of the fourth floor if you have mobility problems. The rooms divided to 2 levels with stairs. Problem to elderly folks.
In the TV lots of foreign stations in many languages.
The hotel is connectad by a long underground art gallery/corridor, with copies of many Impressionist and post-Impressionist paintings. The gallery ends at the 5 star sister hotel Dino, which shares some of the services with Hotel Simplon, and lockated on the lake shore, by the promanade.
The location is by the main road, but the windows are double glazed, and could not hear any noise.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GaiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#10 of 35 in Stresa
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
2.5 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: £90 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing