We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings for Hotel Simplon”
Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings for Hotel Simplon”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Hotel Simplon. We travelled as a family, with two boys aged 12 and 15. Have mixed feelings about this hotel, some things were good, some not so good.
Hotel was clean, bedrooms spotless ,though beds were very hard and those rooms facing the road are noisy. Staff friendly and helpful, especially Head Waiter and all staff in the dining room.
However, we felt this was not a hotel for families with children. We had problems with the food, there was very little that the kids would eat, even though the food was very good, but there was not a great choice for children. After the second night, we asked the reception if the children could have something different and once this was requested the boys then had pizza , chips, chicken and ice cream, (thank you so much Francesco !!) but a children's menu should be provided as well as the main menu. There were very few families with children at this hotel, even in the evening the bars were deserted, might have been something to do with the prices - 8 euros for a pint of beer , a little bit too expensive for us and obviously other people agreed, saw very few people in the hotel in the evening. Our biggest "gripe" though was the pool - it was absolutely freezing, we only went in it one day and lasted 20 minutes , it was too cold to enjoy it and we spent all our "pool time" at the Hotel Dino where they had a heated indoor pool.
Pool and table tennis were free of charge which was good.
Trips - we booked the trip to Zermatt, which was a really good day and we visited Stresa and the Islands - all good, though the ferry was a little bit expensive, but all the ferries ran every 20 minutes or so, so it was a good way to get about.
Would we stay in this hotel again ? - probably not. Would not stay here with the children as there just wasn't enough to do and even if we were travelling as a couple, think it was just too quiet and lacked atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not facing the road. Rooms can be very noisy on this side. our first nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KimA239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    129
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
102
231
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Water Orton
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a lovely few days in this hotel with a lovely relaxing pool area and linked to a bigger hotel next to the lake. Staff were really good and the attention to detail and cleanliness were as good as anywhere we have stayed. Would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are great especially overlooking the pool and the higher the better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touringparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a 10-night stay in the Simplon, which helped provide us with a really relaxing holiday. We relied on Tripadvisor reviews when choosing our holiday hotel and were not disappointed in any way. It was a pleasure to take breakfast and evening meals at the hotel, the food being of excellent quality throughout our stay. Although we stayed in peak holiday season, we were able to take full advantage of the swimming pool, as there were always times when either we were the only swimmers using it, or only a few others were in the pool. All of the favourable reviews proved accurate, as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After a nightmare first day we arrived late at night to getter worst room in the hotel right on busy main road. This was issue due to booking company though and the following day the staff could not have done more to help us. Room changed first thing in the morning - staff bent over backwards. Lovely swimming pool, immaculate grounds, lobby, restaurant and rooms. A great breakfast spread but bar is best expensive. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was my second trip, and it was just as good as before. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. The corridor leading to The Grand Hotel Dino is elegant to walk along and gives you the advantage of sharing the amenities of anotherwonderful hotel. The Simplon is quieter to dine in and very relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor facing the pool and not the road are the best. Great views from 3rd floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was my second visit to the Hotel Simplon on Lake Maggiore. I first came two years ago and I was delighted to find that the hotel was just as perfect on my second visit. Where do I start? All of the staff are wonderful - the receptionists, the waiters and waitresses, the handyman, everyone! They all give exceptional service, friendliness and professionalism. I've never known better service in any other hotel.

The food is incredible. I've never had better food in a hotel. I stayed half board and enjoyed every single meal. The breakfasts were lovely with pastries, cakes, fruits, cereals, cooked food and cold meats and hams. Faultless. The dinners are out of this world. The starter buffet changes every day and each time the spread and selection of food is delicious and fresh. The pasta course is freshly cooked to order with several different choices each day. The meat/fish course is again freshly cooked to order with different choices every day. The only problem is deciding which delicious option to choose. The cheese course is lovely with a selection of local and delicious cheeses. The dessert buffet changes every day too and offers wonderful and beautifully presented options. Every day we looked forward to the delicious menu on offer. A real highlight of the trip.

The hotel itself is very well kept. The gardens are lovely and the swimming pool is just delightful. It's a salt water pool too so you don't feel drenched in chlorine or chemicals after a swim. The rooms are lovely and have different artwork in each one. My partner and I had a small balcony with a bit of a view of the lake - which we hadn't expected or paid for, so that was a real bonus. My parents paid for a lake view ands it was lovely. The only thing I'd say is that the 3rd and 4th floors would have even better views as the second floor view was just a touch obscured by the restaurant roof. Not a problem though. The view was still spectacular.

The location of the hotel is good. It's a few minutes walk into the centre of the sweet town of Baveno. You can also walk through the Dino Hotel art gallery which is a bit of fun. My father has mobility issues and found the walk into Baveno a little difficult as the pavement is a little uneven. Although he said that he wouldn't have changed hotels for the world.

The town of Baveno has a night market every Tuesday which is worth a visit. The ferry service to the islands is also excellent. You can also get buses to Stresa which are very good. We tried to get a bus to Lake Orta but the small bus was full so we couldn't go. The next bus was a few hours off, so we sadly missed the trip. I'd recommend going there on an organised trip instead. Also, go to Milam for the day either on an organised trip or on the train. Well worth a visit - especially for La Scala and the rooftop walk on the Cathedral.

I hope to return to the Hotel Simplon again one day. Very happy memories of both visits. This hotel is really perfection.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor - third or fourth - to get a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KateLondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My partner and I just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel. It was her birthday and the hotel gave us an upgrade to a lake view room which we really appreciated. It was on the 3rd floor, 344 and had a nice balcony and also looked out over the grounds and pool area which are also lovely.
The room wasn't a bad size and was nicely furnished and decorated in a traditional style. The bed was firm but we slept ok. No bath, but a decent shower.

We stayed half board and really enjoyed the food. The dining room is very nice with big windows overlooking the gardens to the rear. The service was excellent. We had a problem with a fuse blowing in the room, and this was sorted out immediately All the staff we found to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is also linked to a sister hotel through a long tunnel and you could use the facilities here as well.

The hotel is a fairly short walk to the lakeside where you can catch ferries. We visited the Borromean islands from here and they are beautiful and well worth a visit.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we return to Baveno.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
490 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 35 in Stresa
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,349 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
2.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Property: Hotel Simplon
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing