We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just hot back from 2 glorious weeks at the Simplon ,I chose this hotel because of the reviews on TA ,last time we visited the area we stayed in Sressa which is much bigger town than Baveno . My sister who came with us is
Gluten Intolerant ,they catered for her magnificently ! rolls were always available and at breakfast toast was produced almost as soon as she sat down. At the evening meal the waiter would explain which dishes were suitable or could be modified and often special dishes were made for her,we have never had such excellent service.
Bedrooms are not large but adequate there is plenty of room in lounges and bar area. The gardens are delightful always a shady spot to be found in the hottest weather. Pool towels are changed as frequently as you require .
There is a covered gallery connecting the Simplon to the Dino Hotel if you stay here you must go through it it is delight with all the paintings . The Dino has a heated indoor pool which can be used by Simplon guests ,this is accessed through the gallery . We cannot praise this hotel too highly staff are helpful and knowledgable and the food is seriously first class.

Room Tip: We were in room 212 which had a small balcony on the front we were not bothered by road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleABedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our holiday was great, only spoiled by the weather, which was rather disappointing, although it was always warm.

The reception staff could not have been any more friendly & helpful at all times. They were even apologising for the inclement weather!

The restaurant staff were also amazing, especially with their silver service. The food was absolutely wonderful every evening. All expertly cooked to perfection. We never managed all 5 courses! However we would have preferred a coffee to finish off the meal. The bar prices were far too expensive, which was a shame as the decor in the entire lounge & bar area was lovely.

The bedroom staff were also very pleasant & were happy to accommodate our needs. The only downside in our lovely room was the lack of storage space.

Our fellow guests were all very friendly & we compared notes, after our days' adventures.

We liked the whole area around Baveno, enjoying visiting all the beautiful gardens & islands.

The weather was gorgeous one day, so we braved the cable car ride & the chair lift to "Mottarone". The vista from the top of the mountain was spectacular. We could see for miles, as there was no mist!

We met lots of friendly, interesting people in the hotel & on our travels on the boats & the buses.

One of our highlights was a real italian ( gelato!) ice-cream cone, choosing different flavours everyday.

Do try to manage a few italian words, as this is appreciated!

In conclusion, I would thoroughly recommend that you visit Lake Maggiore & stay at the "Simplon".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is my 3rd visit to Hotel Simplon. It is still an excellent hotel offering first class accomodation and excellent food. This time I stayed in room 228 which had good views of the lake. What makes the hotel so special is the staff. All of them are so very helpful and friendly.
The dining room is peaceful and the waiting staff will always help you and recommend dishes.
It is a hotel which I always remember and miss when I return home.

Room Tip: It is always best to try and get a lake view as it is a much quieter side of the hotel. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A grand beautifully furnished hotel.
Room also well furnished with panelled walls and marble bathroom. Pity there was inadequate storage, only a single wardrobe; consequently we had to keep some of our clothes in our suitcase. No bathrobes or slippers provided which we have always had in other Italian hotels. Requested ,via email, a room on a high floor with a balcony( as not all none lakeside rooms have a balcony). Astonished by the reply that to have a room on floor 3 or 4 would cost an extra 10 euros pppn!!!! Then you read that others have received free upgrades.! Needless to say we didn’t “upgrade”. Received a nice room on floor2. This was a corner room with dual aspect and a balcony overlooking the side garden with afternoon sun (room 222). The road is very busy and therefore noisy with heavy traffic, and many large trucks. This didn’t disturb our sleep, as it was quiet through the night, but did somewhat spoil relaxing on the balcony.
Dining room was beautiful, large and spacious with huge windows giving views over the pool and gardens. The circular tables were a good size and well spaced out. Our first table was set back from the windows but they do move you to a window table as they become vacant without asking. The food was excellent, best we have eaten in an Italian hotel. Only drawback is 6 nights out of our 7 there were large groups with the noise they naturally bring. The ambience of the dining room transferred from elegant dining to that of a canteen. Also the excellent service suffered, with long delays between courses as the staff was covering too many tables. We had considered the Regina Palace Hotel in Stresa but the comments about large noisy groups and poor service made us choose the Simplon.
Best thing for us was being able to use the facilities of Hotel Dino. We always went to their garden pool area, as it was located on the lakeside with beautiful views. It was large and spacious. We also used the bar, as it was nicer, also overlooking the lake with plush furnishings. A pleasant place to go for a drink while listening to low-key entertainment – an excellent Jazz trio played there.
As many others have mentioned the extra costs were ridiculous; 5€ a day for wifi, 12€ a day to use the gym or the sauna or the steam room! However you can get 120 minutes free wifi by filling in a survey on the wifi terminal to the right of the restaurant. Niggles mentioned prevent us giving Simplon Hotel 5*.
Reception staff was always cheerful and extremely helpful.
We enjoyed our stay and Baveno.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our young family for 3 nights in July. The hotel staff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome despite the fact we were probably the only people with young children. We could order off the menu for the children with no problem, they made a fuss of the kids at breakfast time and generally made us feel very welcome. The hotel itself was immaculate, the rooms were bright and spacious even for 4 of us! It rained on our last day and it was great to have access to Hotel Dino's (Hotel Simplon's sister hotel right next door) indoor pool and play room. The town of Baveno is just lovely and I am glad we decided to stay. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank MBoyd218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

lovely big hotel in beautiful setting very quiet and a bit souless every facility is provided but they were mean with the wi fi . Food was first class. Very luxurious and comfortable staff very helpful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dickydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with a friend for 11 days. We opted for half board with room NOT overlooking the lake

The hotel was spotlessly clean and plush with an emphasis on luxury.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Whatever you needed they delivered eg. I asked for poached eggs one morning which they cooked even though it was not on their excellent breakfast menu. On another occasion when I was down by the pool I went to reception and requested an umbrella. Immediately they sent a man down with an umbrella who put one up for me.

Four days into the holiday we requested to see lakeside view room. With a view to upgrading. We were told to come back the next day where upon they would show us the room. When we returned the room had gone. To avoid disappointment they are pgraded us to a hotel suite at no extra cost. We spent many happy hours drinking cocktails on the balcony overlooking the lake.

The food was to die for. There were 5 course menus at dinner every evening. No expense was spared we had turbot, monkfish, rack of lamb and huge steak. Desserts were out of this world. My friend who has dined at The Dorchester and Carleton, Cannes said it he food was better.

All in all very impressive.
.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jannih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
521 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,081 reviews
2.5 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,435 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: £105 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing