We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you look for romance choose this hotel!”
Review of Hotel La Ripa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Ripa
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Reviewed 9 July 2010

La Ripa is a beautiful small hotel. Authentic Italian family run cosy place to stay. In the line of its long tradition the hotel management is renewing the facilities. The rooms have a stunning view on the lake and the old ilands. The owner is very welcomming and hospittable. It is authenticic and perfect for the one who is looking for the real Italian atmosfhere and relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermans219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

I had read the reviews before booking. People either seem to love it or hate it. I guess if you don't need 5 stars with pool, room service, huge breakfast buffet etc etc, but you like family run establishments, meeting other interesting guests at breakfast and looking out your window to one of the most beautiful views you can imagine, then this hotel is for you. Paula was extremely helpful from the first contact. While we were there she even let us use her internet to book our next hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The stroll along the water to the centre of Baveno was great. We took several ferry trips to the islands and also to rhe Swiss part of Lake Maggiore. My only suggestion would be to offer a little more choice for breakfast as it is pretty basic.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rennyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

If you're looking for a relaxed atmosphere in the most picturesque place, try La Ripa, with its charming traditional Italian hospitality and its unbeatable swimming. Right on the lake with its own tiny beach, the hotel is quiet and very friendly, and is within easy reach of all the beauties of the lake and surroundings, the islands with their gorgeous palaces and the woods and mountains for walking, although it's tempting just to sit in the garden of the hotel in sun or shade. The food is excellent too, and the prices are remarkably reasonable. I first visited over thirty years ago - it's still run by the same family, and is as delightful as ever.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skingshill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This one-star hotel has five-star service. The owner, Paola Cardini, is a gracious host and was attentive to our needs, both prior to our arrival and while there. She provided us with information about the area, how to get around and allowed us access to the hotel’s internet carrier (something that needs to be done downstairs as the hotel’s walls are too thick to transmit the internet signal). Her staff was equally helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is conveniently located, an easy 800 - 900 meter walk from either the Baveno train station or the dock for boats to the Borromeo Islands. Our bedrooms were clean and comfortable. One of the rooms was “en-suite” and although the bathroom was small, it was clean and perfectly adequate. This room also had a great view of the hotel’s garden and Lago Maggiore. The food at the hotel’s restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced. For 17 Euros per person (excluding drinks), we had a fixed, three course dinner. One dinner included a cold tomato bisque made with freshly picked, locally grown tomatoes… an excellent choice on a hot, summer evening. Ms. Cardini and staff took very good care of us. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Ripa again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acworthtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

My husband and I arrived at the hotel a little after 3:00 P.M. and the owner, Paola Cardini, was just leaving. She said she'd be back in 5 minutes. Her young niece checked us in. We were very disappointed when we saw our room and asked for a better one. She said none existed and they were all the same. She said you are lucky to have a private bath. Paola did not come back until 6:00 P.M.
The bathroom was the smallest I have seen in a long time. It was obviously added into the corner of an already small room. The shower is tiny---impossible not to hit arms against walls and curtain. Only a slight indentation on floor to drain water (see photo) and lots of water went under the curtain and all over the bathroom floor.
The room had one small window, approximately 2 feet by 4 feet. (see photo) There was no shade or drapes to cover the window and the sun poured in at 5:30 A.M. and woke us up.
The breakfast was minimal. No fruit and the juice tasted like Kool Aid.
Coffee was good.
We left right after breakfast.
If I had read the review written on April 23, 2009, we would never have stayed here.
It is such a shame that this dump is situated on a beautiful property with lovely garden and great lake views.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3Granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacerotta, proprietario at Hotel La Ripa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2009

1) our house was built in 1700, therefore the windows and everything, the Superintendent shall be subject to the fine arts. The measure are standard and are equipped with shutters (close enough) and at the 5.30 there isn't a sun!!!!
2)It is not true that I (owner) came back at 18.00 because I was out only for 30 minutes. And also, I'm not obliged to stay at the hotel 24 hours. Also because the staff is at your disposal for any request.
3)At the Mrs Rose, at the moment of reservation, we have send the pictures about rooms and the staff have proposed other room.
4)I want remember to Mrs. Rose that the hotel is rated 1 star. If they want a hight service, please choose a 4 or 5 stars (the price isn't the same). Isn't possible to have a superior service and don't pay!! We aren't a onlus service.
5)The bathroom is small but equipped with everything you need (just read the other reviews).
6)In the review there is my name and surname and for the privacy I ask to be removed!!!
7)For breakfast we offer: Fruit - yoghurt - juice (not powder) - cakes made fresh in house and, to request free ham, eggs and chees.
Speak is enought!!! For 6€ what you want? a chicken and beef?
8)The guest have reserved only for one night and is normal leave after breakfast (how many hours want stay here????)
9)There should be more control over the reviews made by pure malice or ignorance on part of clients that may damage the hard work.
10)We haven't received a complaint from Mrs Rose, only a problem with wifi (service free not payment) that she have used (free) for 3/4 hours, without taxes and other payment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

arrived for a one night stay, great view and in the summer i would think the out side is lovely. close to the road and in summer the road is going to be very busy. The rooms are little more than adequate. One coat hanger in a wardrobe,an en suite which is a module which comes complete and is just like a shower room that you get on a cross channel ferry. The next room were partying all night and having a furniture removal convention the next moring. No lift. Overall the interior lacks charm, the bedrooms are very basic but with great views, The owener paola is charming and the hotel has been in her family for many years. It has loads of unrealised potential.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boscobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We booked this hotel online through a third party website and were then delighted to receive a personal e-mail from Paola, the hotel's owner, together with a picture of our room. When I realised that I needed to change my booking, I e-mailed the original website and heard nothing so I e-mailed Paola instead and she replied within a day - excellent service!

Hotel La Ripa is a classic 'lakeside villa' with its own private beach area. Paola gave us a very warm welcome and our room was the one in the picture that she had sent us; full of vintage furniture with a fabulous lake view - really good value at 95 Euro. The bathroom was basic but had a shower, toilet, bidet and basin and was always left clean every day. A good continental breakfast was included along with a good choice of tea! We also took advantage of the free parking at the hotel which is secured overnight.

Baveno is one of the quieter lakeside resorts, although this could be because we were there at the end of September, but there are still good restaurants to be found (we particularly enjoyed our meal at La Posta) and there is a terminal for the state ferry service putting other lakeside towns as well as the Borromeo islands within easy reach. It is also located in the Piedmont wine region which was a big attraction for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Ripa, it was a wonderfully relaxing base from which to explore to the beautiful Lake Maggiore region.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FenTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baveno hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#8 of 15 in Baveno
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#10 of 15 in Baveno
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ripa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ripa

Address: Via Sempione 11 | Lago Maggiore, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Baveno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: £72 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ripa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is build near the lake, all rooms have a beautiful view on the Borromeo Islands. Private Beach - Garden and Parking Restaurant open for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Ripa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ripa Hotel
Hotel La Ripa Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing