We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Relaxation.”
Review of Hotel Rigoli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baveno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rigoli
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Ultimate Relaxation.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Although we'd stayed in nearly Stresa several years ago, this was our first visit to neighbouring Baveno. We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the lake and due to the fact that the rooms had lakeside balconies-plus, of course, the positive reviews on this website. We were not disappointed!
Ultimately, the 'Rigoli' is such a relaxing place to stay: excellent breakfasts; comfortable rooms; friendly, helpful staff who cope so well with everything- languages, cultures, range of ages; individual idiosyncrasies- nothing seems to throw them!
It's a lovely hotel-simple as that!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengowls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    62
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
233
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we came here 9 years ago for my sisters wedding, and its still as lovely and tranquil as then,
Rooms are still great, and the view over the lake is magnificent, Breakfast on the patio, Dinner in the dining room both plentiful, the staff cant do enough for you, and the welcome warm.
even the maids are lovely,
we will be returning again. Thank you.

Room Tip: have a lake view, its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandjan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When you find Hotels with such an extraordinary consistency of excellent reports it is sometimes a little suspicious and one begins to wonder what the clientele is like! But Hotel Rigoli really is as good as it claims - or better! It has been a superb family run hotel for decades now, and I think I wrote one of its early reviews for The Good Hotel Guide. But I had not been back for many years. Reviews now have this new medium.

The Hotel Rigoli is better than ever. The family obviously plough investment back into the hotel and it is constantly upgraded. Rooms are well furnished and most have spectacular views. The balconies are certainly big enough to sit out on. Bathrooms more than adequate.

But it is in warmth of reception and service combined with superb family cooking that Rigoli excels. Authentic Italian cooking here has a slightly northern feel and offers a great choice for half board guests and incredibly good value. There is a good wine list which is neither pretentious nor expensive. I love the San Gimigniano.

Breakfasts are extensive and the service very attentive. Eggs are cooked to order.

The home made cakes would be quite at home in a Viennese conditorei! But there is always a wide choice of other deserts - an excellent cheese board - and plenty of fresh fruit.

The location is excellent if you want to escape the packaged hoards of Stresa or Pallanza but the boats stop only a few minutes away and the motorway offers easy access. We drove down through Switzerland from Feldkirch to Locarno and down the lake and probably would not do that again. The Swiss roads are poor and the traffic heavy and Swiss service stations are few and far between and we found them unappealing! Another time we will use the Italian motorways and drive up form Milano. For those without cars, the location is perfect. Trains to Milan stop at the village station (more stop in Stresa) and all the boats call here.

What more to be said - it is all just one side of Heaven. Many thanks to Family Rigoli. And yes it is a family hotel but this family are no amateurs! Management and leadership is quietly but firmly established and there is no doubt at all about the standards it aspires to...always the best!

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are lovely and the ones on the side are perfectly fine - being slightly bigger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I’d like to express thanks from my side and also from the side of my husband. I and my family have visited Rigoli for the second time and I was very happy to find all at the same places – the same comfortable and tranquil atmosphere, kind and welcoming staff, nice food and great views.
Especially we’d like to thank Claudia, the hotel owner and of course other staff for nice surprise on our wedding day – it was very very pleasant and unexpected!
We hope to get back here some time and to enjoy the view on the lake and warm atmosphere of this place.
Even if you don’t stay here, I advise to come for a dinner or even to have a cup of coffee in the hotel garden. Dinner needs additional words – its set that includes hors d'oeuvres, then first and second course and dessert. Also you can order it separately but in this case you lose the possibility to enjoy all the cooking skills of hotel cooks. I’m not into desserts myself but don’t miss the opportunity to try nut cake, it’s very delicious!
All in all I’m fully sure that Rigoli is the best hotel in town of Baveno, you’ll find here all that you need to have a rest from everyday problems and fast speed of big city.

Room Tip: Rooms with the lake view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were a group of 10 spending 3 nights at the hotel. The hotel is small and intimate.
The setting, directly on the lake, is perfection. The rooms are not luxurious but very clean and well appointed. The staff, headed by the amazing Claudia, was friendly and helpful at all times. The food was delicious. It was convenient to everything we needed and wanted. You can stay in one of the gigantic hotels in Stresa, but we were all very happy we chose the Rigoli in Baveno. We felt as if we were being warmly welcomed into someone's home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Maggiore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel Rigoli is located on the lake and you have a beautiful view of the lake and the mountains. We had a corner room with a small terrace which allowed us to sit outside and have a bit of wine and cheese we purchased at a market a few blocks from the hotel. The room was very nice with a good shower and comfortable bed. Unfortunately the pillows were very hard and my wife had difficulty sleeping. She said it was like sleeping on a bag of potatoes. We did enjoy the breakfast which was extensive and fresh The dinning room is on the lake and you could sit outside or inside and have a beautiful view of the lake. The recommendations the hotel made of restaurants was excellent and you were able to obtain 10% off an entree. The hotel is located very close to the ferry, the train, and the town which is much smaller than Stresa. The hotel arranged for us to be picked up from Malpensa which is about 40 minutes away. This was very convenience since we had a late flight from Spain. We did have dinner at the hotel the first night. Every thing was very good with the exception of the entree which was just OK. This is an excellent hotel, well situated and we certainly would return.

Room Tip: Reserve a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vigevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

i have found this hotel through tripadvisor!
perfect simply perfect!
would give it 10 stars insted of just 3!
beautiful hotel at a beautiful and quite location. on the water of lago maggiore, calme beautiful you can conssitly hear the sound of the waves and birsd and ducks outside. so charming! the rooms are beautiful! the hotel itself is beautiful! a pure butique hotel.
claudia at the front desk.. such a charming woman who helped us a lot .

dreaming on my next visit to this hotel!! only this one!!
could go on and on saying only positive things.
and the view..... ggggg

well what are you waiting for? book it!!!

Room Tip: worth to pay a littel more and have a room with a terasse overlooking the lake... you will not regre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigail a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
2.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigoli

Property: Hotel Rigoli
Address: Via Piave 48, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Baveno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#2 Family Hotel in Baveno
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigoli 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the lakeside in a quiet, sunny position with a magnidicient view over the Borromeo islands and the Alps in the distance. The only hotel far from the main road. Bedrooms with panoramic balcony overlooking the lake, wi-fi, satellite TV, safe and air conditioning. Panoramic Restaurant and bar, private beach, buffet breakfast served on the terrace by lake. A warm welcome from the family run hotel. Countless opportunities for walks and trips motorboat and ferry far only 5 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rigoli Hotel Baveno
Hotel Rigoli Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing