We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, in easy reach of the islands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ruscello
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value, in easy reach of the islands”
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Stayed one night in this pleasant and interestingly decorated hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had good views of the lake, which are not panoramic since there are some trees in between. I would not recommend it for those wanting complete peace and silence, but although there was some water noise as well as traffic and the occasional train, none of these were unduly intrusive. It is a walk of five minutes or so down the road (there is no lake promenade here) to the outskirts of Stresa where you can take a ferry to the islands or a cable car up the mountain, so the hotel is very handily located. (Should you eat in Baveno, and we would recommend the restaurant at the far right corner of the square if you do, you will either need to have a driver who’s not drinking, or get a taxi back, as walking isn’t really an option.) All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a comfortable hotel ideally placed for sampling the delightful attractions of this part of Lake Maggiore.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Nothing really, but the setting could have been a little quieter
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonEuroweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    53
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

Very cute and lively place. would definitely recommend to all those who have cars. The owners were friendly and helpful. There are a lot of stairs so be careful with luggage. Also, don't think there was a/c in the room, but nights are not too bad over there since it is by the lake.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiJgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this charming little hotel last April (2007), it was recommended by some past guests in a forum on Fodors.com , so we gave it a shot, because we wanted something on a budget and small. So we contacted the hotel directly via email, the price was extremely reasonable, so we booked.
When we arrived the hotel had just opened for the season (it's closed from October to April) and there were not many guests, so most of the time we had the place all for ourselves and it was lovely.
The hotel is located between Stresa and Baveno, therefore you really need a car to get there (the hotel has a free parking lot though) or, if coming by train with no car, you can get a cab.

The hotel is divided in 2 sections: the main house, an old villa, set among beautiful grounds, with terraces, fountains, statues, ponds with fish, lots of trees and flower pots (very italian-style villa) and here you do the check-in and take breakfast. The interiors are very cozy and elegant at the same time: lots of beautiful paintings on the walls, large windows, it has the feelings of an old family house.

Then, there is a second building where the rooms are (10 in number). Beware, there is no elevator, and you must climb quite a few steps, so those with limited mobility will find very hard to access most of the areas. Rooms are small, ok that's pretty common in Italy, bathrooms are also small but recently renovated. The rooms are kept spotlessly, they have sat tv and a small balcony (we had a room with a view of the Borromean Islands, I think it was room # 10 ) and believe me, the view is breathtaking, none of the major hotels in Stresa or Baveno has such a view. In the back of the hotel there is a railway line, but with the double glazed windows you can't hear a thing, especially if your room is in the front.

There is a lounge area on the ground floor of the dependance where we would hang out in the evening when it was chilly, with a bottle of wine. In the morning we would walk around the grounds, we saw a couple of roosters and a kitty.

The staff was helpful (there are 3 siblings, we met Juliana who speaks pretty good English and who gave us lots of tips on where to go, what to see, which restaurants to try. Her father speaks no English, mostly French).

What else? The hotel has also a small beach where you can use free of charge the chaise lounges (sp?) and the barbecue, but we didnt' use it as it was pretty chilly.

We had a pleasant stay at the Villa Ruscello. I recommend the place to those looking for a budget, basic, clean accommodation, with an Italian charm.

  • Liked — Views, grounds, charm
  • Disliked — many steps (I'm fit so I can do it, but older people with suitcases will find it hard)
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lilianuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

We stayed one night in Hotel Villa Ruscello just outside of Baveno and are so glad that we did! The view of Lake Maggiore from our room's tiny balcony was absolutely breathtaking! We had room #10, which is a triple room on the end of the third level. Be aware that there is no elevator, so you will need to carry luggage up stairs outside, then an inclined walkway and then quite a few stairs inside. But for us, the amazing view was worth it. We discovered that a train track ran behind the building, with very short fast trains passing through most of the night. However, they did not whistle and if we did not have our balcony doors open to permit the cool evening breezes in August, or were not on the end of the building, we would probably not have heard the trains. I would not want a room facing the back side of the hotel, which would not have a view and would face the train tunnel. The bathrooms were very modern and appeared recently remodeled. The hotel grounds have beautiful old world-style landscapes with fountains and stone stairway accents. In the morning, we enjoyed a quiet walk on the grounds with colorful roosters strutting around the grounds. Breakfast was simple but tasty with good coffee, fresh croissants and lemon cake. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is free parking along Lake Maggiore, which is directly across the highway from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Amazing view
  • Disliked — Nearby train tunnel
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, CT
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

If arriving by car and looking for a clean, comfortable, family-run B&B, try Hotel Villa Ruscello. The English speaking family members (daughter is a trained architect), provide you with a relaxing setting overlooking Lake Maggiore and the Borromean Islands. We received helpful information on boat schedules, eateries and festivals.
The facility is complete with private parking, private beach, simple rooms w/balconies, and easy access to the touristy Stresa. Located on Via Sempione 1/2 way between Stresa and Baveno, Villa Ruscello is easy to find and a good value.

Helpful?
7 Thank bpierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.9 mi away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#10 of 15 in Baveno
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ruscello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ruscello

Property: Hotel Villa Ruscello
Address: via Sempione, 64, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Ruscello 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a typical villa with a large Italian garden, balconies, terraces and a direct access to the Lake through our little private beach. For over 40 years our family-run hotel has offered our guests tranquillity and unique views of the Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ruscello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Ruscello Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing