We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, tucked away from a fantastic location”
Review of Hotel La Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Locanda
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed three nights at La Locanda. The hotel was small but cute and the staff were welcoming and attentive. For the three of us, the room was spacious, clean and the surroundings of the hotel are very quiet. It's only a five minute walk from the beautiful lake Maggiore where there are nice bars and restaurants nearby. Also, would recommend a boat trip to the nearby Isola Bella, absolutely stunning! So if you just want a clean bed and breakfast, La Locanda is just the ticket, great value!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Locanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights this week and the reviews were spot on. Daniele was fantastic and helped me with train information and without asking, took my case up to the room and showed me where to find an extra blanket. The heating came on when the temperature dipped too. Breakfast was adequate and my room was
fine. Great to have such a hot shower. Location is perfect for the train station and so quiet too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leoline54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you Dear Mrs L., it was a pleasure having you as our guest. we are glad that you have spent some happy days. a warm greeting! Daniele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We recently stayed a night at La Laconda on a brief visit to Lake Maggiore in the rain! The room was comfortable and, although we feared we might be a bit cold as we only had one blanket and the heating was not on, we slept well. Location is great for taking a ferry ride to the islands and staff were helpful in arranging a discount. We also had a very pleasant stroll into town to find dinner. We didn't notice the friendliness that others have spoken of, but we were only there for one night. Staff were definitely helpful when asked. Would I stay here again? Sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fentastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We spent four very pleasant days at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with excellent facilities, and the breakfast was good though simple. While it was a fifteen minute walk to the centre of the town, (less for younger people no doubt,) it was very convenient for the cable car up the mountain and the boats to the islands. There was also a very good restaurant near to hand, though for a reasonable choice one had to go to the centre.

It was very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Our room was in a separate block behind the courtyard/car park and was very acceptable. We did not...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Found this hotel through booking.com and we had a very comfortable stay for 4 nights in the family room (one double and a bunk bed). Clean rooms with linen changed daily, in a quiet environment, only a short walk from the town center. The hotel gave good recommendations for meals in Stresa too! Although breakfast was simple, I did enjoy the warm crossiants, and expressos every morning!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumbeetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Hotel Locanda is a very clean and friendly two star hotel not far from Lago Maggiore and boats to the islands. It is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre. The staff were very helpful, calling taxis for us and helping us with bookings. We had two triple rooms at the back of the hotel with little balconies. The rooms were very clean but as you would expect from a two star hotel not luxurious. Continental breakfast was included in the price and there is free wifi in the lobby. At 99 euro a night for a triple room it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you very much. It was a pleasure having you as guests. if you return to the Lago Maggiore will be our pleasure to book you the same rooms. greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed at la locanda for 2 nights in a family room which would be perfect for 2 adults, 2 children but was manageable for us too in a double and a bunk bed.

The family who run the place are helpful and happy for you to come and go as you please. Great espresso from the reception bar too.

Location is 10 mins walk from the port of stresa but it's a small place so very easy to get around.

Breakfast is basic but fine, bread rolls and packet pastries / biscuits. Coffee machine and juice machine are not great so ask for one of the lovely coffees from the bar instead. Well worth the €1.80!

Stay in the locanda if you want clean, good value, comfortable accommodation in stresa.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChloeCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#9 of 35 in Stresa
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Address: Via Giacomo Leopardi 19, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: £54 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Locanda 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda is a small and quiet hotel, recently restoredand runned by the host family welcoming you in this placesituated by the Lido of Stresa. Close to the hotel, in the Lido area, you may find the cableway to the Mottarone mountain (1500mt.) and public or private boats to Borromée isles. The train station is 200mt. far whereas the village centre is reachable by walking by the lake-side in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Locanda Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing