We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sucked”
Review of Stresa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stresa B&B
Ranked #24 of 27 Stresa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I don't know where the place in the pictures is, but when we got there we were taken to a large very OLD and out of date aparment just around the corner from the hotel they run.

It was bad. Smelled like mothballs. The gas burner did not work. There was no refrigerator . Kitchen was totally useless.

The bed was ancient, and the linens were old and used looking.

The "breakfast" was a complete joke. Bread with spread and coffee. That was it. No fruit, no milk, no juice, no meat of any kind, no cereal, no eggs, no pancakes, etc. White bread with spread. Lame.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ggerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We called this B&B based on past good reviews.
The owner informed us that unfortunately she didn’t have any availability for that period but that she could offer us a very central private apartment with balcony for the same price. We agreed to have a look and then decide if we wanted to stay or not.

On the arrival day we met at the B&B and the owner very kindly drove us to the apartment. Maybe due to lack of sleep, before we had the time to have a proper look the owner had already taken one of our passports, left the keys on the table and had disappeared. We felt like a whirlwind had passed us by and only then we slowly realized what was happening to us.

Due that we very really tired we decided to stay. Only later we discovered the shortcomings; in the fridge someone had left some molded peaches, the freezer was full with old stuff and on the small balcony the bin was full to the top with garbage that due to the heat made for an unpleasant aroma.

The bathroom wasn’t much better, everywhere mould and almost all appliances were half broken. The two available towels didn’t feel clean and we avoided using them.

In the evening the best surprise was the bed with, in my opinion, unwashed sheets and a mattress so old and smelly that it must have belonged to someone’s great great great grandparents.

Due to the fact that wherever we asked all was fully booked we had to stay a second night. On the second morning after an almost restless night I woke up with bed bugs bites all over my body.

We really regretted staying at this place, which compared to the B&B is an old, dark and truly disgusting dump and where we wouldn’t stay again, not even for free.
In comparison, the bit we saw from the B&B is paradise, so for your own good, don’t even think about letting yourself be convinced of staying in this alternative apartment – it would ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank lori05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

If you are looking for a charming, peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable stay in Stresa this is the place to stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel just at home in there lovely rustic house. Dalina which runs the place is also a gem, especially with her humor, information and sensational fresh pastries that she makes on a daily basis. I particularly enjoyed the nutella one!. From each room there is something special....a great view. When that was lit up at night there was no other place i would rather be. Dalina is a wonderful host and is always willing to help.

This is a wonderful location and is beyond words to explain how beautiful it is. We were sad to leave and when we return we will be coming back to stay at Stresa B&B.

Stay in this warm home, not a hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elenxhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Stresa is a delight, much cooler than Rome, wonderful things to do and sights to see. We booked the Stresa BeB through an agency, then found it on the Internet afterwards. It would have been much better to book directly through their site because it would have saved us $15 (more than 20%). The B&B is exactly as described on their website (http://www.stresa-beb.it/), a lovely enclave near everything, yet away from the traffic and much of the noise.

It is run by Dalina, a wonderful young Albanian woman who did everything she could to make our stay a delight. The place is filled with eclectic art and is bright and cheerful. There two guest bedrooms, with a shared bathroom. Our room was clean and of a good size, with adequate storage and a private terrace. Breakfast, continental style, was served in the airy kitchen.

We were a bit concerned about the shared bath, but it turned out not to be a problem. The other room was occupied by a small family. They were extremely considerate and kept a different schedule from ours. The bathroom remained spotless for our entire stay. It has a bathtub, sink, bidet, and separate shower – absolutely wonderful with water jets on three sides that massaged our weary muscles.

If you happen to be traveling with another couple or with older children, who need a room of their own, this B&B would be an excellent choice.

Getting there might be a bit confusing on the first try, but Dalina will email you a clear map. We expected to access it by a street, but it is really more of a pathway, accessed through one of the main courtyards and shopping areas in Stresa, and almost exactly across the street from the marina (embarcadero). You turn up the hill at the GiGi bar, then you will see a small sign directing you down the path to the B&B.

We did find our room a little noisy, because of the proximity of the water and the boats nearby, but we agreed that this was more than compensated for by the charm of the place – and the reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank wordDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank GQ8664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wer ein privates Bad bevorzugt, nimmt das Zimmer under dem Dach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werner972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#24 of 35 in Stresa
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mon Toc
Mon Toc
#29 of 35 in Stresa
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#30 of 35 in Stresa
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#17 of 35 in Stresa
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stresa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stresa B&B

Address: Via San Michele 14, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stresa
Price Range: £53 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stresa B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of rare environment and inspiring atmosphere, far from the madding crowd and city frenzy, a site time seems to have preserved under a supernatural force, this is quite one of the last oasis of art. You will find our hospitality in this site highly impregnated with poetry, spiritual values and fancy, which great writers like Stendhal, Dickens, Flaubert, Hemingway highly mention, or other immortal artists such as Clemente Rebora, Hilda Reich Duse, Paolo Troubetzkoy, Mario Tozzi, Piero Chiara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stresa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stresa B&B Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing