We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce
Ranked #4 of 25 Stresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stresa is a pretty expensive resort, so Massimo's place is a really good option. as long as you are prepared to walk.or drive into the town, because you are high above Stresa . The walk down takes about 15-20 minutes and quite abit more on the way back! Massimo is a very good host and full of suggestions for both sightseeing and restaurants. We had the upstiars room with en suite facilities and alarge balcony, although the ceiling in low in parts, so you do need to be faily agile.
Breakfast on the terrace was very pleasant, with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit breads etc

Room Tip: Book the upstairs suite unless you don't mind sharing a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    37
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the upstairs suite. Very spacious, clean, nicely furnished, great balcony with fabulous views to the lake. Older couples may have some difficulty negotiating the layout and low ceilings but we are in our early 60s and had no problems.Massimo very friendly and helpful, even came in his car to direct us to his home when we overshot his home and ended up down in Stresa on our arrival. Lovely 15 minute walk down to Stresa following nice paths with great views. Nearby restaurant, recommended by Massimo, Vecchio Tram, was excellent. Breakfasts delicious. We had a very relaxing stress free stay here and would definitely return. We loved visiting the beautiful Boromeo Islands by ferry from Stresa and don't miss Lake Orta nearby, very scenic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koala47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Massimo, the owner, is a charming and helpful host who serves a varied and delicious breakfast with freshly brewed coffee on the terrace if the weather is pleasant, otherwise in the spacious living/dining room. We were in Stresa 4 days and Massimo helped us plan the days, dependent on the weather. The upstairs suite is large with rustic wooden beamed slanting ceiling, so "watch your head!" We managed to navigate without bumping our skulls, so it's really no problem. Nicely furnished bedroom, good-sized bathroom, large terrace. Take Massimo's advice regarding eating at the restaurant Al Vecchio Tram, 5 min. downhill by foot. If we visit Stresa again, we'll certainly try to book here again.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite is ideal for couples, the two double rooms downstairs share a bathroom so its ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moxnix35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We are a family with a baby and we spent a lovely weekend at this B & B in the green of Stresa. Excellent reception owner, parking, comfortable room in the attic finely furnished, with bathroom, terrace and lake view.
Hearty breakfast, I would recommend it with kids in tow.
See you soon. Daniele, Paola e Matteo

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The service was excellent and friendly - the owner Massimo was a very helpful and hospitable host.

Our room (the Ardilla, upstairs) was relaxing and well-furnished, with a good size bathroom and very pleasant large balcony with table and chairs. Some low roof-beams added to the character of the room (one of us is 6' 5" tall, and negotiated them fine - and there was a strategically placed windchime!).

There were lots of tourist information and maps available, plus a useful notice board which included the daily weather forecast and local events in Stresa. A good breakfast was served on the terrace (cereals, brioche, croissants, rolls, yogurts, juices, fresh coffee etc).

The B&B is situated on the hilly outskirts of Stresa. We chose to spend the week without a car and enjoyed our daily walk down to the town and lakeside (20-25 minutes). The walk back up was challenging, but fun (30-35 minutes). Massimo showed us some useful short-cuts!

We liked everything about it. Massimo speaks good English, but will also help you with your Italian if you want to try to speak some!!!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We chose the Ardilla room which has a large private balcony with great views towards the lake - a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampere region
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I had a very nice week's holiday with my husband at Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce, which is an outstanding B&B a few kilometers from Stresa. The house has two rooms downstairs with common bathroom and one suite upstairs with own bathroom and a big terrace. There is a kitchen and big living room with fireplace and tv and music sets. The high value of this B&B consists of warm atmosphere, nice decor, nice rooms, good breakfast, high cleanliness and the most kind and helpful host who is always ready to give you any advice you need.
The road to Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce is winding, but once you have found it (a good gps makes it easy) you won't forget it.
We loved especially the trip to the islands of Lago Maggiore - don't miss Isola Bella - the island is really "bella" - beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Massimo, wecomes you into his home as guest, and you feel welcome from the start. What a charming place, with wonderful views and a homely atmosphere. Breakfast is served with a smile and your room is cleaned when you arrive back after a day out. Convenient for the town, restuarants and station. Definately a place to come home to after enjoying the delights of Lake Maggiore. Best nights sleep I have had in a long while, and to wake up to the terrace in the morning and the views of the mountains was delightful. Thank you Massimo for a truely wonderful time - We will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#13 of 35 in Stresa
232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 35 in Stresa
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 35 in Stresa
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce

Property: Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce
Address: Via Per Gignese 6, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, my name is Massimo and I'll be happy to welcome you in my home, situated on Stresa's hills, where I live with my two sons, Tommaso and Guglielmo. Our bed & breakfast, is located in a very quiet place perfect for your rest. We grant you delightful and relaxing days, within the magic atmosphere of the lake and its little islands.Private parking area. All your pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lo Scoiattolo e la Noce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lo Scoiattolo e La Noce Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing