We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappoitment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
raanana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappoitment!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

the hotel is big, elegant on first sight but looking throug it is old and need renovatin and renewal, and a lot of improvement.
the room was very tiny, not even 15 sqm althogh written 20-22.
the bed soft and plastic under the sheet. no satellite tv and not one foreign channel. (english), the carpet was faded, the furnitures were broken and scratched, had a bad smell and the rack for the hanging clothes was worn and scratched.
we had mosquitos in our room and when i asked for somthing against, i was answared that they didnt have enything.
the hairdryer was old and not functioning at all. i had to ask for an exterior one.!!!
breakfast was dull, not what i expected from a 5 + stars hotel of 150 years!!!
waiters not professional, took 4 times to get the coffee to our table and it was cold and not a cappuccino at all.
sorry, but that is the truth!! the hotel looks only after the outside and the gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    334
    123
    41
    21
See reviews for
209
830
38
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Not a five star by any means. We used booking.com to reserve two rooms with extra beds for children and were told at checkin that they were not advised of our request. Well, after presenting a copy of our reservation, they were bending over backwards to accommodate our wishes!
Breakfast was as good as we have had in other places
but the waitstaff is not very accommodating.
There are many places in town center to dine and are
within walking distance. Wifi is basic, unless you are willing to "upgrade" (at additional costs)......




Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful location, overlooking the lake, that I would honestly class as one of the most beautiful places in Italy, if not Europe. The locals are very friendly and you are a short drive from Milan, but far enough away so as not to spoil the majestic and romantic beauty of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, OMG views, great food, but dismal, & occasionally rude service. Their main fine dining restaurant has waiters in every direction, doing everything but attend to their diners. We had to ask for water & menus a good 10 minutes after being seated. Bread was taken away from us without asking if we had finished etc. One fork was presented for the main course, without a knife? Hello? Checkout was ala Fawlty Towers..... I felt like calling out Basil! Basil!
That said this is lovely old world hotel, but if only the staff cared a little more.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Grand Hotel is a perfect stay for a holiday in a beautiful setting. If you like tradition and grandeur, this is definitely the place to be. The hotel is located at the banks of the lago majore from which it is separated by a road. Fortunately, the traffic on that road is very limited (at least when I was there). So a quiet evening walk along the lake as definitely the best way to de-stress.
The hotel has everything you can wish for : superb rooms that match the style of the hotel (stuffed with antique furniture), a perfect service and an excessive choice for breakfast. Especially the latter is more than you get at even the best Italian hotels.
The restaurants has a daily menu for dinner at around 50 EUR. I stayed there for business and had two lunches during my stay. The quality and tastes are top !
The salons and the bars will be perfect places to spend some time if you are not visiting the area. There is plenty to see on the islands and a trip to the other lakes is very short.
If you like to step in the footsteps of the big stars (Ernest Hemingway stayed there as well as Mussolini for the signature of the treaty of Stresa ; you might even bump into George Clooney if he would decide to come back one day).
All in all a place you should definitely visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you're looking for old-world luxury on the shores of the astoundingly beautiful Lake Maggiore, then look no further than Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees. Exquisitely located, the property sits in perfect view of the lake, surrounding mountains, and the Borromees Islands, yet a short walking distance to the town of Stresa. Here are the pros and cons:

ROOMS: The rooms and bathrooms are small, yet elegant. A lakefront balcony room is a must, as in all my travels (and I've traveled extensively), I've never had a better view. Beware that the king beds are really two twins, made up as twins, and put together. Ask to have them made up as a king, and if drying your hair is important, ask for better hair dryer (they have) as the ones in the rooms are a joke.

COMMON AREAS: The indoor common areas are ornate, old-world European. The restaurant (overlooking the lake) is the perfect spot for breakfast, although dinner, in my opinion, is better off in town. The gardens are pure elegance, a true luxury in such a premier location. My only complaint is that if a pool is your thing, this is not your resort as their pool area was old and tired looking, actually a bit depressing.

SERVICE: We found the hotel service to be consistently good. Of special note is concierge Maurizio Brugnoni, whose knowledge, attention to detail, and friendly personality made our stay a true delight.

HELPFUL INFO:

1. Walk to town for dinner, or try the excellent Casabella or Vebano on Isola Pescatore. The restaurants will send a boat, just a five minute jaunt.
2. Take the public ferry and visit all three of the Borromeo Islands. The gardens and estates are astounding. Also, beware that outside of the public ferry building are secondary boat services that only go to two islands, missing out on Isola Madre. I recommend you go public, and visit all three.
3. Like Como, the weather on Maggiore can alternate between rainy and chilly, and hot and sunny. Bring a sweater and a raincoat, visit towns on shore on the rainy days, explore the lake and islands on the sunny days. Be prepared and don't worry about the rain, it's worth it!
4. Maggiore is more visually dramatic that Como, it's a must, in my opinion. That being said, it's a more quiet lake area, so be prepared to have less "action".
5. Visit the medieval town of Orta on Lake Orta, just a 30-40 minute drive.

Overall, great hotel, fantastic lake, don't visit Italy's lake district without a side trip, at least once, to Maggiore!

Room Tip: Definitely book a lakefront room. The views are astounding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sybarite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is located in a beautiful and surrounded city in Italy. When staying at this hotel, you travel back in time, and experience a traditional european luxury hotel. The SPA was a bit disappointing because we expected a bit more offers. Rooms are old, but it is part of the experience. Breakfast was really good, and eating in the restaurant in the evening was an amazing experience, and good value for money. The surroundings are very charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frasti001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
2.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Property: Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing