We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Staff were helpful and professional. Breakfast was great and could sit outside looking out on to the lake. Our room was great and overlooked the lake even though we thought we were getting a room with a garden view. This was a bonus. TV worked and we enjoyed having access to BBC Channels. Easy access to Stresa which is a great location to get boats to other parts of the lake. Only negative - we thought this hotel could improve in terms of being environmentally friendly. Ex - our bathroom towels were changed every day. We would go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomatify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    313
    113
    39
    18
See reviews for
188
758
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved everything about this hotel from its' old-world charm, exceptional service, and fantastic breakfasts. Our suite faced the Lake and we spent time each day on the balcony admiring the amazing views. The marble bathroom was beautiful. Loved the Murano glass chandelier over the bed. We will definitely return if we are lucky enough to return to Stresa. The only thing that marred our stay somewhat was that the Oakley Company was having a conference there. Their happy hour and dinner happened to be on our last night in Stresa and we had planned a romantic dinner in the hotel but the Oakley people were so loud that we opted to go somewhere else for dinner. I was also shocked at the lack of respect that some of the Oakley people showed in their manner of dress.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the Lake- it is well worth the cost to wake up to the magnificent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOB342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Recommended by friends, we came away from our stay at the Grand a Hotel Des Iles Borromees endorsing their "ravings" and hoping we might return one day. We were fortunate to have been upgraded from a garden view room to a lake view room. We would select the lake view room next time despite the additional cost. The hotel's staff at all levels were friendly, very efficient and made our stay very comfortable. The breakfast is a treat. Get down early to get a seat outside ( if the weather is right and sunny) and make the most of the excellent selection of food - something for everyone ! Dinner can be formal or informal but either way you will enjoy the meal. Not far into the village if you want to walk to a restaurant or when you want to catch a ferry to any of the beautiful islands - Isola Bella etc.

Room Tip: Lake View and room size limited only by your expenditure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is very grand, has opulent design and massive but it needs a little renovation. Great location with great view of the lake. The internet is not free but in the lobby which allows you to browse it free of charge for 30 minutes only. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheaWindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raanana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

the hotel is big, elegant on first sight but looking throug it is old and need renovatin and renewal, and a lot of improvement.
the room was very tiny, not even 15 sqm althogh written 20-22.
the bed soft and plastic under the sheet. no satellite tv and not one foreign channel. (english), the carpet was faded, the furnitures were broken and scratched, had a bad smell and the rack for the hanging clothes was worn and scratched.
we had mosquitos in our room and when i asked for somthing against, i was answared that they didnt have enything.
the hairdryer was old and not functioning at all. i had to ask for an exterior one.!!!
breakfast was dull, not what i expected from a 5 + stars hotel of 150 years!!!
waiters not professional, took 4 times to get the coffee to our table and it was cold and not a cappuccino at all.
sorry, but that is the truth!! the hotel looks only after the outside and the gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Not a five star by any means. We used booking.com to reserve two rooms with extra beds for children and were told at checkin that they were not advised of our request. Well, after presenting a copy of our reservation, they were bending over backwards to accommodate our wishes!
Breakfast was as good as we have had in other places
but the waitstaff is not very accommodating.
There are many places in town center to dine and are
within walking distance. Wifi is basic, unless you are willing to "upgrade" (at additional costs)......




Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful location, overlooking the lake, that I would honestly class as one of the most beautiful places in Italy, if not Europe. The locals are very friendly and you are a short drive from Milan, but far enough away so as not to spoil the majestic and romantic beauty of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#13 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Property: Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing