We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but some dissappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful but some dissappointments”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel reminiscent of the Grand Tour era. The decor is opulent, the gardens extensive with great sports facilities (including a cutting edge gym).
But...
when we arrived there was no-one immediately around to take the cases from the car -although I could see staff standing around. And no-one offered to take our cases to the car at the end of our stay.
There was no-one on duty at breakfast on our first day to direct us to a table, and to be forced to ask twice for coffee is unforgivable. To have to ask a 3rd time having waited for 20 minutes is unacceptable in any standard of hotel.
Our room was magnificent, as we were upgraded to a suite, but the bathroom was tiny.

Overall we had a wonderful stay but these issues were dissappointing in a hotel of this qulaity

Room Tip: a lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    355
    129
    46
    22
See reviews for
214
871
38
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ernest Hemingway, Henry Kissinger, Mussolini, Prince Rainier and Winston Churchill are some of the rich and famous who have chosen to stay in this luxurious iconic hotel. As you walk into the lobby the decor and chandeliers create a jaw-dropping feeling and to the left is a room portraying photographic records and a projection screen proudly presenting a historical account of this hotel.
The service is true 5 star and you are greeted by charming staff who personally walk you through the hotel facilities before escorting you to the delightful bedrooms.
We didn't enough to enjoy a lake view but the garden view is special enough as one feasts on well- kept gardens and the mountain scenery.
Breakfast is comprehensive and will suit most tastes, the freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit and array of patisserie being the highlights. Dinner is very elegant but relaxed and the quality of the produce and culinary care more than evident.
Your camera lens will not tire of the decor on the various themed floors and for anyone fortunate enough to stay in the Hemingway Suite, with its 4 bathrooms, one can only imagine or dream of what an experience this must be.
Stresa is a resort is beautiful but if you want to enjoy the Hemingway life, this Hotel is a must.
I simply cannot fault anything.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony221706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a great stay in this Hotel, we loved the style, very well appointed, excellent service and staff who were always willing to help. Buffet breakfast was excellent with wide choice of high quality food.
Nice grounds and ample parking.
Made use of the gym and both indoor and outdoor pool.
Would recommend a lake view.

Room Tip: Recommend a lake view room, we had 306 which was spacious with 2 small balconies and sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a great hotel- light and oozing grandure. uniformed waiters and concierge. Escorted to you rooms, ( a tad small with balcomy that could seat only 2). Even had wooden booths from the 30s to make external phone calls and to rooms) Cocktails come with a basket of olives, crisps and nuts. Breakfast had....well i cant think what it didnt have- but i recommend the orange juice-freshly squeezed in front of you. The corridor is an art gallery to be explored on an overcast day ( its the lakes its going to be variable weather). Nice outdoor pool and extensive gardens.

OVERALL JAW DROPPING IN ITS PRESENTATION, and not to fussy.

Room Tip: Lake view if you can, but garden view is good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

we were walk ins at the hotel and very duly impressed. The room was very nice, not spacious but classic with all amenities. We tried the swimming pool which is indoor down in the cellar and closed in - not very impressive. The bar is very nice and the breakfast is excellent. It was a setting out of a Agatha Christie´s story and we liked it a lot. The staff is nice and inviting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrún J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is lovely, gracious and calming. Situated perfectly for getting a water taxi. Could not fault the staff. Stayed five days and enjoyed every second. Rooms comfortable and the décor makes you smile. The hotel even accommodated my two Cairn Terriers who were complemented on their good manners. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the Lake. Sun rise and sunset beautiful especially in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed only two nights in July 2014 but it wasn't enough. Our room faced the lake and the view was gorgeous. Had a little balcony perfect for two. The bathroom was beautiful all in Marble. Loved the Murano chandeliers in the room and throughout the hotel. Beds were comfortable. Short walk to town to where the shops are and restaurants. The hotel was in a perfect location. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The wait staff was wonderful. Diner was over priced for what you got.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvfamilyvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Property: Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing