We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly stunning Villa and Town. Not to be missed...”

Review of Casa Bellavista

Al fresco dining on the roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Al fresco dining on the roof terrace
Dining area View through to lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Al fresco dining on the roof terrace
Dining area
View through to lounge area
Designer kitchen with marble island
Family bathroom with His & Hers twin Travertine basins
Luxury en suite with enormous freestanding egg shaped bath
French style Master bedroom with en suite
French style twin bedroom with mountain view
Thai style double bedroom with walk-in-wardrobe
Travertine His & Hers basins in Master en suite
Telescope for close up of the islands
Renovated granite staircase
Renovated fireplace with decorative log feature in wall
Alcove with artefact from Thailand
View of the Borromeo Islands from the roof terrace
In memory of the perfect father and father-in-law...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Elena W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly stunning Villa and Town. Not to be missed out on!!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My hubby and I have had the pleasure of visiting Casa Bellavista 3 times now. The first time was back in November 2010. We loved it so much, we couldn't wait to book up again. Subsequently, we returned in April 2013 and July this year, with our 2 year old son.
When reviewing the website we couldn't wait to arrive for our holiday and we can honestly say we were not disappointed one little bit. The villa was everything we were expecting and much more.
We managed to find parking, in one of the two places suggested, at all times and the short walk up or down the hill to the villa took all but a minute, if that. After our first drive on arrival, we soon became accustomed to the quaint drive to and from the villa, with the familiar sound of an occasional toot from other cars warning of their presence. It just added to the adventure of our Italian trip. As we were forewarned of this we were prepared and never had an issue.
The owners have tastefully managed a sympathetic restoration of this beautiful 4 storey property, retaining all the authentic, quirky features and rustic feel with a modern twist. I am still in awe of the before and after pictures of this project which can be found in the villa. As the stairways are quite narrow with stone steps on the first two flights, we had to make sure that our son was supervised at all times and not allowed on the stairs alone. The architectural design has been cleverly thought out (with an upside down layout) to incorporate the stunning views over looking the lake. These are just simply breath taking. Chilling on the roof terrace with a bottle of Prosecco while watching the sun go down over the lake, has remained one of our many highlights to our trips. You could never tire of that view.
Stresa itself, is quintessentially Italian, with narrow roads, cobbled streets, piazzas and plenty of lovely places to visit and eat. To name but a few, La Botte, Due Piccioni, La Rampolina, Italia Nonna and La Gallina Che Fuma have become our favourite restaurants to frequent for our lunches.
A visit over to the Borromean Islands is a must, along with a trip to lake Orta and a cable car ride up Mount Mottarone.
This summer we found a lovely lake side beach at Feriolo which was a little hidden gem. We just paid for parking and our son absolutely loved playing in the sand and swimming in the warm lake.
We also had an amazing meal in Mirafiori Ristorante nearby the beach.
The Aquadventure park was also a lovely place to visit, with its swimming pools, slides, adventure playground and a beach like area over looking the lake which had parasols and sunbeds for lazy sunny days.
All in all, there is so much to see and do around Lake Maggiore, catering for all ages. I believe that we have only just scratched the surface with this amazing place. I have fallen in love with it all and with Casa Bellavista. One of my favourite places I have been to. I would highly recommend this villa as a holiday retreat to anybody. It has absolutely everything you would need for a relaxing, heartwarming stay.
Thank you for allowing us back into your beautiful Italian home..... We will be saving up for another return trip in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I am just in love with Lake maggiore and Casa bellavista
Liked least: having to come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen F
Leumeah
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Villa”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

When spent 5 days at this Villa in Someraro and found the place disappointing. It was not so much what we saw on the net but it was the fact we were not told about the Villa before we booked. The villa has a bedroom at street level with an ensuite and laundry. The next level up has two bedrooms with one having a queen bed and the other two singles and a common bathroom. The next level next up has the kitchen and lounge and the next level up is a roof top patio where the view was terrific looking over Lake Maggiore and the Islands. The negatives for us were that we are all around mid sixties. and going up the steps to the kitchen were very taxing.The narrow stair case could only just get a suit case up and it required two people to carry our 30 Kg luggage each up and when you got to the second level to go down the hall to the bedrooms it was extremely dangerous with only half a step available to get into the hall (hard to explain).On arrival we found dirty fatty water was left in the sink and it took us 15 minutes to clean it up, Lint was left in the dryer which was dangerous (they actually warn you about this), the bedroom light was blown and we had to use the small bed lamp to see (unsatisfactory. The road outside was so narrow we had to leave the van at the town square and walk our luggage down the hill to the villa and again up the hiill when we were leaving and this day it just happened to be raining. However with a very small car you could get to the villa but there is no parking anywhere near the villa despite what they tell you. On the positive side Stresa was one of the highlight of our trip. It is a great little town and the islands were terriffic. We took the cable car to the top of Mottorone and then the chair lift all the way. (where your winter woolies even in Autumn it is cool). Definately take the train the Switzerland for the day and come back on the Ferry, it only 42 euro and worth every cent

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the local town people in Someraro
Liked least: The Villa Bella Vista - Steps in the villa, narrow roads, parking and the fact we were not told when booking this Villa. The Villa was unclean and considering we had to pay a cleaning fee when we left I would have expected better.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
We are very sorry to read your disappointing review. It has come as a complete shock to us because your travelling companion who booked the holiday with us emailed me after your holiday and said you had all had a fantastic time. I really feel it is only fair to future guests that I respond to your review so I can correct some of the misinformation in your review. I would also urge future guests to read all the other reviews on here and contact me directly for even more wonderful reviews from previous guests. Quite often our guests email me directly with their praise or they write in the Guest Book that we keep in the house and I can honestly say that this is our first negative review in nearly four years of taking guests.

You are correct in listing the floors. There are indeed three floors and a roof terrace to the house and we make this clear to all our guests on the websites where we advertise and on our own website. We state on all websites that as the house is set over three floors and a roof terrace it is not suitable for wheelchairs or those with ‘restricted mobility’. We wouldn’t dream of discriminating against older guests as many are just as fit and active as anyone else, hence why we don’t have an age restriction. About 80% of our guests are retired couples in their sixties and seventies. None of them have complained about the stairs and many of them are repeat guests from as far afield as Australia.
On our own website we even have floor plans on so guests can see the layout. Again, we have never had any comments made about the ‘narrow’ staircase before now. All other guests have managed very well. Indeed, if you read the other reviews quite a few guests recommend the house for ‘older travellers’. There is only one flight of steps up to further bedrooms on the first floor – this is no different from what you would find in a conventional house. Yes, there is a second set of stairs to the top floor where the views are breathtaking, but you wouldn’t have to take your cases up there. The half step you refer to on the first floor is only potentially dangerous if you choose not to have the specially constructed metal guard across the passageway (a bit like half a stair gate) which we put there precisely to avoid people having an accident, though I suspect most people, like ourselves, don’t actually bother with it. Casa Bellavista has been lovingly renovated to try and retain some of the best original features such as the original stone staircase.

The part of your review that I can only apologise profusely about, is the dirty fatty water you apparently found in the sink. We are extremely surprised by this because we searched the whole of Stresa for the best cleaner. We feel very lucky to have finally found this cleaner (she has worked for us for a year now). She treats the house like her own home and is incredibly conscientious and thorough. Most weeks she only has a small window of four hours before the next guests arrive to turn the house around, linen and all, but is still absolutely meticulous. I really would have appreciated it if you had told me about the fatty water at the time when you found it. Your travelling companion didn’t mention it to me in his emails. In mentioning it to us at the time it would have given us the opportunity to mention it to the cleaner.
In any event, we take the cleanliness of Casa Bellavista very seriously. It is our second home and we expect it to be spotless for all our guests. Inevitably though, it is entirely possible there will be an occasion where the cleaner forgets to do something.

Regarding the lint in the dryer, our dryer is a condenser dryer so you will have some lint in the filter and water in the tank after each cycle. We therefore ask all our guests to remove the lint after each cycle so it doesn’t build up. It only takes a few cycles for it to build up and when this happens the dryer won’t work; a natural cut out to prevent any fires. It takes literally thirty seconds to do so. We do mention it in the information we send each guest before they visit. Yes, we do ask the cleaner to check on this before guests arrive, but if guests use the dryer more than once we do expect people to do it themselves, as probably with any self catering property.

Regarding bulbs, we leave a huge box of extra bulbs in our Laundry Room so guests are able to replace bulbs that go out during their stay. We do always replenish these bulbs whenever we visit, so if there weren’t any for you we do apologise. Your travelling companion sent me an email mentioning me that only one of the bedside lights was working in the twin bedroom (but not the overhead light or other bedside light). However, he said to me that the matter was not urgent because nobody was staying in that room that week. So I asked our cleaner to replace the bulbs on changeover day. The cleaner always visits during the day, so she is not going to notice as a matter of course if any bulbs do need changing.

Now onto the point of parking... We state very clearly on our website that the house does not have private parking. In the ‘Arrival Details’ we send out to guests we are also clear about this but we point you in the right direction for parking that is available to all guests. You are not correct in saying there are not any spaces near the house. Directly outside the house (about ten feet across from the front door) there are three spaces for cars. This is on a ‘first come, first served’ basis but they are not reserved for anyone in particular. Anyone can park there. In our experience as a lot of the people in the village have private parking, don’t have cars, we never have a problem getting one of those three spots. On the rare occasions when we can’t get a space there, we either park in one of the many spaces in village square above the house or in an overlook down past the house. Both of which are about 30 seconds walk from the house. On the couple of occasions we have taken very elderly relatives with us to Casa Bellavista, if we can’t park outside the house, we simply drive right to the front door and pull up outside so our relatives don’t have to walk at all before parking.
I hope I have addressed all your points and I really hope that your review doesn’t put anyone off from booking Casa Bellavista in the future. The view from the top floor of the house and the roof terrace above has been described by many of our guests as one of the most breathtaking views in the world. Well worth the short flight of stairs up there. Many of our guests say that their favourite part of their holiday is relaxing up there with a glass of prosecco. They love Stresa and all that it has to offer, but the roof terrace is their favourite place. I am sorry if you weren’t moved in the same way.

On a separate note, I see that you have reviewed Restaurant Il Cardino as ‘amazing’ and the ‘best restaurant in Italy’. This restaurant is just a one minute walk from our house. We are very lucky to have it in our village. It’s a shame that you didn’t feel it necessary to mention in your review of our house, the fact that we have the ‘best restaurant in Italy’ on our doorstep. On that point, I would honestly have to say, just in case potential guests think we have a Michelin starred restaurant on our doorstep, we don’t, though it is excellent food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john r
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014


Having read the reviews of the Casa Bellavista and seen photographs of the property I had no hesitation in contacting the owners with a view to taking a holiday there with my wife. We were more than impressed by the way in which our enquiries were handled and looked forward to visiting the really beautiful area surrounding Stressa and Lake Maggiore.
The day soon arrived for our holiday and after a more than comfortable journey we arrived at the Casa Bellavista and knew straight away we were going to have a wonderful stay.
The cleanliness of the property and the very high standard of its modern fixtures and fittings immediately came to our attention. The overall style and decor only added to the charm of the place.
We thought nothing could get better but to our amazement the sublime breathtaking and panoramic views of Stressa and Lake Maggiore could be seen from the comfort of the property's extensive roof terrace. It was undoubtedly a truly remarkable and exhilarating experience.
The owners of the Casa Bellavista have obviously given very careful thought to the way in which their property has been equipped to ensure their guests thoroughly enjoy its comforts. It's definitely a little gem. We would certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing property in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed with friends at Casa Bellavista, what an amazing time we had. From the moment we opened the front door we all felt at home, the house is beautifully decorated and furnished to the highest standard. The overall feeling of this property is one of care and love; it has definitely been renovated by the owners Jonathan and Joanna to the highest standard without losing any of its charm and character.
Stresa is a fabulous area to visit and we would highly recommend it. There was nothing nicer than after a day of sightseeing to sit on the roof top terrace with a bottle of wine overlooking Lake Maggiore, MAGICAL!!!
A car is a necessity as the house is on a steep narrow windy road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rood top terrace
Liked least: the narrow road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucelia
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking inspiring views!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in April 2013

If you are considering visiting Lago Maggiore (and you definitely should as it is just stunning - one of my favourite places!) Casa Bellavista is a great option for your stay.

The location is excellent: up on the mountain ensuring stunning views of the Lago Maggiore. Please see my pictures - these were taken using my mobile, no filters used. that is just what you get. You will wake up everyday to breathtaking views. Very inspiring, very romantic:)

Stresa is central, and is a lovely typical Italian town. It is very close to Malpensa airport so I recommend you fly there and pick up a rental car to use during your stay.

The house owners are lovely and very caring, you can see how much they love this house in every detail. It does not feel like a rental house, it feels like home. They left lots of tips and suggestions in the house and answered every question promptly. The notes in the house tell you where to go, what to see, their favourite pizza... Very handy!

I stayed at Casa Bellavista a couple of times and will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view. Breathtaking.
Liked least: Narrow access road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapurna...
Leeds
1 review
“Beautiful house, beautiful location, AMAZING views!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in April 2013

I cannot recommend Casa Bellavista highly enough! We had a wonderful holiday and can't wait to return. Aside from the truly stunning location of Lake Maggiore, staying here was the icing on the cake. My husband and I like nothing more than to relax on an evening with a good bottle of wine (or two!) and what made this holiday so wonderful was we got the opportunity to do that on the balcony of this house, whilst enjoying the simply stunning views of the lake and islands at the same time. The town of Stresa is just a short distance away and is a lovely place to have a meander and/or a great lunch/evening meal.

I have booked accommodation direct with the owners of properties before but I have to say that liaising with Joanna & Jonathan over our holiday made the experience even better. It is very apparent that Casa Bellavista is a much loved property/home and that they both want you to have the best experience possible whilst you are here. They provide tons of information and tips on how to get the most out of your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of luxury and of course the views!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mighty01
cmflores@earthlink.net
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This home is absolutely perfect in every way. The view is picture book and the closeness to the village of Stresa made it perfect. Every morning you wake with a panoramic view of Lake Maggiore from the kitchen, dining and living room. Then to top it all off, with a full moon you have that picture as well. There are not enough words to say what a great place this was for our vacation and working with the owners was the best part. They are like friends now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and the view it offered.
Liked least: The narrow road in front of the house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing