We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Villa Matilda Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Matilda Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 26 Stresa B&B and Inns
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Villa Matilda is an excellent place to stay in Stresa. Close to train station, shops
and restaurants. The owner Matteo is very friendly and helpful and made our stay
very enjoyable. We occupied both bedrooms so we had to the place to ourselves just
like our own villa. The downstairs - kitchen, lounge and garden are for guests use -
just ask Matteo.
We went on the Maggiore Express to Locarno which is a very interesting train ride to
Switzerland through the mountainside and then returned to Stresa on the boat. It is
worth getting the combined rover ticket for an additional E10 which gives unlimited
boat travel on the lake such as the 3 islands for the next day. Villa Taranto has
very beautiful english styled gardens and is well worth a visit.
We used the Alibus to get back to Malpensa airport. It is E12 and only takes 45 mins
but you have to book in advance either by email or phone. The service is dependent
on the number of passengers and as there were only about 6 passengers in total when
we left a small minibus was used and not the coach advertised. It was also about 15
mins late on arrival at Stresa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Traveling with two small boys for a long weekend to Stresa, we had the perfect set-up at Villa Matilda. Two big rooms linked together, a big modern bathroom with a jacuzzi (!) and a garden where the boys could run around, hide and play. Nice breakfast and a very pleasant and welcoming host. Gracias, Matteo! We can warmly recommend this place. Clean, charming and perfectly situated in Stresa.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ISNyoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Very good B&B, very modern, large room, beautifully designed, nice glimpse of lake and mountains from small balcony. Very hospitable host with good english and patient Italian if you are learning. Large continental breakfast of various sweet things.
Host went out of his way to help us when we needed it.

Robert and Moya, mature travellers May 2012

Room Tip: only two rooms, red and blue, both great, up one flight of stairs, 200m from station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hi Matteo!!!
We loved so much our stay, it´s everything wonderfull!!

Good location, good bedrooms, good service!!!

We hope come back one day!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Mateo!!!! You and your B&B absolutely ROCK! Villa Matilda is in my list as number 1. It is pristine, new, homey, warm, yet with the modern touch and elegance of any 5 star ultra luxurious hotel! From its fixtures to its gardens and comfortable beds! Thank you so much for your personal touch! You are truly a polite and pleasant person. Can't wait to see you again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudine1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Villa located in the central location of Stresa close to city center, shops , restaurants and beautiful promenade. 2 huge suits one for family with kids (2 rooms inside) and second for couple, extremely clean and beautifully decorated. Big kitchen that you can use (we ask permission from the owner ). Matteo the owner very friendly and welcoming helped us with any request (even bought present for our baby). We want to highly recommend this lovely and charming place.
One day we hope to come back there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dima13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#8 of 35 in Stresa
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#23 of 35 in Stresa
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Matilda Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Matilda Bed & Breakfast

Property: Villa Matilda Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Duchessa di Genova 10, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stresa
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Villa Matilda Bed & Breakfast Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing