We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great find on the lakeside”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Marilyn F
Droitwich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great find on the lakeside”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Once you've tackled the stairs to this top (3rd) floor flat, the views over Lake Maggiore are amazing. The Owner has other, more accessible flats in the building, if stairs are a problem! She speaks good English and gave us a warm welcome and some excellent recommendations for eating places, which we tried and agreed with. She even explained the complex recycling rota for the six bins!!
The living room/kitchen is large enough but not hugely spacious, with a modern, well-fitted kitchen. The full height doors open onto a small balcony, with a much larger terrace nextdoor, both with fantastic views of the lake.
The bathroom was compact but well-equipped. The large bedroom was up another set of internal stairs i.e. not on the same floor as the bathroom. It had very good storage facilities and again, super views.
This was our first visit to Stresa, so spent the week fitting the many recommended tourist trips around the slightly unpredictable weather ..... after all, it was only May!
We took walking boots and enjoyed the Chestnut Walk and walking from the top of Mottorone to the Alpine Gardens (which we found disappointing compared to all the other beautiful gardens of the area).
The hop-on, hop-off boat services are great but DO take note of the last times of boats, as people can get caught out, particularly on a Sunday, when there may be no alternatives!
Do look at the website for Stresatravel which gives lots of good advice, as do the English-speaking ladies in the travel agency along the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the apartment on the lakeside - and the English speaking owner!
Liked least: The stairs - but we came home fitter!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5762Trave...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Possible Location”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was small and simple but adequate. The view however, was exceptional. It's location, so close to town ,and on the waterfront, made this apartment a perfect place to stay. The hostess was friendly and helpful and she had good advice. We enjoyed a comfortable visit and would love to spend many more hours on the massive deck just absorbing the beauty of the Lake and its surrounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massive patio and the view
Liked least: The aparment was a little cramped for 3 people.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
thanks for your opinion just to be correct that I am not an hostess I am the owner and the apartment "simple" is a modern kitchen "salvarani" and the big double bed is not the one you normally find in a holiday home but is with orthopedic mattress.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar03
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, wonderful view”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This apartment is so fantastic we are planning on staying again in 2015, this time for 2wks. It is in a perfect location opposite the ferry terminal and with the lake on your doorstep. the terrace is wonderful and we made good use of it starting with breakfast every morning. The owner, Rosanna, is lovely and very helpful offering many suggestions on things to do and places to eat, buy groceries, bread etc. She even came to say goodbye on the night before our departure as we were on the 6.28am Alibus back to Milan airport. I can not recommended this apartment highly enough and will be telling all our friends about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right on Lake Maggoire with a huge terrace and wonderful view
Liked least: nothing it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Hi shar and steve very glad to hear from you ! I really hope to come and visit your beautiful country in australia . with all my best wishes . Ross
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent view”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I stayed in this apartment for a week in May 2013 and were loath to leave. Although it is on the 3rd floor and the stairs were very hard for us, the view made it all worthwhile. It is situated right across the road from the Lake front. We had a balcony and a large terrace where we sat most evenings with a drink and looked out across Lake Maggiore towards the Swiss Alps. Most days we could see as far as the snow on the mountains and the nighttime vista was magic. Once we watched a storm travel across our vision from left to right, totally missing Stresa. Rossana, the owner, is a lovely young lady and made our stay very comfortable. Stresa itself is a very pretty town and we explored the Borromean Islands by Ferry and took the Lake Maggiore Express tour, which every tourist should do. This part of our Italian holiday can only be described as magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the view, the view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sn0wman56
Miami, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views, location”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed here for a very relaxing and enjoyable week. Everything is close by and the views are fantastic.
Rossana was a very good host - most helpful with tips on places to see and where to eat.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: views, location
Liked least: stairs when carrying luggage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larsonjo
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Apartment in a Fab Location”
Reviewed 1 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this 3rd floor apartment for four nights.
It was very comfortable and located on the lake front with fantastic views of the lake and the islands.
Rossana was an excellent host meeting us on our arrival at 10 30 at night and arranging for us to get some food(and wine) from the restaurant next door which was closing for the night.
The wood pellet burning stove in the living room was a nice bonus for the chilly evenings.
Well recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs 3rd floor ans some traffic noise
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henk L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing