We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and lake view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
David F
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and lake view”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The third floor apartment was located on the south end of Stresa's old town, 100 metres from the ferry wharf, and 200 metres from the bus to Malpensa. It had a stunning view over Lake Maggiore, Rossanna, our host was very friendly and helpful and the apartment was well maintained/presented.

The only downsides were the sixty steps up to the apartment, and the tight layout of the bathroom. There was a dishwasher which we did not use, but no microwave or clothes washing machine (there is a laundromat nearby in the old town).

At the third floor entrance level there was the very compact bathroom (shower, bidet, toilet, basin, great lighting, no bath), the kitchen/dining/living space with glass doors and a balcony looking over the lake, and a very spacious outside patio where we ate whenever it was not raining. The large bed was up in the spacious loft, up a further set of steep stairs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Stresa, our last stop in Italy, helped in no small part by this apartment and its great location and view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and lake view
Liked least: Stairs for my wife
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen A
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Location, Best view & Best Value”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment is a gem, Rossana was very accommodation with our last minute request 11pm the night before. She was contactable on mobile and email. We arrived and up to the 3rd floor the views are right before you from the kitchen/living area and the large terrace the bedroom is a loft with high windows which open and you can see out to the lake as well. The kitchen is so well equipped even spare tablecloths. The cafes and restaurant are literally only a few metres away. Try the Gigi bar for your espresso int he morning and Savoy for a cold coffee in the afternoon. We would have stayed longer than 2 nights however it is in high demand. Will visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbperth
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maggiore in all it's glory..”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Rarely do you find a place that is actually better than the pictures. The views , the space, the location and the hosting all exceeded our expectations. Rossana made us feel like family friends. The apartment was fabulous with views that were so awesome - the lake , the ferries coming and going at our doorstep, the hubbub from the street below , the sounds of the lake at night. Even watching the rain on the lake when the weather changed. The apartment is on the third floor and there are internal stairs in the apartment so be prepared to climb. But what wonderful marble stairs they are! The building is so beautiful inside so don't be misled by the conservative outside appearance. The deck is massive , private and for our use only. Restaurants are aplenty nearby. We loved Portico for great food and friendly helpful staff. The ferry rides to the islands and the lakeshore towns are sublime.We love this place and we love this apartment. we are coming back for a much longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the deck
Liked least: Loved it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fantastic apartment, and a fantastic location, right on the edge of the beautiful lake. Rossana was very friendly and helpful, detailing some restaurants and bars locally to try out, all of which were lovely. The apartment had everything we needed and was very clean and well laid out for a very relaxing week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace over the lake
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn F
Droitwich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great find on the lakeside”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Once you've tackled the stairs to this top (3rd) floor flat, the views over Lake Maggiore are amazing. The Owner has other, more accessible flats in the building, if stairs are a problem! She speaks good English and gave us a warm welcome and some excellent recommendations for eating places, which we tried and agreed with. She even explained the complex recycling rota for the six bins!!
The living room/kitchen is large enough but not hugely spacious, with a modern, well-fitted kitchen. The full height doors open onto a small balcony, with a much larger terrace nextdoor, both with fantastic views of the lake.
The bathroom was compact but well-equipped. The large bedroom was up another set of internal stairs i.e. not on the same floor as the bathroom. It had very good storage facilities and again, super views.
This was our first visit to Stresa, so spent the week fitting the many recommended tourist trips around the slightly unpredictable weather ..... after all, it was only May!
We took walking boots and enjoyed the Chestnut Walk and walking from the top of Mottorone to the Alpine Gardens (which we found disappointing compared to all the other beautiful gardens of the area).
The hop-on, hop-off boat services are great but DO take note of the last times of boats, as people can get caught out, particularly on a Sunday, when there may be no alternatives!
Do look at the website for Stresatravel which gives lots of good advice, as do the English-speaking ladies in the travel agency along the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the apartment on the lakeside - and the English speaking owner!
Liked least: The stairs - but we came home fitter!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5762Trave...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Possible Location”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was small and simple but adequate. The view however, was exceptional. It's location, so close to town ,and on the waterfront, made this apartment a perfect place to stay. The hostess was friendly and helpful and she had good advice. We enjoyed a comfortable visit and would love to spend many more hours on the massive deck just absorbing the beauty of the Lake and its surrounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massive patio and the view
Liked least: The aparment was a little cramped for 3 people.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
thanks for your opinion just to be correct that I am not an hostess I am the owner and the apartment "simple" is a modern kitchen "salvarani" and the big double bed is not the one you normally find in a holiday home but is with orthopedic mattress.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar03
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, wonderful view”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This apartment is so fantastic we are planning on staying again in 2015, this time for 2wks. It is in a perfect location opposite the ferry terminal and with the lake on your doorstep. the terrace is wonderful and we made good use of it starting with breakfast every morning. The owner, Rosanna, is lovely and very helpful offering many suggestions on things to do and places to eat, buy groceries, bread etc. She even came to say goodbye on the night before our departure as we were on the 6.28am Alibus back to Milan airport. I can not recommended this apartment highly enough and will be telling all our friends about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right on Lake Maggoire with a huge terrace and wonderful view
Liked least: nothing it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Hi shar and steve very glad to hear from you ! I really hope to come and visit your beautiful country in australia . with all my best wishes . Ross
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing