We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Palma(Stresa)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$320/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Royal(Stresa)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
227
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid pennymr pepperwonderful hostsfruit saladtheir beautiful homehomemade preserveslake maggiorehighly recommend this b bwonderful stayeach morningthree night staymaggiore expressview from the balconycable carmountainsalessistopover
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

David and Penny are great hosts and they have a lovely place. Breakfast is superb and the rooms are spatious and comfortable. The House is in a fantastic location and has great views of the mountain. The benefit of very good local knowledge from David and Penny is invaluable and made the trip even better. I would recommend anyone staying in Lake Maggiore to stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chriscoates146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, Penny and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and really appreciate you taking the time to write a recommendation. Best wishes to you both.

Our warmest regards
David and Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

David, Penny, Bess, Buddy and Mr Cat are fantastic! The view from the house is amazing. We came there on our honeymoon with no plans except to relax. And they made the stay much more memorable than we could wish for.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravlingMases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Well thank you and Wow !!! What an accolade,Only a few words but they mean so much. Penny and I are absolutely delighted that we contributed in a small way to making your honeymoon relaxing. It was truly a pleasure making your acquaintance and we hope that you will come and see us again,"we miss your warm humour and big smiles at breakfast". Maybe next time you mentioned bringing some close friends?
Our warmest regards and thank you once again for your kindness, and for your thoughtfulness in writing such a fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

David and Penny were great. Excellent communication from the start. Nice private room, amazing breakfasts, wonderful restaurant around the corner, we ate there every night. David gives excellent recommendations for things to see, maps and all. David and Penny really go the extra mile. Great stay at a great price. Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnagary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation.We strive to provide a home from home atmosphere whilst maintaining high standards of hospitality and always respecting guests privacy, Penny and I are always on hand to give advice or provide information if sought. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review, it is so rewarding for us as hosts, but your recommendation is a further reassurance to other prospective guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

The hosts David and Penny go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. The breakfasts are something to behold, big variety of cereals, fruit salad, various types of breads, cheeses and cold cuts. Home made preserves are also offered. David will recommend the best sights to visit and the best restaurants to go to for lunch or dinner. If required he will also collect guests from the local airport. Highly recommend this B&B, for it’s great value for money and the personal touch extended to guests by the hosts

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ukkuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments, and for taking the time to write. It is really appreciated and is also so reassuring for new clients considering making a booking.
It has been a pleasure making your acquaintance and we hope that you will return again in the not too distant future.
Our warmest regards

David and Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I had contacted David & Penny to ask if they knew anyone who could teach us some Italian & David was quick to offer Penny's services!

So , for 6 days we partook of their wonderful hospitality, great breakfasts & lovely room.

After having a daily Italian lesson we did some great walking & eating in the area, always returning "home" to a very warm welcome.

Oh, and Penny is a lovely teacher as well as hostess.

Totally recommended !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KenLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at La Casa del Giardiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

A big thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to provide hospitality to such a kind and thoughful couple.The language class was wonderful and gave Miss Penny great satisfaction in teaching such eager pupils.
Our warmest regards
David and Penny, see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews