We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe next time.........” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regina Palace
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Maybe next time.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

OK...we didn't really stay here,but, I stopped in there to ask for directions and the staff was very helpful. While I was there I was quite impressed by the old style elegance of the hotel, and later brought my wife back, so that she could see what I was talking about.We sat in the lobby, and took in the ambiance.......pretty nice. Next time at Lake Maggiore, this is where we're staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    423
    190
    69
    41
See reviews for
164
634
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Regina Palace is a beautiful Victorian hotel on Lake Maggiore, well-appointed and perfectly located. The closest Grand hotel to the main town, it is about ½ mi. down from the train station, and a long block from the bus area. We were thrilled to have free underground parking on property, quite rare in Stresa. The building is stunning, silk walls, polished silver, flourishing plants, waiters in white coats, brocade on furniture and Murano chandeliers everywhere including guest rooms. The rooms are very nice, just large enough, with modern baths. Windows and French doors open for breezes or have shutters for privacy or darkening. The a/c was not operational because it was late Sept., but we were comfortable. The minibar fridge cooled our bevs and snacks. The breakfast buffet was very nice, excellent coffee and service in a stunning ballroom. We arrived very early at 9:30am, but only had to wait an hour (had the breakfast buffet) before checking in. Our waiter knew what rooms we were in before we did… very good staff coordination. They have an elegant, white-glove restaurant with guerdon service, which would be wonderful for a special dinner.
Our only complaint was the wifi… 17 euro for 24 hours, or 5 euro for :30 mins… even the guest computer in the lobby had a fee. We rented a portable wifi hotspot with our car (5 euro/day) so we would have ability to go online anywhere which was an excellent solution
We adored the proximity to the lake, ferries, all transport, great restaurants and gelaterias… it was a wonderful stay – highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice and save 1/3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank espritcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We loved the location of Hotel Regina Palace in Stresa, it is on the bank of the lake and affords some stunning views.
However, the attitude of the staff left a lot to be desired. It seemed to us that they thought they were working in a much grander hotel than they were, and needed to display attitude to their guests. Incredible.
The decor was over-the-top, and the rooms were positively gaudy, (despite the lovely facade from the lake-bank).
Our air-conditioning did not work, and to be fair, they did change our room. However, the air conditioning did not work here either. The front-desk staff asked us why we needed it in the first place since we could always open the windows. Seriously? In any case, we didn't have a choice since it was late at night and too warm to do otherwise. The result was bugs flying in, and a lot of noise from the road. So an uncomfortable night that only became worse when a large band started playing under our window on Sunday morning. The band was very good, but the last thing we needed after a terrible night.
The breakfast was nice, and the capuccino was delicious. Just not good enough reason for us to ever go back.

Room Tip: Make sure the air-conditioning works as soon as you are shown your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AartiSethiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a 10 day tour of Italy. Beautiful hotel and surroundings. Hope to return someday for a more relaxing stay. Attractions and shopping available. Food for our tour group was better than what we would have at some of our other stops.

Room Tip: I believe all have small balconies which on any side of the hotel have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryElizabeth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Walking into the hotel through the back door (car parking and taxi drop off) to the check in desk in no way prepares you for the beauty of the lobby. It has undergone some serious work since my last visit when it looked tired. Now it is fresh and bright and to get the full effect you must walk up from the main road through the garden and directly into the lobby. The decor and the grand staircase are stunning. The bar area although large can be quite cosy and the restaurants and food top it off nicely. I wasn't impressed with my room but I slept well and wasn't in Stresa to sit in a hotel room all day, far too much to see. Breakfast on the terrace was an added bonus. A wonderful place to stay for business or pleasure although some might find the decor over the top. The front desk staff can be somewhat "trying" at times but the restaurant and cleaning staff more than made up for that by being friendly, helpful and extremely good at their jobs.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, then in the middle overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My fiancee and I traveled to Italy in June. We spent our first night at Regina Palace and I truly wish we had stayed longer! The staff went out of their way to make us dinner reservations and give directions to the most wonderful little restaurant! The highlight of the palace is the grotto spa beneath the hotel, which is both romantic and relaxing. We will definitely return on our next trip.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the lake for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a very nice Hotel, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The views are stunning, overlooking the Lake or the gardens. Overall a very pleasant experience.
My only critism would be the unfriendly staff. It doesn't take much effort to smile !!!! Come on let the clients keeping you in employment meet a happy chappie!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Property: Regina Palace
Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing