We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Regina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regina Palace
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This gem has been preserved in her original grandeur. There is a magical charm to this place for sure. The views of the lake and Italian Alps are amazing. Location is perfect as it is just a short walk to the main square to explore. Take in a late evening stroll along the waterfront too. Under ground parking for no charge was a treat also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake - worth it - and if you have a balcony even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Ledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with lovely grand features - the huge chandelier and staircase in the entrance lobby with its couches, chairs and antique piano. Our room on the 1st floor was very comfortable with a good-sized balcony overlooking the lake. The bathroom was large with 'his and her' wash-hand basins and a shower over the whirlpool bath. The service we received from all the staff was excellent. We ate in the a la carte Charleston restaurant each evening. We had booked half board and expected to be in the other restaurant, but as the hotel was not busy, they accommodated us in the Charleston. I was not too keen on the a la carte menu - veal cheek, venison and duck, so I was able to order basically what I wanted, which was a real bonus. It felt like having your own personal chef. My husband however, thoroughly enjoyed the a la carte menu. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The waiters were very welcoming and made sure everything was just as you wanted. Breakfast too was good - great choice of hot and cold buffets. The hotel inside was the same as the last time we were there - about 13 years ago, but the new (to us) underground car park was great. We had a look at the new pool and gym complex as well which looked very inviting. The hotel is in a very good location for the lakeside promenade, the ferry embarkation and the lovely shops. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoggieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Impressive building with beautiful gardens and lawns. The hotel is of another era, but has been maintained to its original Victorian grandeur.
Our room (no 421) had a lovely view of the lake with a small balcony. There outdoor chairs to sit on bit it was a bit of a squeeze to get into them. The bed was quite firm but comfortable.
The spacious marble Bathroom felt as if it had been recently updated. There was a large separate shower, with fixed head, in addition to a spa bath. Fantastic water pressure! Only criticism was that the toilet was is an awkward position.
The Sporting Club on the -1 level has to been seen to be believed. It consists of a semi-underground pool that has been deigned to make you feel like you are in a cave. There are several saunas and cubicles where ice drops from the side of the "cave".
There is also a huge separate outdoor pool in the gardens out the back of the hotel together with a tennis court.
There are many exquisitely decorated ballrooms, and hallways - it's fun exploring the vast hotel premises and grounds. Breakfast in the large ornate dining area facing the lake is a memorable event - but it is packed with older European tour groups.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

OK...we didn't really stay here,but, I stopped in there to ask for directions and the staff was very helpful. While I was there I was quite impressed by the old style elegance of the hotel, and later brought my wife back, so that she could see what I was talking about.We sat in the lobby, and took in the ambiance.......pretty nice. Next time at Lake Maggiore, this is where we're staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Regina Palace is a beautiful Victorian hotel on Lake Maggiore, well-appointed and perfectly located. The closest Grand hotel to the main town, it is about ½ mi. down from the train station, and a long block from the bus area. We were thrilled to have free underground parking on property, quite rare in Stresa. The building is stunning, silk walls, polished silver, flourishing plants, waiters in white coats, brocade on furniture and Murano chandeliers everywhere including guest rooms. The rooms are very nice, just large enough, with modern baths. Windows and French doors open for breezes or have shutters for privacy or darkening. The a/c was not operational because it was late Sept., but we were comfortable. The minibar fridge cooled our bevs and snacks. The breakfast buffet was very nice, excellent coffee and service in a stunning ballroom. We arrived very early at 9:30am, but only had to wait an hour (had the breakfast buffet) before checking in. Our waiter knew what rooms we were in before we did… very good staff coordination. They have an elegant, white-glove restaurant with guerdon service, which would be wonderful for a special dinner.
Our only complaint was the wifi… 17 euro for 24 hours, or 5 euro for :30 mins… even the guest computer in the lobby had a fee. We rented a portable wifi hotspot with our car (5 euro/day) so we would have ability to go online anywhere which was an excellent solution
We adored the proximity to the lake, ferries, all transport, great restaurants and gelaterias… it was a wonderful stay – highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice and save 1/3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank espritcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We loved the location of Hotel Regina Palace in Stresa, it is on the bank of the lake and affords some stunning views.
However, the attitude of the staff left a lot to be desired. It seemed to us that they thought they were working in a much grander hotel than they were, and needed to display attitude to their guests. Incredible.
The decor was over-the-top, and the rooms were positively gaudy, (despite the lovely facade from the lake-bank).
Our air-conditioning did not work, and to be fair, they did change our room. However, the air conditioning did not work here either. The front-desk staff asked us why we needed it in the first place since we could always open the windows. Seriously? In any case, we didn't have a choice since it was late at night and too warm to do otherwise. The result was bugs flying in, and a lot of noise from the road. So an uncomfortable night that only became worse when a large band started playing under our window on Sunday morning. The band was very good, but the last thing we needed after a terrible night.
The breakfast was nice, and the capuccino was delicious. Just not good enough reason for us to ever go back.

Room Tip: Make sure the air-conditioning works as soon as you are shown your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AartiSethiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a 10 day tour of Italy. Beautiful hotel and surroundings. Hope to return someday for a more relaxing stay. Attractions and shopping available. Food for our tour group was better than what we would have at some of our other stops.

Room Tip: I believe all have small balconies which on any side of the hotel have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryElizabeth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#12 of 35 in Stresa
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: £128 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing