We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great location, friendly staff, large, clean room, BUT we were there in mid july and the air conditioning in our room would not cool it past the low 80's. After a terrible 1st nights sleep I asked the front desk and they set the minimum temperature (controlled by them not by the thermostat on the wall) lower, after a day exploring stresa and the islands the room was still warm and they turned down the temp some more. The room was still in the 80's. I went to the desk at midnight and the lobby was dark. The next morning they offered to change our room but we had enough and checked out a day early. The front desk staff was very apologetic and although we had booked 3 nights, after a call to management they only charged for the two (restless) nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schafer1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Moderno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a room with a balcony facing the busy plaza. and always had something interesting to look at. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast buffet was good. Staff was extremely nice and helpful, we got better and more valuable information from them than at the Tourist Information Office!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gromness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Service and quality in this hotel was well above average, for the price paid. Location and helpfulness of the staff ( giving directions, parking instructions to find free spots, and even translating my postcard into Italian ) were the best features, but the room and breakfast were very acceptable too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My partner and I stayed here to attend a wedding in August 2011. The hotel was in a perfect situation, central to shops, restaurants and bars plus near everything including the 'beach'.
Our room was spacious, clean and did overlook the lake albeit in the distance - a clever photo made the lake appear much closer. Only downside was that our room was directly beneath the clock tower that struck twice a day, very loudly!!
Breakfast is continental, plentiful and varied. Staff were friendly and efficient without being 'in your face'.
Air conditioning wasn't working at all during our stay but apparently aircon engineers are in short supply in Stresa.

Room Tip: For the view choose a room at the front of the hotel but take ear plugs!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

What we loved:
*The extremely central location, close to the centre and restaurants, and close to the parking/
*The spacious and clean room
*The great light filled bathroom with plenty of warm water
*The super friendly staff

What we like a little less:
*The somewhat outdated decoration of the room (it was very pink!)
*The breakfast (it was ok but not great, we ate it because it was included but wouldn't have paid for it)

What we really didn't like:
*The noise (our room was overlooking the inside patio, not the street, but it was still very noisy and we could hear every movement in the corridor and neighbouring rooms
*The very hard pillows. They were stone-like, seriously our head would not even sink it because they were so hard. We woke up every morning with a sore neck because of them. The mattresses were pretty firm too, but that's something we like so it was ok for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am7885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet sidestreet near the lake front and beside good eating and drinking places. The staff are friendly and helpful, they mostly speak good English. Bedrooms and public rooms are very clean. Bedrooms are rather sparsely furnished but of good size and comfortable. There is adequate free parking on streets within 200 metres. There is fast free wifi in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Great hotel, perfect location in the centre of town, not far from the harbour and main carpark, adorable multilingual staff, excellent food, we had the chef's set menu every evening in the gazebo outside. Superb value for money! Can warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: 315 has a wonderful view of the lively piazza.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#16 of 35 in Stresa
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#22 of 35 in Stresa
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#29 of 35 in Stresa
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#23 of 35 in Stresa
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#17 of 35 in Stresa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range: £97 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moderno Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing