We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel,lovely staff, good spot”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is in centre of Stresa just two minutes from lake front. Food good, staff mannerable and helpful and rooms clean. Towels changed daily, bedlinen every two days. Our room faced front, with a balcony and a narrow view of the lake which was lovely. The bell tower of church right outside but not an inconvenience.Would go there again.

Room Tip: hgih floor facing front with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 924sheila70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

but nothing special. We stayed here for several nights and had a room right across from the church bell tower so we were loudly serenaded a few times but nothing that interfered with sleep. The room was an adequate size but the "shower" was set up in such a way that it was impossible to use. Mattress could have been a little firmer on the bed but it was not terrible. The restaurant food was good but no really special dishes. Staff were professional. Location makes for an easy walk to the lake or around town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelyn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had a very spacious room with balcony with two chairs overlooking a cobblestone plaza. With the balcony doors closed at night, we were not bothered by street noise. It was October, cool evenings. Used thermostat in room for heat. When it didn't get warm enough, office staff graciously turned up the heat. Comfortable room and beds. Excellent friendly staff that made us feel very welcome. Had great wi -fi, no charge. Breakfast was plentiful with a wonderful selection...one of the best we have had! Staff suggested a free parking location. Staff was more informative than the tourist office, which was of minimal help. Perfect location with numerous restaurants, bars, shops right there. The ferry boat dock and water front about a three minute walk. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it and if isn't what you expect, ask to see one or two mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Solesonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here in early September. Everyone mentions a nice balcony in their review. Our balcony was so tiny that all you could do is stand there. We looked out and saw everyone with chairs sitting and smoking on their balcony. We asked to be changed to a room with a larger balcony but none were available for two nights. Oh well!
The breakfast was disappointing. Come on, this is Italy. Not even fresh fruit?
When you go down to breakfast, they ask for your room number. Then they run upstairs and make your bed and change the towels. That counts as having your room cleaned. So after breakfast which took no more than 10 min, your room was "cleaned". And don't look for the 'do not disturb' sign because it does not exist. And the room key weighs a ton.
They had a restaurant that was open for dinner but we never saw anyone eating there. There is a grocery store around the block. Great to buy a bottle of wine.
We came in by train which was a 15 min walk to hotel. There is a convenient bus to Milan airport in front of the church for 12 euro. It takes one hour.

Room Tip: Go to the Sky Bar at the Hotel La Palma. Couple of blocks away. View is beautiful. Buy some drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labern116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The rooms are fine and we had a nice little balcony out to the street side. Which is a problem if you are a light sleeper. The noise from loud people on a saturday night was considerable, and a problem for my girlfriend. Clocktower were two meters away from our window, but unlike other churches around the lake, it didn't ring all night long. But you sure will hear it from around 8 in the morning.

You will have the noise problem in any street facing room in most of Stresa on a weekend.

Breakfast was standard Italian. Ask for real coffee, and they'll make it, no charge, instead of the nescafe machine stuff.

Overall, noisy but friendly and well worth the price.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I really liked this hotel set one street back from Lake Maggiore. It is a traditional Italian style hotel and is very clean and comfortable. The bedroom was spacious and modern with a small balcony. The Hotel is air conditioned and it is controlled centrally at reception. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the towels and linen were changed frequently. The breakfast was basic cold buffet style, evening meals were better. I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

stayed here end of july beginning of august ,average for a italian hotel .breakfast was usual cold meats and cheese flakes etc.couple of mornings not much left and very slow to fill up,one morning orange ran out ,it took ages for it to be filled up.evening meal was ok but nothing special. room was ok cleaned every day.would i stay here again.YES. i have stayed in worse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#16 of 35 in Stresa
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#18 of 35 in Stresa
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#29 of 35 in Stresa
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#22 of 35 in Stresa
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#12 of 35 in Stresa
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#23 of 35 in Stresa
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range: £87 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moderno Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing