We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the Lakes”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visiting the Lakes”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were on an organised trip and had Bed and Breakfast and Evening Meal. The room we had overlooked the swimming pool at the back of the hotel and was lovely. It was very roomy with a settee and chair in it as well as the bed etc.. The bathroom was also very large. It was a very clean hotel and the staff were very helpful and efficient. The breakfast was very much the same every morning and the evening meal was adequate but not a very exciting menu. The one night they had a Gala Dinner they excelled themselves as it was excellent. The hotel was in a great position overlooking Lake Maggiore .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunrelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    199
    69
    31
    6
See reviews for
63
305
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our first time in Lake Maggiore and this hotel is in a great position for exploring the area. It is lakeside and only a few minutes walk to the centre of Stresa and the boat landing stages. We went B and B only as we like to explore local cuisine. We had a rear room overlooking the swimming pool. Yes the window blinds are very noisy as is the weekly glass bin collection. It was nicely furnished with adequate bathroom and good hot shower and bath. Housekeeping was good. Breakfast not so good. Only hot option are eggs scrambled or boiled. Tinned cut fruit and a toaster that took ages to brown. Why don't these continental hotels have more than one toaster that works well. Reception staff all spoke English and other languages and were helpful. Bar prices as always a bit expensive.
I would return but would go Band B again as there are lots of decent restaurants in Stresa all with good staff with good choices. Trips to the islands are a must but go very early to avoid the tours and use the headsets for information. On Isola Bella there is a lakeside cafe with guitar memorabilia from all over the world. Well worth a look.
Over age 65 travellers can get discounts on ferries and other amenities but no one tells you. You have to ask and prove age with passport/driving licence etc. Ferry timetables are a bit confusing so be prepared to ask to get around. Best offer is pay a extra €10 with the Lake Maggiore Express day out ticket to get next day unlimited travel on the lake. Also if going to the islands buy a pass at the same time for all the gardens and houses.

Room Tip: A lake view room would be better but how much time do you spend in it to pay the extra?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Astoria was a good choice of hotel for us. It was near to the shops, ferry and station. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. It was on the small side but adequate. Maybe we should have booked a Junior Suite instead! It was definitely worth having the lake view though, the rooms at the back did overlook the pool but also overlooked other buildings. The air-conditioning wasn't working but was fixed promptly when reported.
The staff are friendly and welcoming. The restaurant and bar areas were beautifully decorated with good furnishings. The food was OK, nothing special, except for one evening when there was a gala buffet which was very nice.
We enjoyed our holiday, Stresa is lovely and there are plenty of seats along the promenade which has green spaces and trees, lit up at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stresa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The location was excellent, room with balcony overlooking lake was first class
(Superior Chosen) Breakfast the same menu everyday, the kitchen service area backed onto swimming pool very noisy when bottle bank empited

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for the attractions in and around Stresa. It is a short walk to the ferry terminal, restaurants and shops and has a beautiful view of the lake from the dining room. We had a room on the second floor which was a generous size and had a large balcony overlooking the pool and mountains. The bathroom was spacious and had both a bath and a shower with plenty of hot water, however, it was a bit dated and worn and some of the fixtures needed replacing. The plumbing is really loud and we were woken early every morning by someone running a bath in the next room. The window blinds being opened and closed were also very noisy.

Breakfast was replenished by the helpful waiters but it consisted of virtually the same options every day. Some hot alternatives would have been welcome. The fruit was tinned except on one of the seven days we were there. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but really enjoyed some of the lovely restaurants and pizzerias which had a very pleasant atmosphere with customers of all ages and nationalities.

The swimming pool was very clean and well maintained with ample sun-beds available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lettyharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked on a Riveria Tavel holiday to Lake Maggiore and on arrival at the hotel we were shocked. The hotel presents a grand facade and lobby but our room was a tiny box room facing onto the fire escape. We were advised in the brochure that all rooms either faced the lake or the garden at the rear. There was not room to swing a cat, we complained and the hotel manager responded in excellent fashion. We were shown alternative rooms, both were much bigger than the original, we finally opted for a room looking over the garden. Our cases were moved for us by the staff and we were very pleased with the room and the way the siutation had been resolved.
The meals were waiter service and mostly were very tasty and the sunday evening buffet was an amazing array of very tasty dishes.
The staff at this hotel make it what it is. They are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Stresa was a great place to stay and we had a fabulous holiday. The Riviera rep had everything organised for every trip and was very informative. Stresa is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Avoid room Number 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanM2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a most enjoyable week at the Astoria, which is a very friendly, family-run hotel at an ideal site on the bank of Lake Maggiore. The meals were excellent, with a good choice of high quality cuisine. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend the Astoria.

Room Tip: It is well worthwhile to pay the modest supplement for a room overlooking the lake. The view is mag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iandjpile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#10 of 35 in Stresa
1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 31, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Astoria is a modern hotel in Stresa on the lake Maggiore, centrally situated near the Congress Hall Palazzo dei Congressi Stresa. The Hotel enjoys a splendid view of the Borromeo Gulf, its islands and the Alps. Balcony rooms overlook the magnificent lake scenery or the lovely garden, with heated swimming pool and snack bar. The restaurant, lounge and bar are extremely pleasant, spacious and welcoming. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with bath or shower, hairdryer, mini-bar satellite TV, radio, telephone and free wi-fi. Suites with hydromassage bath are provided. Normal room charges also include unlimited use of gym, Turkish bath, car park and the panoramic roof-garden with its games area, solarium, table tennis and Whirl-pool conference facilities and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy
Hotel Astoria Stresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing