We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall lovely but food rotten.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overall lovely but food rotten.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The foyer is lovely as we're the check in staff. Two lifts to take you to your room. Room had a huge bed and an acceptable balcony. Bathroom had lots of towels. The balcony had a role down shutter to help keep out both the sun and noise.
The view is simply breathtaking. None of the pictures do it justice.
The swimming pool is pretty, shaded from the wind and warm.
Then we get to the food. Awful! We told them before we booked that one of us was a vegetarian and we were assured that there was plenty of choice of veggie food. So, first night's dinner and what are we offered? An omelette. There isn't even a salad buffet. We had booked with Riviera Travel and so did not get the full menu. After we complained about the omelette option my partner was then offered the veggie section of the full menu. This amounted to two pasta meals( he tried both, both almost tasteless), or a few side salads. The bar was the most expensive we tried on the whole week.

So, book to stay here on a B and B basis and you should be fine. The town has lots of high quality places to eat. We had dinner in two( reviews to follow) and loved everything we had.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a lake side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    178
    66
    30
    5
See reviews for
58
285
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our second stay in this hotel and once again we were not disappointed; the location is perfect, straight on the promenade and a few minutes walk from the center. Despite the interior looks a little bit old-fashioned, the room (take one with a lake view = must!!) was very spacious (2 balconies) and clean; the same with the bathroom...
There is a lovely swimmingpool (we didn't use this year because of the weather), and a free parking... WIFI (free) works quickly....
The staff is really nice and helpfull; we have also eaten twice in the restaurant and the diner was very good...
Maybe one negative point: the breakfast is poor: no fresh juice, the coffee is not really tasty and was served cold the second day and the choice is very limited....
But beside this, I still recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: Take always a room with lake view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luc_demeulemeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Despite a gloomy rainy stay, the staff was great and this old hotel is really kept up. You really feel the vibe of this European property. Its location was perfect for a stroll or old town restaurants or shops as well as the train station and ferry dock.

Room Tip: Super location and most rooms face the beautiful Lago Maggiore. Magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

First class service from very friendly staff, brilliant room overlooking a beautiful lake good food limited choice of menu , great pool and bar area. location very central with easy access to town , cable cars boats etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a family of four with my wife's parents last summer (July 2013) as part of a Riviera Travel tour and had a fantastic time.

The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble for them - and the food and service at mealtimes was excellent.

Our rooms overlooked the rear of the hotel and although we missed out on the view of the lake, we did get the afternoon sun which was great for sitting out on the balcony.

We'd readily recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Lake Maggiore and Stresa.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear (swimming pool side) get the afternoon sun and a view of the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GraniteCity86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Astoria between 6th-12th April 2014. We did not realise that this was literally before Stresa's summer season and therefore some places within the area were not yet open/available. However there was still plenty to do.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and polite during our visit- especially the barman, Gian-Luca, who was constantly providing useful tips/recommendations for our visit as well as being a lovely man to have met. The bellboy who's name we didn't catch was also extremely polite and was there to take our luggage as soon as we parked behind the hotel.

The hotel itself was wonderful and extremely clean. The room we stayed in (Superior double room) was a little dated and could do with a slight make over (e.g. New carpet and a newer bed, which was quite hard) the shower door had a constant leak when in use and so we had to place a lot of towels down. However this didn't affect or ruin our stay.
We paid for a 'garden view' but due to our room being on the side of the hotel, we were lucky to have a beautiful view of the lake as well.

Overall, we would defiantly return to Stresa and would highly consider staying at Hotel Astoria again. Very pleased!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gullane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Excellent as part of a Riviera holiday package.
Very good staff, good location and good value for money with all our tours included.
The lake view rooms are rather small but very well appointed.
Easy access to Stesa which is a super location and some great shopping.
45 minutes from Milan airport.
Good location too for getting to Switzerland, lake Como and lake Orta.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank scotland26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 31, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Astoria is a modern hotel in Stresa on the lake Maggiore, centrally situated near the Congress Hall Palazzo dei Congressi Stresa. The Hotel enjoys a splendid view of the Borromeo Gulf, its islands and the Alps. Balcony rooms overlook the magnificent lake scenery or the lovely garden, with heated swimming pool and snack bar. The restaurant, lounge and bar are extremely pleasant, spacious and welcoming. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with bath or shower, hairdryer, mini-bar satellite TV, radio, telephone and free wi-fi. Suites with hydromassage bath are provided. Normal room charges also include unlimited use of gym, Turkish bath, car park and the panoramic roof-garden with its games area, solarium, table tennis and Whirl-pool conference facilities and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy
Hotel Astoria Stresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing