We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, but let down by the restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Bristol
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Carlisle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice room, but let down by the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

The heading says it all really, room was luxurious with superb views over the lake. Breakfast was ok, but we dined once in the evening and were left disappointed. But a nice enough place to stay.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    368
    153
    49
    30
See reviews for
191
451
21
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riffa, Bahrain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Forget about the scenery which is stunning, forget about the property because it's really nice but if there's one thing that I will take back from this hotel stay, it's how easy going and accommodating the staff are.

From the moment I parked my rental car until I left five days later, I felt totally relaxed throughout this visit. They don't have a valet to park but the parking garage is within a minute's walk from the hotel lobby. You self-park your car and you don't know how comforting that feels when you don't need to wait for someone to bring your car to you.

The reception when I arrived was very friendly and took no time and a few minutes later, I was whisked to a beautiful room with stunning scenery! I was tired because I have been driving all day so at night I elected to have dinner in my room. Well surprise surprise, when I ordered an appetizer and a main dish i got served just like I was sitting in a restaurant. I got the appetizer before and when i finished, I got my main dish! Very unusual but impressive nonetheless.

I am so glad that I went to this beautiful part of Italy! I will go again, that's for sure, and I will probably stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Please ask for Lake view rooms because they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maseroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

First off I was checked into a room which had a recently painted door drying off (not wet but tacky!).
After twenty minutes it so eventually went to reception and got another room
They punish you in this hotel I think for complaining..
Replacement room smaller,cold and noisy...
Now I fixed the heating and put up with the noise but I think the main issue for me was lack of management...
Tried so many times on the phone to speak to the duty manager without avail.
This is my worst experience and would suggest getting a b&b or sleeping in the car....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kennymac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Brilliant location with magnificent views. Our room was on the third floor facing the lake, was of an adequate size and, of course, had stunning views - room was clean and comfortable. Overall the decor of the hotel was excellent and facilities were very good - particularly liked the indoor pool and small gym, as well as the outdoor pool. The hotel was well situated for the town, cable car, travelling on the lake and a range of walks to suit all tastes. That was the positive bit, on the negative side there were a number of things that let the hotel down badly.

Although the front of house was always helpful there were disappointments. The principal one was the food. We were on half board and found the general standard of dinner to be mediocre; we had a couple of very good evening meals, but the other eight were not good and sometimes inedible. Waiting staff sometimes under too much pressure to provide an effective service, and sometimes forgot you were there. The breakfast was fine.

The bar area, which was nicely appointed, also suffered from mediocre service with staff disappearing from view and not available to serve; at peak times this was less of a problem but the service still suffered with less than attentive staff. Beware - the drinks are vey expensive.

There was some evening entertainment too.

Overall this was an adequate stay with the positives generally outweighing the negatives.

Room Tip: In respect of the lakeside rooms, seek one with unrestricted views - some have external walls/pillar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sprinter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel promised so much - the outside area is beautiful with flowers and fountains, the lobby and hallways are elegant and palatial. The even have a horizontal elevator - that was a real surprise! The room we had, however, was so tiny that the suitcases were crowding us out. Other people in our tour had very large front rooms that overlooked the lake. We were in a tiny corner room with a smelly bathroom and a shower that sprayed all over everywhere. If I had been more assertive I would have asked for a change. In the right room this would have been a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Be more assertive and ask for a better room if you get stuck in the corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Travelling in May, we were fortunate to obtain a great rate over 3 nights and the Hotel gave us a generous upgrade to a suite overlooking the pool and the most stunning sights over the lake to the Snow Capped Alps.

The room was not large, but well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Its quite a large hotel and in low season it clearly lacks atmosphere, it must be wonderful in high season. The staff were very good, helpful and you could see they valued guests.

Breakfast was good, but if it was not included, I would be more tempted to have a sleep in and an early lunch at one of the many restaurants in town, which is only a 5 minute drive away. Parking on the street was free, but could be a nightmare in peak season.

The location on the lake is wonderful, and the village itself is beautiful, its just such a pretty place. You could easliy spend a week here as there is so much to do, but it is a destination which needs a car to see it all.

A visit to the 3 islands is a must, and the highlight for us which was totally unexpected is the ability to take a day trip a play in the snow, at any time of the year. We got up a bit late but decided to drive over the simplon pass into Switzerland and visit Zermatt. From memory its a 2 -3 hour drive and then a ski tube takes you up to Zermatt, catch the matterhorn express up to more than 4000m and then you feel on top of the world.

Stressa is a wonderful destination with too much to see for only 3 nights but we loved it and would again stay at the Bristol without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinePleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The room we had was very small, it was well furnished but much too small for two people. We had a beautiful view of the lake from the balcony but it was spoilt by the intolerable noise from the road in front of the hotel. We were with a tour group and had half board, the food was so bad that we walked in to the local town for dinner on the last night rather that eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a good view but the noise from the road is unaceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaqckson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol
Address: Corso Umberto 1, 73, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stresa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strikingly elegant Grand Hotel Bristol is set amidst beautifully tended gardens and has a wonderful view over the lake and Borromean Island at the foot of the Alps. Conveniently situated across the road from the lake, and only 300 metres from the centre of Stresa, the hotel’s large swimming pool is set in the immaculate grounds and shares the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There is also an indoor pool at your disposal with two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Bristol Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing