We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Nearby Hotels
US$144
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Palma(Stresa)
US$245
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
US$464
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$209
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elena(Stresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (729)
Filter reviews
729 results
Traveller rating
262
301
118
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
301
118
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrail discoverieslake maggioreopposite the ferry terminaldining roomsweet trolleyhotel reginatop floordessert trolleyextra pillowssmall balconybalcony facing the lakechanged every daybus stopair conditioningrestaurants and shopsreception staffhalf board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 729 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed there in June 2013 and hotel is in ideal location. Service in the restaurant is beyond belief...they could not do enough for us. Very friendly staff and food was great.Room was typical European...AC had a few problems but very comfy.
Only other critical point was the hotel only had pay internet. We have travelled through Greece and Croatia and nearly all hotels had free Wifi in rooms or at the least in foyer. They charged 6 euro per hr or 10 euro for 24 hrs!!

Room Tip: Try for balcony facing lake
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonaLeordean, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Neil,
thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted to satisfy our guests with our restaurant and our kitchen! As far as the Wi-Fi is concerned, we know that this is a problem. Therefore, we are working to solve it. Right this week we canceled the contract with the provider who ran for us the connection and, the end of September, we will offer it for free to our guests.
We are happy you enjoyed our friendly attitude and we hope to welcome you soon again on Lake Maggiore.
Simona Leordean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here May 27, 2013 and it was a truly charming place. It is your typical European hotel with tons of charm and Old World decor. We traveled with our 3 teenagers and they really appreciated the old world charm and the opportunity to stay in such a unique place. The location was unbelievable being right on the lake and just around the corner from the main market area, we were only sorry we only had one night there. We were fortunate to get in early so we were able to get in a quick nap after traveling over from the U.S. The staff was very accommodating and very friendly and inviting. We had two rooms, one lake front and a triple for the kids on the back side of the hotel which was very spacious with an interesting view of the neighborhood and hustle and bustle behind the hotel. There is a charming shop just behind the hotel. The owner has been there for over 40 years. She gave us a private wine tasting along with her oils made for dipping bread. She makes her own Italian herbs and will give you the recipes to make your own Italian masterpieces. Fabulous! We enjoyed the breakfast that was included in our package and thought the selection was great and very typical European. It was the first for the kids so a bit of a surprise but they loved the red orange juice and other fun surprises they had not seen before. This hotel is a winner no matter what they others say. If you are looking for the Ritz, go to the 5 stars down the street but if you want a great hotel for a great price with the best location (just across from the Ferry), then book this hotel for a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonaLeordean, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Wow ! Thank you very much dear Kristin!
This is certainly one of the best reviews we've ever received! Thank you very much, you made our day! We are really happy that your stay was so exciting. Evidently, Stresa is a location made for you. We are waiting for you and for your beautiful boys at the earliest! Dear greetings!
Simona Leordean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just arrived back from a week at the Milan au Lac, the one with the Restaurant, as the hotel consists of two buildings, side by side. The hotel is typically italian decor, some would find it old fashioned, depends on your own taste really, it suited our own needs nicely. Be aware that there is no outside space to the hotel, but the Lake and all its facilities are outside the front door, you will not be disappointed.
We upgraded to a lake view room, (we would recommend this as the views are great) but when we arrived, we thought our room was a bit small, so the reception duly moved us to another on the top floor, which was much better.
The staff could not be more friendly, they all went out of there way to greet you, especially in the dining room where the service is brilliant, and food quality, plain and simple, but generous proportions, and well cooked, and presented very well.
Previous reports stated that they had bad service, lukewarm tea, cannot believe it as they were always asking us if we needed more tea/coffee, they could not have been more helpful.
The ferries and boats arrive / depart from across the road, easy to use, reasonable cost, and very efficient, to get all over the lake.
Excursions around this area are plentiful, bring enough money, as you won't want to miss out, we went to Zermatt in Switzerland, Lake Orta, Milan, all very good value for money, with an english speaking guide, Barbara, very knowledgable, and organises the trips to perfection.
We booked through Thomson/ Crystal lakes & mountains, the Crystal reps were excellent, very helpful when needed.
Will return again, as we had a brilliant holiday, in a beautiful resort, with so much to see and do.

Room Tip: Lake view, but it costs more for this, we thought it was worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yesman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonaLeordean, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Yesman,
thanks for this wonderful review! How nice to know that a guest has enjoyed a pleasant holiday with us! You’re right to highlight the fact that there is no an outdoor area! We would not want that someone could remain surprised for this! Equally fair to remind that we are in the town center, facing the boats landing stage to the islands.We are sure that Stresa offers plenty of opportunites, in any case, to enjoy sun, water and the nature! Thanks for the compliments to the staff and for your valuable suggestions concerning the excursions. You really can visit many beautiful places in the surroundings. See you soon, we’ll be very glad to welcoming you again in our hotel, and kind regards!

Simona Leordean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Have just come back from staying for 5 nights with a group tour.Lovely situation but very small rooms even with a lake view and balcony. As far as half board was concerned, we were treated like second class citizens herded together in a back room and not allowed to move tables.We were refused individual pots of tea at breakfast and given lukewarm tea- revolting! Any dinner choice had to be made 24 hours in advance ....very poor food! Vegetables for dinner consisted of frozen carrots and potatoes one evening. Certainly would not be staying here again.

Room Tip: You need to order a lake view and balcony. Loads of excellent restaurants within a couple of hundred yards so eat out.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfpsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonaLeordean, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear guest,
we are really sorry! If one person leave our hotel disappointed, we know that there is our responsibility. That’s why we never contest your opinions. In your review, there are some points not very clear. The dinner room, where you have been accommodated, is the main room of our restaurant. We do not change the disposition of the tables in order to allow to all the persons taking part of a group to sit together in the same part of the restaurant. I regret that you received at breakfast lukewarm tea, surely has been our mistake! It is a pity that you didn’t reported it to our staff, they could solve the problem easily! The choice of the menu 24 hours in advance is a request that made us the travel agency through you booked your holiday. I’m very sorry to read that you won't came anymore in our hotel! Maybe if you booked by yourself and not with a group, you could have a different experience. You could eat in the veranda and choose the menu “à la carte” on the same evening, just before dinner. We know that for a lot of people the rules of a holiday with a group are an advantage which, obviously, for you have been a limit!
We are never give up and we really trust to have you again our guest!

Simona Leordean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived direct from Malpensa Int. airport, Milan from JFK and by a miracle, our rooms were ready upon arrival. The front desk clerk Chiara was grinning when she told me that we had been upgraded to two lakefront rooms. I thanked her and we were thrilled with the view, overlooking the dock where the Public Lake Steamers came and went. The breakfast buffet was good and the price was right. We booked this hotel through Travelbound, one of the top US Package Tour Operaters, so everything was included. I would stay at this hotel on any trip to Lake Maggiore, and have been to Stresa 3 Times. while ther, make sure to boat over to Isola Bella and visit the Borromeo Palace and Gardens, our teenager grandkids loved the albino Peacocks.

Room Tip: Ask for 440 or 442
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonaLeordean, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Patricia, thanks a lot for your kindness! It has been a great pleasure for us to accommodate you in our hotel and we are very happy that your third visit to Stresa has been so pleasant. We have informed Chiara, our front desk clerk, about your nice comments. You made her day! The Isola Bella with the marvellous peacocks is always very appreciated by the teenagers. We are very happy that you and your grandkids had such a good time. Come back to us soon, we are waiting for you!

Simona Leordean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews