We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very centrally located, family-friendly hotel at Lago Maggiore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milan Speranza Au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very centrally located, family-friendly hotel at Lago Maggiore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

In front of the lake and the Ferry terminal, 2 minutes walk to the main square of Stresa. Very helpful staff, good breakfast buffet, little appartments (2 bedrooms) for families with kids. Very good value for money even during a long weekend. A place to come back to. No gym or pool, however, a deal with another hotel to use ist outdoor pool for free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 69Traveltraveltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonaLeordean, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Travelt
Thanks for calling our hotel “family-friendly”. We can offer some good solutions for families, like the apartments consisting in two connecting rooms. It’s true, we offer also complimentary entrance in the garage parking and outdoor swimming pool situated at 150m. away. We are very happy that you enjoyed the quality of our breakfast and that your stay in the hotel was a nice and a good experience.
We are waiting for you again!

Simona Leordean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    246
    98
    24
    17
See reviews for
142
274
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice hotel with great location opposite the lake and the ferry terminal. We had a room on 1st floor with two big opening windows and views of the lake. The decor is old style, dark carpet, lots of dark timber. Easy walk to shops and restaurants and ferry. Breakfast not to rave about, but dining room very nice and dinner was fine. There are public sitting areas which are quiet and nicely furnished.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake get all the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday at this gem of a hotel. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, especially the maître D ,Raffe, who is brilliant at his job. We had my elderly mother with us and all the staff made her feel so special. Our rooms overlooked the lake, so the views were stunning ! Everywhere in the hotel is spotless and it's location couldn't be better. The sun shone all week , we couldn't have had a more lovely time.
Am 100% sure that we will be back !

Room Tip: always go for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizandJohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Good location across from lake Maggiore. Stayed 2 nights with Cosmos tour. Some people got room with lake views, we have a room with no balcony, window facing next building. Was like a jail ! Asked front desk to change room, they are not helpful, told me they are saving rooms for next group. Shower head spraying water everywhere. Old bedspread balled up blanket.

Our tour director had us changed to a different room on day 2 (we had to pack and unpack again) with balcony and side view of lake. Room is very very small. Also very small vanity, no place to put toiletery. We had to leave them in the clothes closet. Shower door leaked and flooded the floor every time we took shower. Very low water pressure too. The breakfast is bad, no croissant.

Room Tip: When check in, ask front desk what kind of room you are getting. Ask for front rooms facing the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobolee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellently Located overlooking the Lake Maggiore the rooms varied in size and quality, found the staff to be most helpful, the food even though on a tour, was very good baring in mind that this is a largish hotel with lots of covers to cater for at dinner. My only comment would be that the plumbing in my room was very noisy and intrusive to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is right by the lake. I took Alibus from MXP to Stresa ( the ride was about an hour, 12 Euro, good value), the bus dropped me off right acroos the street from the hotel. The location is very convenient for bus riders. From the hotel it's an easy walk to the plazas and restaurants. It's approximately 15 mins walk to Stresa train station.

I had a single room and it's really just designed for one person only. The size of the room, the way it's laid out and the way the bathroom is designed ( just as big as what you would see on a cruise) almost made me feel it was a regular size room cut in half to have two single rooms. Despite the small size, the room is adequate for a night sleep. The room rate was under 100 USD a night at last minute booking included breakfast and internet ( unstable and on the slow side). I consider it's a good bargin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEBinHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed as part of a group excursion and found the hotel very accomodating. Service was excellent and the food was very good. Staff were helpful and friendly. The level of English spoken was quite high.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daleb0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#13 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milan Speranza Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Speranza Au Lac

Property: Milan Speranza Au Lac
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 6/9, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Milan Speranza Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac is composed by two side by side buildings on the lakeside in the centre of Stresa. Both the buildings are equipped by reception, lifts, free WI-FI connection and a free PC corner. There a relax and reading zone, at our customers disposal. The hotel central position is ideal to easily walk to all the places of the most tourist interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Milan Speranza Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Speranza Au Lac Hotel Stresa
Milan Speranza Au Lac Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing