We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel”
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel: Well maintained family run establishment.

Location: Excellent central location on the lakeside at Stresa. 2-3min. walk to ferry and 5min. walk to town centre.

Room: We had a first floor room overlooking the lake. It was spacious, well appointed and decorated. It had a safe and mini-bar.
The bathroom was good and in good condition. The air-con was effective and not too noisy.

Unfortunately it was close to the area from which housekeeping worked and from about 7.30 in the morning there was a fair amount of movement in the corridor. This was not enough of a problem for us to consider asking for a room change. The standard of housekeeping was high.

Dining: There is a large dining room with excellent staff.

Breakfast: there was a choice of tea or coffee , a range of cold juices or mineral water.

The usual range of cold meats, breads, pastries and cakes. However if you were hoping for a wide range of hot food, there was only scrambled egg and bacon.

Dinner: we did not have a disappointing dish, but there was rather more red meat than we would have liked and not enough fish or chicken.

The public areas were all well maintained and the reception staff wonderful.

On the 7th floor there is a rooftop bar, the Skybar. It affords wonderful views over the lake and surrounding mountains. Unfortunately, it becomes very crowded as it can be booked for functions and is open to non residents. Despite the wonderful cheerful, hard working but sometimes overstretched staff it was sometimes difficult to get a drink before dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pagliaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel setting is beautiful! The staff, as well as the mangers, were gracious and welcoming. My daughter had her Wedding rehearsal with cocktails / hors d'oeuvres on the rooftop. The food, service, and view were amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay and the hotel was everything we had hoped for.The location ,right on the lakeside ,near to the town,boat terminus,railway station and of course ,mini golf was spot on.

We had a family suite room 608 with mountain and side lakeside view . The room was spacious and well equipped ,with a separate panelled off section for the children. Unusually the TV had many uk channels .The room was well cleaned and turned down every night.

The restaurant was well managed and the food excellent. We had half board ,the breakfast was plentiful ,with good choice and the Dinner menu was varied and the quality excellent . The Head Waiter Luigi kept things working well and we were well entertained by our excellent waiter Mauro

The reception staff and management under Stefano were always friendly ,helpful and efficient .The views from the Sky Bar were fantastic as has been mentioned before ,the only negative was that most of the staff were at the sky bar ,so service at the outside pool and inside Bar and Garden was a little slow.

I would thoroughly recommend the La Palma ,with its mix of tradition and move to more contemporary facilities such as the Sky Bar and Pool and Spa making it a leading hotel in Stresa

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside or side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LoyalRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

all previous reviews are fairly accurate,this is a very good Hotel.We stayed 7 nights with Thomson on half board,this removes the need to wander around the pizzerias every night trying to find the perfect pizza,pasta or lasagne.The food in the restaurant was imaginative and very tasty,we didn't have a bad course all week,some of the waiters think they are marathon runners between courses but you soon learn to slow your eating to stop the next course being delivered!
Much has been said about the Sky Bar it is certainly unigue!.not sure if it supposed to be an attraction for residents or to attract people in.
Overall its position as third rated hotel in Sresa is well founded as both the others are 5 star.

Room Tip: Above 3rd floor with a lake view the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkaj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

we stayed at hotel for 11 days,got back yesterday.
brilliant room 212,great choice of evening meals but breakfasts a tad repetitive.
the staff were excellent especially our waiter mauro.
our room was cleaned everyday and the beds turned down every night.
would thoroughly recommend the hotel for the location near stress town and train station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had stayed in this hotel for 1 week last days of July until a few days of the first week of August 2014. We had an unforgettable and wonderful experience in this hotel. Near to everything: centre of Stresa, taking a boat ride and as well as taking the trein. There is a private parking place just a few steps from the hotel. Swimming pool by the lake and free jacuzzi at the skybar and free wifi including at your room.

Moreover, the room is very clean, spacious with terrace and the amazing view. The staffs are very friendly, helpful and approachable. When you have a request for example extra pillows, in five minutes you will have it. When we asked about the places to visit for example the botanical garden and Lago d'Orta, we were right away given the brochure and the correct information. There are many beautiful places to visit around Stresa: Isola Bella, Isola Pescadori, Isola Madre, Lake D'orta, Lucarno, Cannobio, Verbania, Villa Pallanza...... A boulevard along the lake is very alive by day and night: for walking, drinking and sight seeing.

The cleaning employees are very attentive, like Franca is very friendly and respectful. As well as the manager and the desk employees. In the restaurant, the head of the waiters, the waiters and waitresses are very professional in their apporoach.

The hotel has a sky bar with an amazing, romantic and memorable view. There is a free jacuzzi in the skybar and the hotel has a free fitness area as well as massage service. The breakfast is very good: bread, exquisite croissants, fruits, yoghurt, eggs, ham, cheese, fruit juice, coffee , milk ..... The wide varities of croissants are very delicious and make our breakfast complete. You can also have a light launch in the skybar and enjoy the fantastic view. The dinner is very delicious: the food itself from the appetizer until the dessert already tells that this hotel has a very good and professional cook and kitchen team. The dessert: wide varities of cakes, ice cream, cheese, fruit salad....

In general comments, we would like to recommend this hotel to our friends and families in Belgium and to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room with full view of the lake or the half view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remely M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

So happy with this amazing hotel! Nice room with fantastic lake view, very nice cardioroom and spa area in the top of the building but best of all: the skybar!!! What a wonderful view! The area is so nice and beautuful! Really recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Malin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,444 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#11 of 35 in Stresa
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#7 of 35 in Stresa
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Family Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Spa Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: £130 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing