We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Hotel”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My Husband and I spent a wonderful 8 days at this Hotel and we can highly recomend it. We stayed in the Annexe which was superb - our room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The family that run the hotel are wonderful; nothing was too much trouble (including organising medical care for my Husband who took ill during our stay); their recommendations of things to do and restaurants to eat at were tops. You will not regret visiting this lovely hotel set in gorgeous grounds for a relaxing holiday in magnificent Stresa and Lago Maggiore. Whilst not on the Lake itself it is but a short walk through the lovely little town of Stresa to reach the Lake shore and the Ferry to the magical Borromean Isalnds.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Annexe request a room with a balcony so you can sit outside and enjoy the view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Parc
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

First impression was of a slightly old fashioned establishment. However, the location is superb with excellent views of the lake from our room in the main house. It is set in a lovely garden, though the peacefulness is broken at times by the railway nearby. Bed was very comfortable, room clean and towels changed each day. Shower was over bath, with plenty of hot water but a screen that needs to be improved. Staff were always friendly and helpful, preparing drinks even when the bar was not really open. Wide range of food served buffet style for breakfast, waiter always willing to fetch extra cups of cappacino. Easy walking distance of lake ferry and several good places to eat. Overall very good.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a lake view!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nailsea30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just returned from a 9 night stay at the Hotel Du Parc and would recommend it to anyone. It had an olde world charm, friendly and helpful staff and a beautiful garden. The rooms are spacious, clean, bright and beautifully presented. It is worth paying the extra 15 euro per night for the lake view room in the main building, but from other comments the annexe building seems just as good. It has to be said that the railway line is noisy, but you get used to it. The larger hotels on the lakeside (Bristol, Regina Palace and Astoria) all suffer from the noise of wedding parties, discos and fireworks. Sadly, Du Parc has no access to a swimming pool, and other hotels want to charge 20 euros per person per day. Try the lake - it is exhilarating!

Room Tip: See above - go for the lake view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VandTLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here six nights at the end of May. What a lovely hotel! And what a great, more intimate alternative to the huge establishments on Stresa’s lakefront. The Du Parc is just a couple of minutes’ walk from two atmospheric little piazzas full of cafes and restaurants; five minutes from the quayside from which the Lake Maggiore ferries depart, (but allow double that for the gentle climb back to the hotel through Stresa’s tempting, shop-filled narrow streets); and ten minutes from the town’s rail station.

Our high-ceilinged, traditionally furnished room in the annexe was spacious, clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast in the Du Parc's sunny breakfast room, looking out over the town and the hotel’s flower-filled front lawn and gardens, was a real treat each morning. The desk staff were charming and helpful, none more so than the manager himself, who really went out of his way to answer – with the aid of pictures from his computer - our various queries about places to visit further afield.

You certainly don’t need a car to enjoy the area around Stresa and the nearby lakeside towns. If you do bring a car, there’s plenty of on-site parking space, but we did notice that it filled up quickly after about 4.30pm each day. As it happened, that wasn’t an issue for us, as we left our vehicle parked in the same spot for six days and travelled extensively around the southern half of Lake Maggiore using the area’s excellent train and ferry services.

We could not fault the service and civility we experienced at the Du Parc, but it would be remiss of me not to mention that there is a railway line behind the hotel, and trains do rumble up and down it day and night. We found we very quickly got used to this, and after the first half-day we barely noticed the noise and it certainly didn’t keep us from sleeping soundly each night.

We definitely would – and hopefully will – stay at the Du Parc again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This family run hotel was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed! It is located a short stroll from the center of Stresa and guests at this hotel enjoy nice views of town and lake beyond. Very convenient to the ferry dock. The hotel has beautiful, well tended gardens ( gorgeous rhododendrons ) where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine. The public rooms are nicely decorated with antiques, well worn oriental rugs, and old Venitian glass chandeliers.
The owners and staff were most gracious and we had several choices of rooms as we checked in. We selected room no. 3 on the second floor of the main building, which had french doors leading out to a huge terrace overlooking the town and lake beyond. My guess is the higher your floor, the more lake view you will enjoy. We loved our big terrace-----a relaxing spot after a long day of ferries and touring. And the tiled bathroom in that room was enormous. The creaky wooden floors and stairways just added the the charm of this place, which we were told was built as a private residence sometime around 1913, but has obviously had many renovations, including a new annex building adjacent to the original house. There was a computer available in the public rooms for guests and wifi throughout the hotel. The owners were very helpful on helping us plan a day of hiking and picnicking. Breakfasts were very good in the lovely dining room, overseen by "Mario" who has been with this hotel more than 20 years and is very conscientious about his job.
If your plans include Stresa and beautiful, user-friendly Lake Maggiore, be sure to stay at this lovely, old world Italian "home away from home".

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hallpass48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a good value hotel. Our room was in the annex. We had a lovely view of the lake and surrounding mountains. The room was quite adequately decorated and the bathroom was a fair size with all the amenities. The room and bathroom were very clean. However, the annex does not have an elevator and no one offered to take our luggage up to the third floor. Also the hotel is close to the main train line so trains do pass throughout the night. Not good if you are a light sleeper. The main attractions, including the boat to Isola Bella were within easy walking distance. Breakfast was very good but in the main hotel so if it is raining it is a short walk. The staff was very helpful with road directions and nearby attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvspain69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

As written before - great location, lake view & garden, friendly, clean & affordable. As a family of 4 we got a 2 room suite with 2 bathrooms (showers+wc),and a lake view (we had a choice between 2 units with 2 different prices, we chose the one with the lake view). The trains sounded more like gusts of wind and did not disturb our usually light sleep. The breakfast was a lavish buffet. A few minutes walk from the centre and from the boats to the main attractions on the lake. All in all - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Away from the railway and with a lake view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#10 of 35 in Stresa
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#11 of 35 in Stresa
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: Via Eugenio Gignous 1, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: £85 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Stresa
Hotel Du Parc Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing