We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Hotel Elena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elena
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent our first night in Italy in Stresa. The Hotel Elena is a wonderful location. Right on the main square. The quad room was tight but clean and comfortable. It had a great balcony overlooking the town, square and mountains. The breakfast was good and it was fun sitting on the patio/cafe sipping a few beverages.

I would recommend the Hotel Elena to a budget minded traveler looking for a walkable location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeaPot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    115
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
131
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in the summer with our two small children. The location is very convenient, right on the piazza. It's a very very basic hotel, but very clean and convenient. Family run with excellent service and a pretty good breakfast. We were out all day everyday and sat on the balcony of an evening watching the world go by whilst our kids slept. Would stay here again for sure. Excellent for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

clean quiet room, helpful staff, large delicious breakfast, central location -- I would stay there again

clean quiet room, helpful staff, large delicious breakfast, central location -- I would stay there again

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center but the lake is available for swimming & hiking the many local trails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is located in the square in the centre of the old town, a couple of minutes from the pier where the boats leave from, and about 15 minutes' walk from the railway station.

The rooms are slightly old fashioned but clean and functional. We took the advice in other reviews to ask for one at the rear so as to be quieter, and had a pleasant outlook over houses and gardens to the hills beyond.

Breakfast was very good with a good supply of bread, rolls, cold meat, cheese, cake, and fruit.

I'd be happy to stay there again if we returned to Stresa. The town itself is probably one of the best places on the lake for setting off on the Lake Maggiore Express and boat trips, and also has access to the cable car to Mottarone, and a pleasant walk to Belgirate. It feels completely safe to walk around and has plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent hotel in the best spot in Stresa - good clean rooms and extremely friendly staff - mother and son team [Laura & Marco] are so helpful and assist with local information. A local hotel worth returning to.

Room Tip: Great rooms overlooking the local square or if you wish for a quieter room - the back rooms have stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLinosMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated at the square. The family owners are very helpful. We had a very comfortable stay in this great hotel. It may only be two stars but leaves many 4 stars hotels behind. It is two stars as no fridge or air conditioning. The overhead fan and open windows were better than any air conditioner. We will return here again as the hotel was great and the town of stresa beautiful. We are fussy with hotels and generally stay 4 or 5 star, but this is worth every euro. Downstairs bar and meal was good.

Room Tip: Worth staying high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We twice stopped at the bar of this hotel for coffee. In fact it was only on the second visit that we noticed that it was also the reception for a hotel. Coffee and cakes excellent, as breakfast must be.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 35 in Stresa
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#10 of 35 in Stresa
994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#12 of 35 in Stresa
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Property: Hotel Elena
Address: Piazza Luigi Cadorna Generale 15, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Elena 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Stresa
Hotel Elena Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing