We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for one night on our way from Florence to Switzerland, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the price very reasonable, the location great and the breakfast very nice. Stresa is a most beautiful little town. If we have the opportunity to visit Stresa again, we will certainly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0han1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    30
    26
    14
    17
See reviews for
20
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Booked an economy room for the weekend .
We arrived in the evening , no reception ( it's all done in the resturant)j.
The room was dark and dingy,very basic and sparse poor furniture in bedroom.
The cleaning was average and cleaner, cleaning floors at 8.30 on a Saturday morning did not help.The room had the smallest shower I have ever used (or tried to).
Breakfast is taken in the resturant and is very very basic.
I would describe this as a resturant with a few rooms.
I have stayed in Stresa many times, this is the worst hotel I've stayed in .
There are many other hotels which provide much better value for a few euros more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyRhinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stresa hotels

israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Nice staff. Cheap rates. We got a double toom for 60 euros including an okay breakfast. Hotel was centrally located. Remote control for TV did not work.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Good location. There is no hotel reception and no indication that the restaurant counter is where to check in. The receptionist did not smile or make you feel welcome. The waiter showed us to our rooms but ran right ahead so we could barely keep up with our heavy bags. The room was small but clean. The shower cubicle was tiny, every time you turn around you accidentally knock off the shower tap. The breakfast was terrible. A shrivelled up apple and some cracker breads with butter and jam. The maid is up from the crack of dawn hoovering and clashing about so no chance of sleeping past 7am. The keys are kept in the restaurant and if you are back after the restaurant is closed the keys are left on the table in the lobby which is not locked or manned so security is doubtful. In summary, book somewhere else.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank broose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Recently stayed for 4 nights in Stresa. Stresa is a great place, but I would not go back to this hotel. We didn't think the people at the front desk were particularly friendly, and they occasionally ignored us whilst speaking to their friends on the phone. Breakfast was the worst we had in Italy - stale bread (with jam/nutella) and seemingly, the previous night's dessert! (I know because i had the dessert the previous night). Rooms were basic and small. Toilet seat broken.

Good location, but that's about it. There seem to be plenty of other hotels in Stresa....try elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank monozygote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
just back in Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2007

We went directly to Stresa without a hotel booking, and were given a list of available accommodations with prices by the tourist information at the lakeside ferry terminal.

We decided on the Hotel da Cesare as it was 50 euros without breakfast for a double room with attached bath. It was pretty good for a 2 star and the bathroom looked very clean and new. There wasnt much of a view but since we were out touring whole day, it's not a problem at all.

It is pretty easy to find the hotel as it is within the central of Stresa. The hotel is at the corner of 2 small alleys but armed with the map, it shouldnt be a problem. It pretty nice to wander around the streets in the town and the hotel is near to the lake ferry terminal too. There is no proper hotel lobby so you should find the person manning the restaurant bar counter. They are pretty friendly and speaks English.

Howver the breakfast was very disappointing as we had to pay an extra 5 euros pax. It was not buffet style and even less than the typical italian breakfast! We saw the waiters taking crackers and biscuits from the cupboard and giving us 2 packs each. we had some jams, butter, honey and nutella to go with. and a choice of coffee and tea. Cant remember if there was more but definitely not worth the 5 euros. We had our breakfast on our own on the 2nd day as we wandered around the town looking for a pasticceria and the usual bar.

We had a discount if we ate at the restaurant but we didnt take the choice as we were travelling along the lake maggiore's different towns. Walk around the town to check out the various eateries. There are a lot of options with those tourist orientated ones opening the latest at the central piazza.

I would say its a nice base to see the rest of lake Maggiore as we took an hr or so train ride from Milan. We had a day trip with ferry ride to Locarno (Switzerland bordertown) and took a scenic train ride through the mountains to Domodossola station where you can get a regular connecting train ride back to Stresa. This will take 1 whole day but its worth it. just remember to check the package deal for the ferry and train ride for cost savings.

We spent another day going around the Borromean islands which are near stresa. The regular ferries were in strike so we had to take private boats to travel between the islands. Isola bella has a huge palace with a fantastic garden to see. Isola dei Pescatori or Isola Superiore is a fishing village and the 3rd is Isola Madre which has a botanical garden. It seems like its only worth to see it during spring time when the flowers are out as it is further out from Stresa.

We spent 2 and half days but its a pity we didnt have more time to see the other towns along the lake. Its definitely worth a visit!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Whyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#27 of 35 in Stresa
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#18 of 35 in Stresa
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sempione
Albergo Sempione
#29 of 35 in Stresa
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mon Toc
Mon Toc
#32 of 35 in Stresa
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 35 in Stresa
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#12 of 35 in Stresa
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"

Property: Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 14, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ristorante "Da Cesare" Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing