We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and reasonably priced but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and reasonably priced but......”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A 15 minute walk from the railway station and centrally located in the centre of town, this Hotel is extremely difficult to find without very specific instructions. Check in is in the downstairs restaurant which can be confusing, and there is no lift to the hotel rooms, all of which are on the upper levels. All rooms are of different configurations, ranging from quite spartan to very comfortable and you must be prepared to be firm and positive when dealing with the front desk if you want one of the better rooms. Breakfast was a disappointment, tinned fruit and stale croissants do not do it for me.

However the staff, without exception, were wonderful and the location was superb. Despite being located on a busy street with many passing tourists everything calmed down about 9pm and sleeping was not a problem.

I would stay here again (but buy breakfast off the premises), only if I was guaranteed a superior room, which are good value for the location.

Room Tip: Ask to see a selection of rooms and make your mind up then
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrubwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    30
    26
    14
    17
See reviews for
20
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very convenient hotel in the centre of Stresa. The overall cleanliness, rooms, linen and towels were very clean. The rooms were well lit. Very good value for money. Getting to the hotel is relatively simple only a short walk from the train station through some narrow streets. The place is very central, shops, waterfront and ferry all very near.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Bernard92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The location of this hotel is great - only metres from the waterfront and ferries, right in the middle of the village. Parking nearby is a slight problem. But they helpfully assisted us with getting our luggage from the car. The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the lane below.

Room Tip: The new rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolbAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A good location in a nice village.Good service and a helpful ower.
The lady of the house need to cool down a bit. Its tourists she speaks with, not an employee.
She have to tink about her heart. Problem with the temp.balance in the shower.The breakfast was a disappointmant.Specificallyl the bread. The juice tasted a bit like a mix with water.Rooms OK, but not all. Better cleaning in the shower area wood help.I wood like to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny-from-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for one night on our way from Florence to Switzerland, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the price very reasonable, the location great and the breakfast very nice. Stresa is a most beautiful little town. If we have the opportunity to visit Stresa again, we will certainly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0han1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Booked an economy room for the weekend .
We arrived in the evening , no reception ( it's all done in the resturant)j.
The room was dark and dingy,very basic and sparse poor furniture in bedroom.
The cleaning was average and cleaner, cleaning floors at 8.30 on a Saturday morning did not help.The room had the smallest shower I have ever used (or tried to).
Breakfast is taken in the resturant and is very very basic.
I would describe this as a resturant with a few rooms.
I have stayed in Stresa many times, this is the worst hotel I've stayed in .
There are many other hotels which provide much better value for a few euros more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyRhinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stresa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Nice staff. Cheap rates. We got a double toom for 60 euros including an okay breakfast. Hotel was centrally located. Remote control for TV did not work.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#25 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sempione
Albergo Sempione
#30 of 35 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mon Toc
Mon Toc
#34 of 35 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#16 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#27 of 35 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"

Property: Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 14, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ristorante "Da Cesare" Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing