We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another must see”
Review of Palazzo Te

Palazzo Te
Book In Advance
More Info
US$768.76*
and up
Mantua and Ferrari City Day Trip from Verona
Ranked #1 of 107 things to do in Mantua
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another must see”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The grounds, the collection of historical artifacts are wonderful. Buy a 15 euro card which gets you into 5 attractions. Well worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,813
    693
    115
    23
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but stunning display.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

There is something to be said for the ways the rich in Italy used to decorate lavishly, and Palazzo Te certainly flaunts its riches. The obvious highlight is the Sala dei Giganti, which is hard to accurately describe until you're in it. I can tell you how the art makes the room feel huge, way bigger than it could possibly be. I could debate whether the walls, with the scenes of gigantic humans, or the ceiling, with its spiraling up into the heavens, is the more impressive bit. It's just hard to really appreciate the whole thing without being there, overwhelmed by the room itself. Not to say the other rooms aren't also beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the Sala dei Cavalli, and the Camera del Sole e della Luna was obviously appreciated so much that the main painting on the ceiling was copied for a palazzo in Vicenza. Even when the rooms did not have such centerpieces, the ornate ornamentation along the ceilings and walls still led one to remember, and it's a shocking thing to remember, that people lived here once. Imagining a domestic scene in even the least ornate of the rooms strains the imagination.

When I visited, there was a modern art exhibit going on, so many of the rooms (Sala dei Giganti as a notable and understandable exception) had the strange but somewhat/sometimes pleasing contrast of classical artwork surrounding very modern concept work. This could be offputting to some, so check to see if any other exhibits are going on before you visit. As of Mid-June 2014, the Camera di Amore e Psiche was partially under renovation, but while the reno clearly blocked a lot of detail, the majority of the room's lush art was still completely viewable.

Also, as with all palazzi, there is a question of whether it is "worth" the admission fee. I'm pretty sure the 9 euro asking price is a bit higher than most might wish to pay, even with the treasures within. If you're not a budget traveler, or you are all about amazing renaissance art or italian history, it's a must see. If not, I'd consider it anyway... why else are you in Mantova if not to explore the legacy of the Gonzagas?... if you see one major palazzo in Italy, it's as good as any and better than most, but if you've seen other major palazzi and didn't quite get the appeal, keep that in mind, even in this beautiful example.

Pictures aren't allowed, which is always disappointing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xliketheowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“One of Mantua's Renaissance gems”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We saw the Sala dei Giganti on TV but seeing it in real life is so much better. The history of the Palazzo is interesting in itself, and the artworks and frescoes were to us different to the many religious themes normally seen. Although angels and cherubs feature on lots of the frescoes! The Gonzaga family used the Palazzo for ceremonial and hosting visitors, and this is reflected in the decoration. We loved the horse room and the Psyche room, as well as the Giganti. Unfortunately we ran out of time and did not visit the museum upstairs. Upon leaving we noticed the carp fish in the moat on the northern side. Be aware, the site closes 6pm and you need 1.5 hours to see the rooms and the museum. Photographs are not allowed in the frescoe rooms.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The displays are excellent and the frescoes amazing - well worth the entrance fee. Built as a pleasure palace, the rooms although no longer furnished still have the original frescoes and the Sala dei Giganti room by Giulio Romano is stunning - I first saw illustrations of this 35 years ago, and the reality is so much better! They currently have some modern sculptures built of scrap in most of the rooms - not sure that this enhances the experience, but I suppose they try to vary the temporary exhibits to entice people to visit again. The gardens are lovely, as well, and don't miss the grotto which is only accessible from the garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Filmfansw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Palazzo Te is without doubt a beautiful palace once located on an island, but connected with the rest of Mantova today.

The palace has a tour with audio guide and furthermore is has an art collection, a coin and weight collection, an Egyptian collection and a collection of Middle eastern artifacts.

I was impressed by the architecture, but the audio guide was too focused on the art and too little on the history of the Gonzagas. Mantova was for centuries ruled by the Gonzaga family, who also built this palace. I was quite interested in getting to know this story, but I left the palace feeling that I still knew too little about the Gonzagas. How did they rise to power? When was Mantova at its prime? What happened to the Gonzagas? I did not find answers for these questions here.

I would therefore recommend Palazzo Te to people especially interested in art or people who have several days to spend in Mantova.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Povldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo Te also viewed

 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 

Been to Palazzo Te? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing