We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service but average kitchen”

Trattoria Leoncino Rosso
Ranked #29 of 433 Restaurants in Mantua
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good service but average kitchen”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Unfortunately our first meal was at his restaurant. It looks clean, good and quite quick service for an Italian restaurant. They don't have many options, typical Mantova cuisine. But unfortunately the taste is missing. We had a chance to eat in several places during our stay in Mantova. And this unfortunately is not one of the bests.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basak_D_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    383
    144
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good value trattoria”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We came across this place during a recent visit to Mantua. It seems to be well patronised by the locals which is always an encouraging sign. The usual selection of trattoria fare - good if not exceptional but at a price you'll find hard to match elsewhere in Mantua. Excellent atmosphere and pleasant staff. We went on 2 consecutive nights so they were obviously doing something right.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent service and good price”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

39 EUR for :
2 salads "leoncino"
1 vegetable side dish (verdure cotte saltate)
1 spezzatino meat dish
1 bottle of mineral water
1/4 liter of good local white wine
1 dessert "sbrisolona"
all charges included

you might say not a hearty lunch but everywhere else in the same central area prices were higher and environment definitely less attractive

the waiter and service was very nice and full of suggestions without being pushy

Helpful?
Thank TheBikingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,280 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I enjoyed my dinner at Leoncino Rosso. I was looking at all the outdoor seating restaurants in the busy piazzas, but nothing appealed to me, as a woman dining alone, but this very cute rustic restaurant off Piazza Brotetto, in the city center, was perfect. Prices were very reasonable for 1st and 2ed courses and were between 8-12eu. I wanted typical Mantua cuisine and settled on the ravioli stuffed with pumpkin; it was excellent. Their stewed donkey, interested me, but I didn’t have room for it! With the ravioli, I enjoyed their house Lombroso wine and finished with typical Mantua desert cake with cream. Service was very friendly, prompt and pleasant. I would definitely return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Charming little restaurant and waiter”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Loved the local sausage risotto and the cake with zabaglione for dessert.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Leoncino Rosso also viewed

Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 

Been to Trattoria Leoncino Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing