We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best in Italy”

Ristorante Aquila Nigra
Ranked #68 of 433 Restaurants in Mantua
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the very best in Italy”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Fourth visit, still fantastically good quality food, served in a calm, cool dining room. Very welcome on a really hot day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKTPMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    77
    28
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“On top of superb food, a genuinely personalised service.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

In a region (Eastern Lombardia, Northern Emilia and the extreme West of Veneto) where you have plentiful of excellent restaurants, Aquila Nigra deserves a special highlight due to its unique attributes. It offers careful selection of local ingredients (quality of its mostarda or salame are paramount), advanced techniques (impressive the thin and light "frittura" of zucchini and micro-shrimps from the local lakes), robust tradition (like in the intense broth with really hand-made agnoli), lightness (as in the amazing texture of the eel), and, last but not least, a service which is at the same time professional, personalised and genuinely friendly. The latter is maybe something we miss in most of the other starred restaurants nowadays, where procedure often comes before the establishment of a unique and ad hoc relation between staff and guests at each table, something very much needed to interpret the needs, capacity and taste of the customer, rather than offering a standardised experience. And this is what makes Aquila Nigra unique, on top of high quality food. OK, I need to find something where they should improve, just to preserve the credibility of this evaluation: then I can mention they should become more prompt in responding by e-mail to requests for reservation. It seems they are too busy in the kitchen preparing your next dream meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Formal fine dining”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good food and friendly staff in an attractive restaurant slightly off the beaten track; it is "fine dining" so a bit formal and quite expensive but good if you like that sort of thing. Mantovan set menu recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I had the chance to eat in this restaurant once again but this time for dinner. Setting, service, explanations are all excellent. We got great help for translations to English as well as with the wine menu.

I had the pasta with shrimps. It was one of the best. After I had Turbot. I would have been happier if I did not. It was too salty for me and I was not impressed.

It is a formal restaurant. I would prefer it for business specifically. A quiet fine dining restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Levent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great location, very good service”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I reached the restaurant thanks to the advice of locals, cause the restaurant is hidden in a small road. Few tables in a wonderful room in an historical palace. Well guided by a gentle waiter I selected as a starter "piccola frittura di saltarelli e zucchine", tasty, light, delicious, prepared with freshwater shrimps, followed by "sfrisolade ai carciofi, gamberi e calamari"' hand made fresh local pasta, well prepared with perfectly cooked high quality seafood, tender and tasty calamari, Sicily pink shrimps, fresh artichokes. That was enough for me, I just added an interesting "vin brûlée sherbet" to declare myself fully satisfied. Unforgettable!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Aquila Nigra also viewed

Mantua, Province of Mantua
 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 

Been to Ristorante Aquila Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing